Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
SamuliSuominen
Retired Dev
Retired Dev

PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2011 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cr0k wrote:
Oh, ok.

I thought all the DEs should include some "default apps". Thanks for the answer.

That would render the -meta unusable for people who don't like Xfce's Terminal but prefer something like xterm or rxvt-unicode instead. We don't like to repeat the mistakes from Gnome maintainers where they list every possible package as a dependency.

Gentoo is all about choice.
while true
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 1:38 pm    Post subject: [newbie]lost xfce upgrading to 4.8 Reply with quote

Ola,

I hope I am in right section...

Updating gentoo I had to update xfce to 4.8.
Now, I am new to linux and newer to gentoo,
so I might need a bit help from you to get this thing right.

I had problems, and I followed sticky thread in this section,
but it worked on one of my two laptops, the other one is just getting worse.

Since I do not know where to start or what to post,
and I must admit I am scared to ask, it seems like you guys are just too few
for fresh army of newbies, kheh, but I am certain that this is good thing...

Boot sequence is a bit different, it reports some errors (it scrolls too fast, is there a way I can see that output?) but I did see red star saying something like"vboxdrv could not be loaded", so I ran Virtual Box and is working fine, but as I left Virtual Box, the system went to X-style. Reboot does not help.

After following steps to the letter, my main issue now is that as I boot, I do not get xfce, but X, that is I have X for mouse pointer, apps do not have borders (min, max, close), I can not resize them...

If you are reading this line, thank you so much!

alive
while true
kick ass
ronmon
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Sun Feb 13, 2011 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote