View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
neuron Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
![](images/avatars/d946e5263cf3dddd25d4e.gif)
Joined: 28 May 2002 Posts: 2371
|
Posted: Wed Sep 17, 2003 11:27 am Post subject: proxies |
|
|
on windows I had an application I could run, that would force applications not supporting proxy to use proxy. Anything like that on linux?
I'd love to for example
forceproxy bash
then have any program run in bash have proxy until exit.
But anything that would force a proxy would be great. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
chrisis Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 22 May 2003 Posts: 112 Location: Auckland
|
Posted: Fri Sep 19, 2003 1:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Not sure if it will work, but you can try setting the http_proxy and ftp_proxy environment variables:
Code: |
export http_proxy="http://machine.company.com:1234"
export ftp_proxy="ftp://machine.company.com"
|
Of course, replace machine.company.com:1234 with your proxy server and port details. _________________ But the situation seemed to call for witty repartee. "Huh?" I said. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
neuron Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
![](images/avatars/d946e5263cf3dddd25d4e.gif)
Joined: 28 May 2002 Posts: 2371
|
Posted: Fri Sep 19, 2003 9:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
I'll try that, fairly sure that'll only work when the app supports reading those var's though. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
sschlueter Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
Joined: 26 Jul 2002 Posts: 578 Location: Dortmund, Germany
|
Posted: Fri Sep 19, 2003 2:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
There are solutions to help apps use a socks proxy server. But you can either "socksify" the whole system or a single app. So "socksify bash" doesn't work but "socksify telnet" does.
net-misc/dante offers the "socksify" command and can also be used to socksify thw whole system.
net-misc/tsocks is less heavy but can only be used to socksify the whole system. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
neuron Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
![](images/avatars/d946e5263cf3dddd25d4e.gif)
Joined: 28 May 2002 Posts: 2371
|
Posted: Fri Sep 19, 2003 3:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'll grab dante, seems that's exactly what I'm looking for ![Smile :)](images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
russwyte n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 29 Sep 2003 Posts: 10 Location: Nashville TN
|
Posted: Tue Feb 03, 2004 5:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I am using dante, and for sing apps it seems to work ok, but...
when I do something like this
Code: | socksify emerge sync |
where I have a ssh dynamic port forwarded to my socks proxy at home. It does not work.
but...
works great.
So I figure I need to socksify my system sice emerge is executing rsync on its own.
I tried
Quote: |
edit the file /etc/ld.so.preload
and add two lines saying:
libdl.so
libdsocks.so
|
from the dante site, but no joy, for one thing that file does not exist, and when I create it I get a kernel panic and have to remove it.
Any ideas?
Thanks! _________________ I thought I was therefore I am, I think. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|