View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
chris_andrew Apprentice
Joined: 19 Sep 2004 Posts: 291 Location: Wiltshire, UK
|
Posted: Sat Sep 18, 2010 9:28 pm Post subject: No /usr/src/linux as described in Installation Handbook. |
|
|
Hi, all!
I'm doing an installation on an Ultra 5 and have got as far as section 7b.
I need to do Code: | ls -l /usr/src/linux |
to check that it all looks good.
Unfortunately, under /usr/src all I have that looks relevant is linux-2.6.34-gentoo-r6. I asked on the gentoo-sparc IRC channel and was advised not to worry about it.
When I cd to /usr/src/linux-2.6.34-gentoo-r6 and try to do
I get:
Quote: | No such file or directory. No rule to make target.....Stop. |
Can anyone tell me how to proceed, as I don't want to mess things up, at this stage.
Many thanks,
Chris. _________________ http://www.whylinuxisbetter.net/ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DONAHUE Watchman
Joined: 09 Dec 2006 Posts: 7651 Location: Goose Creek SC
|
Posted: Sat Sep 18, 2010 9:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
boot cd mount gentoo partitions, enter chroot
Code: | cd /usr/src/
ln -s linux-2.6.34-gentoo-r6 linux |
to make the symbolic link |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54744 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat Sep 18, 2010 9:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
chris_andrew,
The /usr/src/linux symlink is used by external kernel modules to find the kernel to build against.
Building in /usr/src/linux-2.6.34-gentoo-r6 is fine.
Does your /usr/src/linux-2.6.34-gentoo-r6 contain a file called Makefile ?
If not, your kernel source is damaged.
Code: | emerge gentoo-sources | again. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
chris_andrew Apprentice
Joined: 19 Sep 2004 Posts: 291 Location: Wiltshire, UK
|
Posted: Sat Sep 18, 2010 10:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi, guys!
Quote: | Does your /usr/src/linux-2.6.34-gentoo-r6 contain a file called Makefile ? |
Yes it does, and other files such as kbuild, arch, crypto.
Does this mean I can do the ln -s linux-2.6.34-gentoo-r6 linux?
Cheers,
Chris. _________________ http://www.whylinuxisbetter.net/ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54744 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat Sep 18, 2010 10:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
chris_andrew,
Yes. When you run make, it looks in Makefile for the target you specify. I this case menuconfig
Its a test file, so you can read it if you want. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
krinn Watchman
Joined: 02 May 2003 Posts: 7470
|
Posted: Sat Sep 18, 2010 11:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i would say
USE="symlink" emerge =gentoo-sources-2.6.34-gentoo-r6
add the version to world, create the symlink auto
then "make help" will gave you options you can use to build your config (under Configuration Targets, paragraph of help output) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
chris_andrew Apprentice
Joined: 19 Sep 2004 Posts: 291 Location: Wiltshire, UK
|
Posted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 7:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well, having slept on it, I want to take your advice, but for some reason, I'm now being told I haven't any space left on my device. I can't even do a df-h! Something isn't happy (apart from me ).
Not looking good.
Chris. _________________ http://www.whylinuxisbetter.net/ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
DONAHUE Watchman
Joined: 09 Dec 2006 Posts: 7651 Location: Goose Creek SC
|
Posted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 2:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
that usually means you are not in the chroot and are trying to manipulate the cd/ramdisk system.
boot cd, mount gentoo partitions (use your /dev names), enter chroot
Code: | mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc
mount -o bind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
env-update
source /etc/profile
export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"
cd /usr/src/linux
make menuconfig |
df -h BTW |
|
Back to top |
|
|
chris_andrew Apprentice
Joined: 19 Sep 2004 Posts: 291 Location: Wiltshire, UK
|
Posted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 2:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
My typo, I meant df -h. I carried-out the steps you outlined, a couple of hours ago. As I need to get the box built in the next few hours, I've installed Debian on it. I intend to try the install again when I have the time (hopefully this week).
Thanks to all that helped.
Chris. _________________ http://www.whylinuxisbetter.net/ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|