How to configure FSTAB and mounting floppy & CD
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Doublehead
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2003 6:11 pm    Post subject: How to configure FSTAB and mounting floppy & CD Reply with quote

I'm 'almost' a total newbie, but I want to install Gentoo 1.4.
I've managed to do everything right until it comes to FSTAB'ing.
How do I do that?
The instructions in the manual are just not clear enough for me.
I also want to configure the FSTAB to mount my cdrom and floppy drive so I can continue with the installation.
PS. All my linux experience is Mandrake, not very much, eh? :lol:
the lone crouton
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2003 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you foilowed the install docs exactly, you need something like this:

# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/fstab,v 1.12 2003/03/11 02:50:53 azarah Exp $
#
# noatime turns of atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# needed; notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
# efficiency). It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail and tail freely.

# <fs> <mountpoint> <type> <opts> <dump/pass>

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/hda1 /boot ext2 noauto,noatime 1 1
/dev/hda3 / reiserfs noatime 0 1
/dev/hda2 none swap sw 0 0
/dev/cdrom /mnt/cdrom iso9660 noauto,ro 0 0

# NOTE: The next line is critical for boot!
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0

# glibc 2.2 and above expects tmpfs to be mounted at /dev/shm for
# POSIX shared memory (shm_open, shm_unlink).
# (tmpfs is a dynamically expandable/shrinkable ramdisk, and will
# use almost no memory if not populated with files)
# Adding the following line to /etc/fstab should take care of this: