[SOLVED]Determining which modules I need
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
icarus127
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Nov 15, 2010 7:16 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED]Determining which modules I need Reply with quote

Hi everyone, I'm completely new to gentoo and working on my first install on my netbook. I run slackware on my Desktop and up until now had been running ubuntu 10.4 on my netbook. I got frustrated with the bloat and occasional instability of ubuntu and I've always been interested in the gentoo philosophy and I've been wanting learn more about linux system configuration which I think I will get by installing gentoo.

I've been running the install off of the gentoo livedvd on a USB drive and I was wondering how to determine what modules I need to select for automatic loading. I've been following the handbook and when I got to the bit about selecting modules I wasn't sure what to select since the list of loaded modules on the livedvd is, I think, the longest I've ever seen so I just didn't select anything hoping that this was just for exotic modules :p That's obviously not the case since my NIC doesn't even come up properly at boot. I've been looking more at lsmod and I was wondering if
Code:

/sbin/lsmod | awk '{if ($3 > 0) print $1}'

will give me the right list since column $3 is label 'use'. If not can anyone recommend a better way to do this? I know I can look at lspci to see what hardware I've got but how do I connect that with the module that I need?

My other question is, whenever I shutdown/restart gentoo either on the livedvd or my admittedly broken install I get something to the effect of:
Code:

shutdown segfaulted HALT "${opts}"

I've found a couple references to this being an old kernel but it was from a long time ago and I assume that emerge gentoo-sources is pretty current.

Thanks for the help :)[/post]