Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[solved] where is the boot I used when chrooted?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
augustin_meaulnes
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Oct 2010
Posts: 97
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 4:15 pm    Post subject: [solved] where is the boot I used when chrooted? Reply with quote

I am at my first kernel compiling but I am not very used to the concept of chrooting and kernel install.
Here is where I have trouble understanding.

I followed the Handbook to get my first kernel this way:
made a /dev/hda2 partition 32M for /boot
made a /dev/hda3 partition 2048M for swap
made a /dev/hda4 partition for /

Code:
mount/dev/hda4 as /mnt/gentoo
mkdir /mnt/gentoo/boot
mount /dev/hda2 as /mnt/gentoo/boot
....
mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc
mount -o bind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
cd /mnt/gentoo

chroot
env-update
source /etc/profile
export PS1="(chroot) $PS1)


I configured and compiled my kernel
put the kernel in /boot
wrote a /boot/grub/grub.conf

exited the chroot umounted all and reboot.

Every thing was OK exept X so I had to make a new kernel

I made my new kernel
But at the time of modifying the grub.conf I realized that I couldn't find it
the /boot was not the same as the /boot when chrooted.
I had to restart from the livecd to retreave it a install the second kernel. It works, including X now, but when I have started after reboot I can no longer access the place (/boot) where I put my kernels and the grub.conf
My question is how to make a new kernel without the livecd? Or how can I access the boot partition?


Last edited by augustin_meaulnes on Mon Nov 01, 2010 4:32 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard27
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2377
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am not quite sure what is happening in your box but
Gentoo unmounts the /boot partition once started.
So you have to do mount /boot in order to see grub and so on.
When you're finished do unmount /boot.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
augustin_meaulnes
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Oct 2010
Posts: 97
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How stupid I am? Of course. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard27
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2377
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2010 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ça peut arrivé à tout le monde.
(It can happen to anyone)
You're welcome.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum