Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
wifi help
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gehzumteufel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 6:36 am    Post subject: wifi help Reply with quote

I have been searching, and haven't succeeded yet. Tried some things from a few different threads on here to no avail.

I can get the card to scan, but I can't get wpa_supplicant to connect. It appears that it may be a dhcp issue, because in dmesg I get:

Code:
[  442.498015] eth1: no IPv6 routers present


I am still a n00b though and am probably doing something wrong.

Here are some of the things that may be of use. I hope anyway.

Code:
$ lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
fuse                   57643  2
nvidia              11060389  56
firewire_ohci          20361  0
lib80211_crypt_tkip     7646  0
wl                   1942604  0
firewire_core          43008  1 firewire_ohci
snd_ctxfi              80436  1


Code:
$ cat /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=wheel
ap_scan=0
#update_config=1

network={
   ssid="mynetworkname"
   psk="mypassword"
   proto=WPA2
   key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
   pairwise=CCMP
   group=CCMP
   priority=5
}


Code:
$ sudo ifconfig
eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:1d:7e:0c:7c:2e 
          inet6 addr: fe80::21d:7eff:fe0c:7c2e/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
          Interrupt:18 Base address:0x4000



Code:
05:0a.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM43XG [14e4:4329] (rev 01)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cach0rr0
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 4123
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 6:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

just to check the obvious

if you cat /proc/net/wireless, is eth1 correct? (I've only seen that with ipw2200)

assuming it is, try running this on the command-line as root, and post the results:

Code:

wpa_supplicant -Dwext -i eth1 -c  /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

_________________
Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gehzumteufel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 6:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cach0rr0 wrote:
just to check the obvious

if you cat /proc/net/wireless, is eth1 correct? (I've only seen that with ipw2200)

assuming it is, try running this on the command-line as root, and post the results:

Code:

wpa_supplicant -Dwext -i eth1 -c  /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf


Thanks for asking, but yes it is correct.

Code:

Inter-| sta-|   Quality        |   Discarded packets               | Missed | WE
 face | tus | link level noise |  nwid  crypt   frag  retry   misc | beacon | 22
  eth1: 0000    5.  -256.  -90.       0      0      0      0      0        0


When I run that command via sudo:

Code:
ctrl_iface exists and seems to be in use - cannot override it
Delete '/var/run/wpa_supplicant/eth1' manually if it is not used anymore
Failed to initialize control interface '/var/run/wpa_supplicant'.
You may have another wpa_supplicant process already running or the file was
left by an unclean termination of wpa_supplicant in which case you will need
to manually remove this file before starting wpa_supplicant again.


I should also mention, that I added it to startup. So that could have something to do with that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cach0rr0
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 4123
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 6:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gehzumteufel wrote:

I should also mention, that I added it to startup. So that could have something to do with that?


correct. Either stop it, or nuke it from startup and reboot, then let us have a gander at the command line output

if it associates/authenticates successfully, the problem is further down the line (likely related to this? https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=334341)
_________________
Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gehzumteufel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 6:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cach0rr0 wrote:
gehzumteufel wrote:

I should also mention, that I added it to startup. So that could have something to do with that?


correct. Either stop it, or nuke it from startup and reboot, then let us have a gander at the command line output

if it associates/authenticates successfully, the problem is further down the line (likely related to this? https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=334341)

This is going to be an absolute n00b question, but how can I nuke it and/or remove from startup? lol /retard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cach0rr0
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 4123
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

no worries, I'm probably giving a n00b answer instead of a correct one :)

killall -9 wpa_supplicant
then remove the eth1 file from /var/run/wpa_supplicant

(there's probably a correct way to do it, but that seems quickest/easiest)
_________________
Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gehzumteufel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Sep 10, 2010 7:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay I re-ran the command and it is just sitting at the next line. I presume it is waiting for it to close, but since this is just the command line utility, it doesn't have anything I can close...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum