Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
mounting a directory of a partition [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
870Fragmaster
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jul 2002
Posts: 92
Location: Gulfport, Ms

PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2010 12:58 am    Post subject: mounting a directory of a partition [SOLVED] Reply with quote

I have Ubuntu installed on /dev/hda1. Gentoo runs on /dev/hda2. The boot directory is /dev/sda1/boot. In gentoo when I mount boot
/etc/fstab:
Code:

# <fs>                  <mountpoint>    <type>          <opts>          <dump/pass>

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/sda1               /boot           ext3            noauto,noatime  1 2
/dev/hda2               /               ext3            noatime         0 1
/dev/hda1               none            swap            sw              0 0
/dev/sda5               /home           ext3            noatime         0 1
/dev/cdrom              /mnt/cdrom      auto            noauto,ro       0 0
#/dev/fd0               /mnt/floppy     auto            noauto          0 0

I have to copy everything to /boot/boot. Is there a way I can mount /dev/sda1/boot on /boot?


Last edited by 870Fragmaster on Mon Nov 08, 2010 2:16 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
floppymaster
Developer
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 229
Location: Detroit, MI, USA

PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2010 3:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

First thing: your post conflicts with your fstab; how can Ubuntu be installed on your swap partition (/dev/hda1)?

Anyway, you could use a bind mount:

Code:
/dev/sda1       /dummy      ext3    noauto,noatime  1 2
/dummy/boot     /boot       bind    noauto          0 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
870Fragmaster
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jul 2002
Posts: 92
Location: Gulfport, Ms

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2010 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry, I meant /dev/sda1. Thanks for the info. That is what I needed.
Here is what I put in /etc/fstab:
Code:

/dev/sda1               /mnt/dummy      ext3            noauto,noatime  1 2
/mnt/dummy/boot         /boot           none            bind,noauto     0 0

I just have to mount dummy before mounting /boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
floppymaster
Developer
Developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 229
Location: Detroit, MI, USA

PostPosted: Mon Nov 08, 2010 2:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, I screwed up the options there. You figured it out, though. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum