View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
lenin n00b

Joined: 14 Oct 2010 Posts: 4 Location: NWPU
|
Posted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 1:24 am Post subject: About 'USE' in make.conf |
|
|
My CPU is Athlon II X3 435 , how should I set 'USE' in make.conf to make compile match my CPU ? Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
chithanh Developer


Joined: 05 Aug 2006 Posts: 2158 Location: Berlin, Germany
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mattst88 Developer


Joined: 28 Oct 2004 Posts: 423
|
Posted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 6:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
There are use flags for assembly optimizations. Your CPU has the following.
USE="3dnow 3dnowext mmx mmxext sse sse2 sse3" _________________ My Wiki page |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ShadowHawkBV Guru


Joined: 27 Mar 2004 Posts: 352
|
Posted: Sat Jun 25, 2011 3:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | There are use flags for assembly optimizations. Your CPU has the following.
USE="3dnow 3dnowext mmx mmxext sse sse2 sse3" |
Do the sse keys act recursively? If I add sse3 to my USE, will sse and sse2 automatically be applied as necessary? I seem to remember that being the case for CFLAGS, but am unsure about USE. _________________ This space for rent... Well maybe to give away.. Heck.. i'll pay you to take it.
Lost Linux Neophyte
Intel i7-1065G7
Intel i7-8565U
Intel Atom Cherry Trail
AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955
Pure 64bit frustration  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
mattst88 Developer


Joined: 28 Oct 2004 Posts: 423
|
Posted: Sat Jun 25, 2011 4:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ShadowHawkBV wrote: | Quote: | There are use flags for assembly optimizations. Your CPU has the following.
USE="3dnow 3dnowext mmx mmxext sse sse2 sse3" |
Do the sse keys act recursively? If I add sse3 to my USE, will sse and sse2 automatically be applied as necessary? I seem to remember that being the case for CFLAGS, but am unsure about USE. |
No, you should add them manually. _________________ My Wiki page |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
ShadowHawkBV Guru


Joined: 27 Mar 2004 Posts: 352
|
Posted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 12:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you for the clarification. _________________ This space for rent... Well maybe to give away.. Heck.. i'll pay you to take it.
Lost Linux Neophyte
Intel i7-1065G7
Intel i7-8565U
Intel Atom Cherry Trail
AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 955
Pure 64bit frustration  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
xaviermiller Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Jul 2004 Posts: 8723 Location: ~Brussels - Belgique
|
Posted: Sun Jul 31, 2011 3:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Some profiles enable "cpu" USE flags, such as amd64 (enabling SSE* MMX, ...) _________________ Kind regards,
Xavier Miller |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wcg Guru

Joined: 06 Jan 2009 Posts: 588
|
Posted: Sat Aug 06, 2011 1:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
"cat /proc/cpuinfo" should tell you what the cpu has available in its
instruction set (see the "flags" entry). "-march=native" in CFLAGS
in /etc/make.conf should pull in any of those that are relevant to
the current code that gcc is compiling. _________________ TIA |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Terrel Shumway n00b

Joined: 26 Aug 2011 Posts: 4
|
Posted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 10:27 pm Post subject: I think it is automatic |
|
|
/usr/portage/profiles/arch/amd64/use.mask
Quote: |
# Feb 16th 2007; Simon Stelling <blubb@gentoo.org>
# Since this profile forces >=portage-2.1.2, we can unmask all
# SIMD assembler flags
-mmx
-mmxext
-sse
-sse2
-sse3
-sse4
-sse4a
-sse5
-3dnow
-3dnowext
|
Doesn't this mean that all of these are automatically enabled for all amd64 profiles? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wcg Guru

Joined: 06 Jan 2009 Posts: 588
|
Posted: Sat Aug 27, 2011 6:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | Doesn't this mean that all of these are automatically enabled for all amd64 profiles? |
It would simply mean that they are not forbidden (masked). Whether they are actually
used by a particular ebuild would likely be conditional on other tests (since not all
amd64 cpus implement all of those instruction set extensions). _________________ TIA |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|