View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
japtar10101 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 12 Apr 2009 Posts: 103
|
Posted: Sat Oct 23, 2010 4:33 pm Post subject: [SOLVED] No sound, no default drivers? |
|
|
I'm getting no sound from my system:
Code: | $ ogg123 music/Scott\ Pilgrim\ vs.\ The\ World/Anthems\ for\ a\ Seventeen\ Year-Old\ Girl.ogg
ALSA lib pcm_dmix.c:1010:(snd_pcm_dmix_open) unable to open slave
=== Could not load default driver and no driver specified in config file. Exiting. |
Here's currently what my system is set to.
Code: | $ sudo sudo lspci -v | grep -i audio
02:00.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc Device aa58
04:01.0 Audio device: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT1708/A [Azalia HDAC] (VIA High Definition Audio Controller) (rev 10)
$ cat /proc/asound/cards
0 [Generic ]: HDA-Intel - HD-Audio Generic
HD-Audio Generic at 0xff2bc000 irq 25
1 [VT82xx ]: HDA-Intel - HDA VIA VT82xx
HDA VIA VT82xx at 0xff3fc000 irq 17
$ sudo vim /usr/share/misc/pci.ids
...
3288 VT1708/A [Azalia HDAC] (VIA High Definition Audio Controller)
aa58 Juniper HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5700 Series]
...
$sudo lspci -k
...
02:00.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc Juniper HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5700 Series]
Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc Juniper HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5700 Series]
Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
04:01.0 Audio device: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT1708/A [Azalia HDAC] (VIA High Definition Audio Controller) (rev 10)
Subsystem: Micro-Star International Co., Ltd. Device 7255
Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
... |
It looks like 2 drivers are running...
Just in case, I tried configuring /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf to use only the VIA drivers:
Code: | # Alsa kernel modules' configuration file.
# ALSA portion
alias char-major-116 snd
# OSS/Free portion
alias char-major-14 soundcore
##
## IMPORTANT:
## You need to customise this section for your specific sound card(s)
## and then run `update-modules' command.
## Read alsa-driver's INSTALL file in /usr/share/doc for more info.
##
## ALSA portion
## alias snd-card-0 snd-interwave
## alias snd-card-1 snd-ens1371
## OSS/Free portion
## alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0
## alias sound-slot-1 snd-card-1
##
# OSS/Free portion - card #1
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss
## OSS/Free portion - card #2
## alias sound-service-1-0 snd-mixer-oss
## alias sound-service-1-3 snd-pcm-oss
## alias sound-service-1-12 snd-pcm-oss
alias /dev/mixer snd-mixer-oss
alias /dev/dsp snd-pcm-oss
alias /dev/midi snd-seq-oss
# Set this to the correct number of cards.
options snd cards_limit=2
# Setup the card order
alias snd-card-0 snd-via82xx
options snd-via82xx index=0
alias snd-card-1 snd-hda-intel
options snd-hda-intel index=1 |
Last edited by japtar10101 on Thu Oct 28, 2010 4:08 am; edited 6 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
chithanh Developer
Joined: 05 Aug 2006 Posts: 2158 Location: Berlin, Germany
|
Posted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 9:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The first device could be an HDMI audio device. You can runto see if there is a product name for it in the PCI ID database. Also check with which driver (if any) drives your audio devices. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
japtar10101 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 12 Apr 2009 Posts: 103
|
Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 4:25 am Post subject: |
|
|
chithanh wrote: | The first device could be an HDMI audio device. You can runto see if there is a product name for it in the PCI ID database. Also check with which driver (if any) drives your audio devices. | My screen (with speakers) doesn't support HDMI. If anything, I want sound running through the VIA audio jack.
Does this mean I somehow have the audio coming through the wrong end? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
japtar10101 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 12 Apr 2009 Posts: 103
|
Posted: Wed Oct 27, 2010 1:39 am Post subject: |
|
|
japtar10101 wrote: | chithanh wrote: | The first device could be an HDMI audio device. You can runto see if there is a product name for it in the PCI ID database. Also check with which driver (if any) drives your audio devices. | My screen (with speakers) doesn't support HDMI. If anything, I want sound running through the VIA audio jack.
Does this mean I somehow have the audio coming through the wrong end? |
Shoot, I spoke too soon. I didn't read the entire comment.
Code: | $ sudo vim /usr/share/misc/pci.ids
...
3288 VT1708/A [Azalia HDAC] (VIA High Definition Audio Controller)
aa58 Juniper HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5700 Series]
...
$sudo lspci -k
...
02:00.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc Juniper HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5700 Series]
Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc Juniper HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5700 Series]
Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
04:01.0 Audio device: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT1708/A [Azalia HDAC] (VIA High Definition Audio Controller) (rev 10)
Subsystem: Micro-Star International Co., Ltd. Device 7255
Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
...
|
It looks like both is running at the same time...I compiled the kernel correctly !
Now I just have to figure out how to not run it on HDMI...
Edit: tried this, but to no avail:
Code: | $cat /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf
...
# Set this to the correct number of cards.
options snd cards_limit=2
# Setup the card order
alias snd-card-0 snd-vt82xx
options snd-vt82xx index=0
alias snd-card-1 snd-hda-intel
options snd-hda-intel index=1
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
japtar10101 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 12 Apr 2009 Posts: 103
|
Posted: Thu Oct 28, 2010 4:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
Fixed it. Turns out you have to compile the ALSA as module instead of making it built-in the kernel.
The rest was configuring alsa.conf correctly, which incidentally, after changing "vt82xx" to "via82xx", fixed it completely. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|