View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
hedmo Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Megaman/megaman2.gif)
Joined: 29 Aug 2009 Posts: 1334 Location: sweden
|
Posted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 5:31 pm Post subject: upgrading |
|
|
a week ago my mother board stoped working.so i decided to upgrade and was wondering if there is something
that i have to do more then rebuild my kernel ![Question :?:](images/smiles/icon_question.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
NeddySeagoon Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
![](images/avatars/3946266373f47d606a2db3.jpg)
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54821 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 6:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hedmo,
Thats the minimum you must do, as your hardware will be changed.
Change CFLAGS and CXXFLAGS to suit your new CPU. If you use -march=native, no changes are required.
If you also upgrade your CPU you will need to rebuild other things to take advantage of the new instructions it provides. There is no hurry for this step and it can happen naturally with updates. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
hedmo Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Megaman/megaman2.gif)
Joined: 29 Aug 2009 Posts: 1334 Location: sweden
|
Posted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 6:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
okej i did not know that i need to make that mutch
i am going to upgrade à LOT or allmost all
m2n dh to m4a89td PRO
athlon x2 64 am2 to am3
ddr2 to ddr3
and ati radeon hd 2900 xt x1 to x2 crossfire
so there is a bit upgrade but i did not think i
had to change My make.conf
CBUILD="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=athlon64 -O2 -pipe"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CXXFLAGS="-march=athlon64 -O2 -pipe"
but if that so i am happy to have some advice to
go on
![Question :?:](images/smiles/icon_question.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
krinn Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Blade Runner/movie_blade_runner_howl.gif)
Joined: 02 May 2003 Posts: 7470
|
Posted: Mon Aug 30, 2010 9:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
you got the advice already from neddy nothing more to add |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
hedmo Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Megaman/megaman2.gif)
Joined: 29 Aug 2009 Posts: 1334 Location: sweden
|
Posted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 7:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
JIPPY My Box is up running got some problem with My
network.i can not fix it My self.My lspci tells me that its à
realtek RTL8111/816?Bbut i have tryed to fix stuff in My kernel
and tryed to load modules with no luck and My livecd locks
so here i am with My phone in need of help. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
krinn Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Blade Runner/movie_blade_runner_howl.gif)
Joined: 02 May 2003 Posts: 7470
|
Posted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 7:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | lspci -k | grep -A5 Ether
04:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 02)
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 82c6
Kernel driver in use: r8169
Kernel modules: r8169
|
then as you see, kernel will tell you r8169 driver, just build the driver as module, install the module & reboot : voila, udev will load it itself
configure your network next. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
hedmo Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Megaman/megaman2.gif)
Joined: 29 Aug 2009 Posts: 1334 Location: sweden
|
Posted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 9:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
krinn
thanks.it was the module name that i missed(just r not RTL) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
hedmo Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Megaman/megaman2.gif)
Joined: 29 Aug 2009 Posts: 1334 Location: sweden
|
Posted: Tue Sep 07, 2010 5:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i dont get it.what is it that i am doing wrong
i have load the kernel module but still no eth |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
NeddySeagoon Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
![](images/avatars/3946266373f47d606a2db3.jpg)
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54821 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Tue Sep 07, 2010 5:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hedmo,
Loading the kernel module will not start eth0.
With the module loaded, will show if the interface exists or not.
If it exits, you can start it by hand with Code: | /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start |
To automate that on boot, add to the end of your /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 file, so the boot sequence loads the module and do Code: | rc-update add net.eth0 defualt | so that eth0 is started as a part of the startup sequence. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
hedmo Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Megaman/megaman2.gif)
Joined: 29 Aug 2009 Posts: 1334 Location: sweden
|
Posted: Tue Sep 07, 2010 7:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon
once again thanks
my eth0 had become eth1 so when you gave me ifconfig -a i found it
by the way shouldnt that be in the gentoo network conf docs
"one problem solved" |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
NeddySeagoon Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
![](images/avatars/3946266373f47d606a2db3.jpg)
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54821 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Tue Sep 07, 2010 8:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hedmo,
The eth0/eth1 thing is hard to document as the interface number depends on network card discovery order and how many network cards udev has seen.
The are all remembered in /etc/udev/rules.d/70-persistent-net.rules
You may edit that file to remove/renumber interfaces that are no longer fitted or delete it and reboot, when udev will rewrite it.
If you do the latter, interface numbers are not preserved. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
hedmo Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Megaman/megaman2.gif)
Joined: 29 Aug 2009 Posts: 1334 Location: sweden
|
Posted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 4:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
okej the holy things (gpu,sound and network)is up running so i am about to make my new
make.conf file.i got my self a Phenom II X6 so i am about to set
CFLAGS="-march=amdfam10 -O2 -pipe "
MAKEOPTS="-j7"
as safe cflags recomend
should i set these use flags to
fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall
nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc nonstop_tsc pni monitor cx16 lahf_lm cmp_legacy
svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs skinit wdt
and do i have to update my 2.6.31-r10 kernel to |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
NeddySeagoon Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
![](images/avatars/3946266373f47d606a2db3.jpg)
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54821 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 6:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hedmo,
If you do int intend to use distcc. Code: | CFLAGS="-march=native -O2 -pipe " | is good. gcc will detect whats right for you but it won't work with distcc.
This one liner Code: | echo 'int main(){return 0;}' > test.c && gcc -v -Q -march=native -O2 test.c -o test && rm test.c test | grep march | shows what -march=native does.
On my X3 I get Code: | -march=amdfam10 -mcx16 -msahf -mpopcnt --param l1-cache-size=64 --param l1-cache-line-size=64 --param l2-cache-size=512 -mtune=amdfam10 -dumpbase test.c -auxbase |
Set the CXXFLAGS to match the CFLAGS
mtrr is a kernel option, not a USE flag, mmx sse sse2 mmxext 3dnowext 3dnow sse4a all have corresponding USE flags. Check out ufed. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
hedmo Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Megaman/megaman2.gif)
Joined: 29 Aug 2009 Posts: 1334 Location: sweden
|
Posted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 6:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon
thanks for your advice.i belive your are talking about cross compile if i get it correct.i have had distcc
on my old installs but did not know what it was.i did read the gentoo docs about cross compile but i am not so good in
english so i did not understand what it does.i will set at least mmxext 3dnowext 3dnow sse4a to use
by the way
mybox cod4 # echo 'int main(){return 0;}' > test.c && gcc -v -Q -march=native -O2 test.c -o test && rm test.c test | grep march
bash: test.c: Read-only file system
mybox cod4 # |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
NeddySeagoon Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
![](images/avatars/3946266373f47d606a2db3.jpg)
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54821 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 6:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hedmo,
Cross compiling is when you use one more powerful system to build code for another completely different 'target' architeture.
e.g. using an amd64 system to build binaries that will run on an ARM CPU.
You can cross compile with distcc but its more usually used to allow other systems of the same or very similar architecture to cooperate on building the same piece of software.
The system wanting to build the software runs the configure stage then the preprocessed sources are sent over the network to 'helpers' that return the *.o files. Linking is then done on the build system.
Code: | test.c: Read-only file system | is a very bad sign. That command should work for any user.
Can you make any new files at all ? _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
hedmo Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Megaman/megaman2.gif)
Joined: 29 Aug 2009 Posts: 1334 Location: sweden
|
Posted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 7:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
do you mean
mybox hedmo # mkdir /neddy
mybox hedmo # ls /
S.T.A.L.K.E.R.Shadow.of.Chernobyl-ViTALiTY home media sbin
bin iTunesSetup.exe mnt sys
boot lib neddy tmp
dev lib32 opt usr
etc lib64 proc var
hedmo lost+found root
mybox hedmo #
![Question :?:](images/smiles/icon_question.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
NeddySeagoon Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
![](images/avatars/3946266373f47d606a2db3.jpg)
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54821 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 7:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hedmo,
That worked, so I don't understand your error _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
hedmo Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Megaman/megaman2.gif)
Joined: 29 Aug 2009 Posts: 1334 Location: sweden
|
Posted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 7:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
me neether but
mybox hedmo # echo 'int main(){return 0;}' > test.c && gcc -v -Q -march=native -O2 test.c -o test && rm test.c test | grep march
Using built-in specs.
