Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Why the wifi signal quality is not displayed in % ??
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jetboo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Dec 2007
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 4:35 pm    Post subject: Why the wifi signal quality is not displayed in % ?? Reply with quote

Hi, i need to see the wifi signal quality in %
but
Code:
cat /sys/class/net/eth1/wireless/link

returns me a value beetween 1to 5.

same for iwconfig eth1 :
Quote:
eth1 IEEE 802.11abgn ESSID:"myessid" Nickname:""
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.417 GHz Access Point: 22:89:B4:27:68:2C
Bit Rate=54 Mb/s Tx-Power:24 dBm
Retry min limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
Encryption key:off
Power Managementmode:All packets received
Link Quality=5/5 Signal level=-34 dBm Noise level=-87 dBm
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:3 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:569 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0


How can i get a more precise value in % ??
(plz dont tell me to multiply by 20 :( )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerdesj
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 622
Location: Yeovil, Somerset, UK

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 8:43 pm    Post subject: Re: Why the wifi signal quality is not displayed in % ?? Reply with quote

Well, I get these at the moment:

Code:

#cat /sys/class/net/wlan0/wireless/link
70

# iwconfig wlan0
wlan0     IEEE 802.11abgn  ESSID:"<my ssid" 
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Access Point: <my ap>   
          Bit Rate=1 Mb/s   Tx-Power=15 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=70/70  Signal level=-39 dBm 
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0


Now I'm not sure what that means either although I seem to have 1 Mb s-1, which is rubbish! Power management perhaps? Also I appear not to get a Noise level from iwconfig.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jetboo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Dec 2007
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thx for your answer, what hardware do you use ? i think it's driver related, i use a broadcom wifi device, with broadcom-sta driver.
I emailed broadcom, maybe i will get an answer...
Anyway you got a much better precision than me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerdesj
l33t
l33t


Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 622
Location: Yeovil, Somerset, UK

PostPosted: Sun Aug 29, 2010 10:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jetboo wrote:
thx for your answer, what hardware do you use ? i think it's driver related, i use a broadcom wifi device, with broadcom-sta driver.
I emailed broadcom, maybe i will get an answer...
Anyway you got a much better precision than me.


Not sure if 70/70 means that there are 70 degrees of precision on my device! I doubt it very much.

I have an Intel WiFi Link 5100 (iwlagn).

Cheers
Jon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jetboo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 26 Dec 2007
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 10:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

here is the answer of broadcome support :
Quote:
The brcm driver is not constructing that file, so it must be happening somewhere higher in the stack and you’ll have to consult

The appropriate Linux docs or source code.
Sounds like your hunch is correct and it likely indicates link strength using 5 ‘bars’.


Regards

Linux support

but i dont see what doc he is refering to ..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Amity88
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jul 2010
Posts: 265
Location: Third planet from the Sun

PostPosted: Tue Aug 31, 2010 5:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey jetboo,

I also have a broadcom wifi device. I have an output similar to gerdesj, I don't use broadcom-sta.
_________________
Ant P. wrote:
The enterprise distros sell their binaries. Canonical sells their users.


Also... Be ignorant... Be happy! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum