View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
daha n00b


Joined: 23 Aug 2003 Posts: 62 Location: Helsinki/EU
|
Posted: Sun Oct 05, 2003 6:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i tried to use lisa with my redhat system, but noticed, that nfs is the most useful tool to share directories. samba is also quite good, though it has some minor problems. (like security when you don't know exactly what you are doing:) |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dark_priest Apprentice


Joined: 18 Aug 2003 Posts: 227 Location: NL
|
Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 4:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
additionally, its been written down here how NFS can be mounted at bootup...
how is this done live ?
ie: non-bootup? _________________ [ Censored by unpopular demand] |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mmealman Guru

Joined: 02 Nov 2002 Posts: 348 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 5:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NFS just uses the mount command.
mount -t nfs fall:/home/httpd/proto /home/mmealman/proto
Or put an entry in your fstab file with a noauto option set and it won't mount at boot time but you can mount it via: mount /home/mmealman/proto |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dark_priest Apprentice


Joined: 18 Aug 2003 Posts: 227 Location: NL
|
Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 6:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: |
# mount -t nfs server:/website/htdocs /home/webmount
mount: fs type nfs not supported by kernel
|
does this mean my workstation doesnt support NFS or that my server doesnt?
(recompiling both kernel as i post this, but they both alreadt HAD NFS support set on built in)
anyone have a clue what's up? _________________ [ Censored by unpopular demand] |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mmealman Guru

Joined: 02 Nov 2002 Posts: 348 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 6:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The workstation doesn't support it.
Did you compile it as a module or as a built in kernel option? If it was a module, try insmod nfs first.
You can also cat /proc/filesystems to see what filesystems your kernel supports. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dark_priest Apprentice


Joined: 18 Aug 2003 Posts: 227 Location: NL
|
Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 8:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ok here's the weird shit...
i JUST compiled my kernel, i am ABSOLUTELY POSITIVE i did EVERYTHING that had NFS in it or even REMOTELY LOOKED LIKE IT built into the kernel.
and STILL it doesnt have NFS support
Code: |
xenofobiq # cat /proc/filesystems
nodev rootfs
nodev bdev
nodev proc
nodev sockfs
nodev futexfs
nodev tmpfs
nodev shm
nodev pipefs
nodev binfmt_misc
ext3
ext2
nodev ramfs
iso9660
nodev devfs
reiserfs
nodev usbdevfs
nodev usbfs
|
_________________ [ Censored by unpopular demand] |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mmealman Guru

Joined: 02 Nov 2002 Posts: 348 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 8:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hmm, not to sound like Capt Obvious here but, are you sure you booted using the new kernel and not the old one?
As far as the options in the kernel config, NFS support is just under the File Systems -> Network File Systems -> NFS Filesystem support and NFS Server support.
I also use NFSv3 support in both the server and client. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dark_priest Apprentice


Joined: 18 Aug 2003 Posts: 227 Location: NL
|
Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 9:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i need to reboot ?  _________________ [ Censored by unpopular demand] |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dark_priest Apprentice


Joined: 18 Aug 2003 Posts: 227 Location: NL
|
Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 9:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ok, now that ive rebooted ... (not-a-word)... i have NFS support... BUT...
i cant overwrite or create files
is this because of some config issue in /etc/exports or because i set no rw permissions in the directory itself? (it was created as root user)
ive come a long way since the help here, this little question would finish it off _________________ [ Censored by unpopular demand] |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JjcampNR Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Mar 2003 Posts: 127 Location: Massachusetts, USA
|
Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 9:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
After you recompile your kernel and create the new bzImage, yes you do indeed need to reboot. However, there are a few things you need to do before you reboot:
(# = root prompt)
1) Mount your boot partition:
# mount /boot
2) This will backup your old kernel...just incase
# mv /boot/bzImage /boot/bzImage.orig
3) Move your new kernel into the boot partition:
# cp /usr/src/linux/arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot
You may want to add a line into your boot loader config, so that if your new kernel does not perform as you expected you can simply reboot and go back into your old kernel to fix the problem. Also, if you compiled anything as a module you need to remember to create and install those modules again. On the same note, if you run an Nvidia card, or ALSA you should re-emerge those drivers before you reboot or they won't be available to you when your system comes back up.
After you do this, you should be good to go ahead and reboot into your new kernel.
Good Luck!
Josh _________________ Damn the man, fight the power!
http://www.torquenetworks.com |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
JjcampNR Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Mar 2003 Posts: 127 Location: Massachusetts, USA
|
Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 9:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Oops, guess I was a little late with that post. Sorry!
Josh _________________ Damn the man, fight the power!
http://www.torquenetworks.com |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mmealman Guru

Joined: 02 Nov 2002 Posts: 348 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 10:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
dark_priest wrote: | ok, now that ive rebooted ... (not-a-word)... i have NFS support... BUT...
i cant overwrite or create files
is this because of some config issue in /etc/exports or because i set no rw permissions in the directory itself? (it was created as root user)
ive come a long way since the help here, this little question would finish it off |
It's probably a permission thing. Let's say on the server you're exporting /myfiles
Let's say you're user 1000 on the client machine. On the server you'll want /myfiles to be owned by user 1000.
The other thing to check is to make sure in your exports you have the share options set to rw. Like:
/home/httpd/proto 192.168.1.10(rw,no_root_squash,sync)
[/b] |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dark_priest Apprentice


Joined: 18 Aug 2003 Posts: 227 Location: NL
|
Posted: Tue Oct 07, 2003 6:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
A# what does no_root_squash do?
b# how do i set the directoy to be owned by anyone ?
(i want it acessible by my whole network, that should be possible, right?) _________________ [ Censored by unpopular demand] |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mmealman Guru

Joined: 02 Nov 2002 Posts: 348 Location: Florida
|
Posted: Tue Oct 07, 2003 2:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
dark_priest wrote: | A# what does no_root_squash do?
b# how do i set the directoy to be owned by anyone ?
(i want it acessible by my whole network, that should be possible, right?) |
"man exports" has all the details on what no_root_squash is.
Setting ownership of a directory is done via chown. You can have the share accessible on your entire network.
I'd recommend emerging app-doc/howto-html and reading the NFS howto. The howto's in Linux will pretty much teach you anything you want to know(I learned pretty much everything I know about Linux from reading them).
The NFS howto will also go over how to share an export across an entire network and may explain the no_root_squash stuff a little more clearly. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|