Target: x86_64-pc-linux-gnu
Configured with: /var/tmp/portage/sys-devel/gcc-4.4.4-r1/work/gcc-4.4.4/configure --prefix=/usr --bindir=/usr/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/gcc-bin/4.4.4 --includedir=/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/include --datadir=/usr/share/gcc-data/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4 --mandir=/usr/share/gcc-data/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/man --infodir=/usr/share/gcc-data/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/info --with-gxx-include-dir=/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/include/g++-v4 --host=x86_64-pc-linux-gnu --build=x86_64-pc-linux-gnu --disable-altivec --disable-fixed-point --without-ppl --without-cloog --enable-nls --without-included-gettext --with-system-zlib --disable-checking --disable-werror --enable-secureplt --enable-multilib --enable-libmudflap --disable-libssp --enable-libgomp --enable-cld --with-python-dir=/share/gcc-data/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/python --disable-libgcj --enable-languages=c,c++ --enable-shared --enable-threads=posix --enable-__cxa_atexit --enable-clocale=gnu --with-bugurl=https://bugs.gentoo.org/ --with-pkgversion='Gentoo 4.4.4-r1 p1.0, pie-0.4.5'
Thread model: posix
gcc version 4.4.4 (Gentoo 4.4.4-r1 p1.0, pie-0.4.5)
COLLECT_GCC_OPTIONS='-v' '-Q' '-O2' '-o' 'test'
/usr/libexec/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/cc1 -v test.c -D_FORTIFY_SOURCE=2 -march=amdfam10 -mcx16 -msahf -mpopcnt --param l1-cache-size=64 --param l1-cache-line-size=64 --param l2-cache-size=512 -mtune=amdfam10 -dumpbase test.c -auxbase test -O2 -version -o /tmp/ccKkyqyA.s
ignoring nonexistent directory "/usr/local/include"
ignoring nonexistent directory "/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/../../../../x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/include"
#include "..." search starts here:
#include <...> search starts here:
/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/include
/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/include-fixed
/usr/include
End of search list.
GNU C (Gentoo 4.4.4-r1 p1.0, pie-0.4.5) version 4.4.4 (x86_64-pc-linux-gnu)
compiled by GNU C version 4.4.4, GMP version 4.3.2, MPFR version 2.4.2-p3.
GGC heuristics: --param ggc-min-expand=100 --param ggc-min-heapsize=131072
options passed: -v test.c -D_FORTIFY_SOURCE=2 -march=amdfam10 -mcx16
-msahf -mpopcnt --param l1-cache-size=64 --param l1-cache-line-size=64
--param l2-cache-size=512 -mtune=amdfam10 -O2
options enabled: -falign-labels -falign-loops -fargument-alias
-fasynchronous-unwind-tables -fauto-inc-dec -fbranch-count-reg
-fcaller-saves -fcommon -fcprop-registers -fcrossjumping
-fcse-follow-jumps -fdefer-pop -fdelete-null-pointer-checks
-fdwarf2-cfi-asm -fearly-inlining -feliminate-unused-debug-types
-fexpensive-optimizations -fforward-propagate -ffunction-cse -fgcse
-fgcse-lm -fguess-branch-probability -fident -fif-conversion
-fif-conversion2 -findirect-inlining -finline
-finline-functions-called-once -finline-small-functions -fipa-cp
-fipa-pure-const -fipa-reference -fira-share-save-slots
-fira-share-spill-slots -fivopts -fkeep-static-consts -fleading-underscore
-fmath-errno -fmerge-constants -fmerge-debug-strings
-fmove-loop-invariants -fomit-frame-pointer -foptimize-register-move
-foptimize-sibling-calls -fpeephole -fpeephole2 -freg-struct-return
-fregmove -freorder-blocks -freorder-functions -frerun-cse-after-loop
-fsched-interblock -fsched-spec -fsched-stalled-insns-dep
-fschedule-insns2 -fsigned-zeros -fsplit-ivs-in-unroller
-fsplit-wide-types -fstrict-aliasing -fstrict-overflow -fthread-jumps
-ftoplevel-reorder -ftrapping-math -ftree-builtin-call-dce -ftree-ccp
-ftree-ch -ftree-copy-prop -ftree-copyrename -ftree-cselim -ftree-dce
-ftree-dominator-opts -ftree-dse -ftree-fre -ftree-loop-im
-ftree-loop-ivcanon -ftree-loop-optimize -ftree-parallelize-loops=
-ftree-pre -ftree-reassoc -ftree-scev-cprop -ftree-sink -ftree-sra
-ftree-switch-conversion -ftree-ter -ftree-vect-loop-version -ftree-vrp
-funit-at-a-time -funwind-tables -fvar-tracking -fvect-cost-model
-fzero-initialized-in-bss -m128bit-long-double -m3dnow -m64 -m80387 -mabm
-maccumulate-outgoing-args -malign-stringops -mcx16 -mfancy-math-387
-mfp-ret-in-387 -mfused-madd -mglibc -mieee-fp -mmmx -mno-sse4 -mpopcnt
-mpush-args -mred-zone -msahf -msse -msse2 -msse3 -msse4a
-mtls-direct-seg-refs
Compiler executable checksum: 232a7f5bf7cea1a620d3f8f1557cb2c2
main
Analyzing compilation unit
Performing interprocedural optimizations
<visibility> <early_local_cleanups> <summary generate> <cp> <inline> <static-var> <pure-const>Assembling functions:
main
Execution times (seconds)
TOTAL : 0.00 0.00 0.00 1319 kB
Internal checks disabled; compiler is not suited for release.
Configure with --enable-checking=release to enable checks.
COLLECT_GCC_OPTIONS='-v' '-Q' '-O2' '-o' 'test'
/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/../../../../x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/bin/as -V -Qy -o /tmp/cctRa2dU.o /tmp/ccKkyqyA.s
GNU assembler version 2.20.1 (x86_64-pc-linux-gnu) using BFD version (GNU Binutils) 2.20.1.20100303
COMPILER_PATH=/usr/libexec/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/:/usr/libexec/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/:/usr/libexec/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/:/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/:/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/:/usr/libexec/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/:/usr/libexec/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/:/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/:/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/:/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/../../../../x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/bin/
LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/:/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/:/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/../../../../lib64/:/lib/../lib64/:/usr/lib/../lib64/:/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/../../../../x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/lib/:/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/../../../:/lib/:/usr/lib/
COLLECT_GCC_OPTIONS='-v' '-Q' '-O2' '-o' 'test'
/usr/libexec/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/collect2 --eh-frame-hdr -m elf_x86_64 -dynamic-linker /lib64/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2 -o test /usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/../../../../lib64/crt1.o /usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/../../../../lib64/crti.o /usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/crtbegin.o -L/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4 -L/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4 -L/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/../../../../lib64 -L/lib/../lib64 -L/usr/lib/../lib64 -L/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/../../../../x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/lib -L/usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/../../.. /tmp/cctRa2dU.o -lgcc --as-needed -lgcc_s --no-as-needed -lc -lgcc --as-needed -lgcc_s --no-as-needed /usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/crtend.o /usr/lib/gcc/x86_64-pc-linux-gnu/4.4.4/../../../../lib64/crtn.o
mybox hedmo #
after reboot |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
NeddySeagoon Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
![](images/avatars/3946266373f47d606a2db3.jpg)
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54821 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Wed Sep 08, 2010 7:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hedmo,
You have Code: | -march=amdfam10 -mcx16 -msahf -mpopcnt --param l1-cache-size=64 --param l1-cache-line-size=64 --param l2-cache-size=512 -mtune=amdfam10 -dumpbase | now. That looks better. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
hedmo Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Megaman/megaman2.gif)
Joined: 29 Aug 2009 Posts: 1334 Location: sweden
|
Posted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 9:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
next problem i dont have a cdrom (no /dev/cdrom)
and cant find the kernel model
mybox ~ # lspci -k
00:00.0 Host bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RD890 Northbridge only single slot PCI-e GFX Hydra part (rev 02)
Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc RD890 Northbridge only single slot PCI-e GFX Hydra part
00:02.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RD890 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port B)
Kernel driver in use: pcieport-driver
00:04.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RD890 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port D)
Kernel driver in use: pcieport-driver
00:05.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RD890 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port E)
Kernel driver in use: pcieport-driver
00:06.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RD890 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port F)
Kernel driver in use: pcieport-driver
00:07.0 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc RD890 PCI to PCI bridge (PCI express gpp port G)
Kernel driver in use: pcieport-driver
00:11.0 SATA controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 SATA Controller [IDE mode] (rev 40)
Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 SATA Controller [IDE mode]
Kernel driver in use: ahci
00:12.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
Kernel driver in use: ohci_hcd
00:12.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
Kernel driver in use: ehci_hcd
00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
Kernel driver in use: ohci_hcd
00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
Kernel driver in use: ehci_hcd
00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 41)
00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 IDE Controller (rev 40)
Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 IDE Controller
Kernel driver in use: ATIIXP_IDE
00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA) (rev 40)
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 8410
Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
Kernel modules: snd-hda-intel
00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 LPC host controller (rev 40)
Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 LPC host controller
00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge (rev 40)
00:14.5 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI2 Controller
Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI2 Controller
Kernel driver in use: ohci_hcd
00:16.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
Kernel driver in use: ohci_hcd
00:16.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
Kernel driver in use: ehci_hcd
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K10 [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] HyperTransport Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K10 [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K10 [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K10 [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] Miscellaneous Control
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K10 [Opteron, Athlon64, Sempron] Link Control
02:00.0 USB Controller: NEC Corporation Device 0194 (rev 03)
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 8413
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 06)
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 8432
Kernel driver in use: r8169
Kernel modules: r8169
04:00.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): VIA Technologies, Inc. Device 3403
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 8384
05:00.0 SATA controller: JMicron Technology Corp. JMB361 AHCI/IDE (rev 02)
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 843f
Kernel driver in use: ahci
05:00.1 IDE interface: JMicron Technology Corp. JMB361 AHCI/IDE (rev 02)
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 843f
06:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc R600 [Radeon HD 2900 Series]
Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc HIS Radeon HD 2900XT 512MB GDDR3 VIVO PCIe
Kernel driver in use: fglrx_pci
Kernel modules: fglrx
06:00.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc R600 Audio Device [Radeon HD 2900 Series]
Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc R600 Audio Device [Radeon HD 2900 Series]
Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
Kernel modules: snd-hda-intel
mybox ~ # |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
NeddySeagoon Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
![](images/avatars/3946266373f47d606a2db3.jpg)
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54821 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat Sep 11, 2010 10:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hedmo,
Code: | 05:00.1 IDE interface: JMicron Technology Corp. JMB361 AHCI/IDE (rev 02)
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 843f | Yhat suggests it wants the AHCI driver but that is already loaded.
Try the Jmicron PATA driver in the SATA menu in the kernel.
While you are there, check that you have SCSI CDROM enabled too. Even if your CDROM is PATA, it will get a SCSI name. /dev.sr0
-- edit --
Code: | 00:11.0 SATA controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 SATA Controller [IDE mode] (rev 40)
Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 SATA Controller [IDE mode] |
This SATA controller is in IDE mode. Thats a verybadthing. IDE mode is intended to allow the installation of the Windows XP AHCI driver, so windows users can then switch to AHCI mode. IDE mode functionality is often restricted e.g. no DMA at all, so its very slow. Thats a BIOS setting. The right setting for Linux is always AHCI. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
hedmo Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Megaman/megaman2.gif)
Joined: 29 Aug 2009 Posts: 1334 Location: sweden
|
Posted: Sun Sep 12, 2010 6:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon
Jmicron was the one. i have the other ones.about ide mode i that my hard drives and if that so i will try to
fix it as you told me (in bios) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
hedmo Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Megaman/megaman2.gif)
Joined: 29 Aug 2009 Posts: 1334 Location: sweden
|
Posted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 6:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
today i tryed to get the ide mode off of the sata cont but all i get is boot error.grub start but some thing is wrong with my
hd setup in grub.
default 0
timeout 10
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz
title Gentoo
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.31-gentoo-r10 root=/dev/md3
and the grub looks verry bad |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
NeddySeagoon Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
![](images/avatars/3946266373f47d606a2db3.jpg)
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54821 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 7:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hedmo,
I suspect your hard drives have been renumbered.
Boot normally.
At the grub prompt press 'e'
Edit the line until it reads and press the tab key.
If you only have a single drive, grub will add a 0, if you have a choice, grub will list the drives seen by the BIOS.
Choose a drive number and edit the to read if you choose 1.
Press tab again and grub will list all of the partitions on that drive. From this information, you may be able to determine the boot drive.
Even with trial and error, it does not take long. These edits are to the grub.conf in memory. They are not saved to disk.
Its also possible that you will need to reinstall grub to the MBR as the MBR installation process edits the installed binaries so grub can find itself. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
hedmo Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Megaman/megaman2.gif)
Joined: 29 Aug 2009 Posts: 1334 Location: sweden
|
Posted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 3:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i just needed to get a kernel update to get the AHCI and grub to work as it should |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|