View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Eurt Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 18 Nov 2007 Posts: 86 Location: Cádiz, Spain
|
Posted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 10:51 pm Post subject: [SOUND] Intel HD audio does not work. (Solved) |
|
|
Greetings.
Two days ago I bought a new laptop and I installed gentoo on it.
I made a kernel for it, configured every module so that it could works properly but I had a surprise, sound did not want to work.
I have recompiled kernel hundreds of times... Nothing changes. I compiled intel HD audio as built-in module, changing codecs, and finally, I have built the entire Intel HD audio section as modules. Still no sound
I've tried kubuntu live to find out which modules I needed to build my kernel before installing gentoo, and sound did work. I have no explanation for that...
I use kernel-2.6.37, KDE 4.5.5 and phonon with xine engine. There are no devices listed at phonon configuration, but I can see my card in alsamixer as well as in Kmix.
This is my kernel config:
http://pastebin.com/LPPVTjMC
More info:
Code: | # lspci | grep Audio
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation Ibex Peak High Definition Audio (rev 05) |
Code: | # lsmod | grep snd
snd_hda_codec_hdmi 19329 1
snd_hda_codec_realtek 272555 1
snd_hda_intel 18696 1
snd_hda_codec 58452 3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep 5348 1 snd_hda_codec |
Module snd is built-in kernel, as well as soundcore (I guess soundcore is built-in, I could not find it in menuconfig)
Code: | # cat /proc/asound/cards
0 [Intel ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel
HDA Intel at 0xf0800000 irq 42
|
Alsamixer says:
Card: HDA Intel
Chio: Intel IbexPeak HDMI
What is going on with my soundcard?
I swear I'm becoming crazy...
Thanks.
Last edited by Eurt on Sun Jan 30, 2011 5:38 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
gentoo_dude l33t
Joined: 08 May 2004 Posts: 645 Location: Washington, DC
|
Posted: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I take it you tried to unmute your card by running alsamixer? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Eurt Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 18 Nov 2007 Posts: 86 Location: Cádiz, Spain
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yes, I tried |
|
Back to top |
|
|
gentoo_dude l33t
Joined: 08 May 2004 Posts: 645 Location: Washington, DC
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
Does alsamixer report any sound cards, or it has only the dummy card?
did you try running alsaconf? what is the output for alsa-info? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Eurt Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 18 Nov 2007 Posts: 86 Location: Cádiz, Spain
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Alsamixer reports the following:
Card: HDA Intel
Chio: Intel IbexPeak HDMI
alsa-info output is:
Code: | cat: /proc/asound/modules: No such file or directory |
The same thing is reported in my other PC and its sound cards works fine (Both audigy 2 and Intel integrated).
alsaconf does not detect the sound card, neither in the laptop nor in the PC (in the PC only detects emu10k1, the other one is skipped, but it works and is shown in Phonon list). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Eurt Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 18 Nov 2007 Posts: 86 Location: Cádiz, Spain
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
I did not notice that alsa-info didn't close.
This is alsa-info output file:
http://pastebin.com/FLy915q6 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
gentoo_dude l33t
Joined: 08 May 2004 Posts: 645 Location: Washington, DC
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
This is my /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf
put your sound card snd-card-0 and sound-slot-0 intel-hda or (snd-intel-hda - I am not sure which is the module for your card) and see /etc/init.d/alsasound start starts fine.
Code: | # Alsa kernel modules' configuration file.
# ALSA portion
# OSS/Free portion
##
## IMPORTANT:
## You need to customise this section for your specific sound card(s)
## and then run `update-modules' command.
## Read alsa-driver's INSTALL file in /usr/share/doc for more info.
##
## ALSA portion
## alias snd-card-0 snd-interwave
## alias snd-card-1 snd-ens1371
## OSS/Free portion
## alias sound-slot-0 snd-card-0
## alias sound-slot-1 snd-card-1
##
# OSS/Free portion - card #1
## OSS/Free portion - card #2
## alias sound-service-1-0 snd-mixer-oss
## alias sound-service-1-3 snd-pcm-oss
## alias sound-service-1-12 snd-pcm-oss
alias /dev/mixer snd-mixer-oss
alias /dev/dsp snd-pcm-oss
alias /dev/midi snd-seq-oss
# Set this to the correct number of cards.
# --- BEGIN: Generated by ALSACONF, do not edit. ---
# --- ALSACONF version 1.0.21 ---
alias char-major-116 snd
alias char-major-14 soundcore
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss
alias snd-card-0 snd-intel8x0
alias sound-slot-0 snd-intel8x0
alias sound-slot-1 snd-usb-audio
# --- END: Generated by ALSACONF, do not edit. ---
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Eurt Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 18 Nov 2007 Posts: 86 Location: Cádiz, Spain
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 5:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
I've just added:
Code: | alias snd-card-0 snd_hda_intel
alias sound-slot-0 snd_hda_intel |
to /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf
then:
Code: | # /etc/init.d/alsasound restart
* Loading ALSA modules ... [OK]
* Loading: snd-card-0 ... [OK]
* Restoring Mixer Levels ... [OK] |
Still no sound |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pgu l33t
Joined: 30 Jul 2009 Posts: 721 Location: Oslo, Norway
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 1:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Are you listening to the analog port or on the HDMI port?
Have you tried
Code: | aplay -D hw:0,0 somewavfile.wav |
or for your HDMI
Code: | aplay -D hw:0,3 somewavfile.wav
aplay -D hw:0,7 somewavfile.wav |
where somewavfile.wav is a raw wav file that you have verified elsewhere. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Eurt Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 18 Nov 2007 Posts: 86 Location: Cádiz, Spain
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 2:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Every command you said me have the same output:
Code: | Playing WAVE 'the-unforgiven-2.wav' : Signed 16 bit Little Endian, Rate 8000 Hz, Mono
aplay: set_params:1059: Channels count non available
|
I ran it as user as well as root
I don't know why this card doesn't work... I can't even imagine... I've installed gentoo hundred of times with custom kernels and I've never had a problem before...
The fact that the sound card works under kubuntu livedvd, using KDE and xine engine annoys me... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pgu l33t
Joined: 30 Jul 2009 Posts: 721 Location: Oslo, Norway
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 2:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Have you tried a stereo wav file? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Eurt Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 18 Nov 2007 Posts: 86 Location: Cádiz, Spain
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 3:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The output has changed using a stereo wav file:
Code: | $ aplay -D hw:0,0 iw.wav
# aplay -D hw:0,0 iw.wav
Playing WAVE 'iw.wav' : Unsigned 8 bit, Rate 8000 Hz, Stereo
aplay: set_params:1053: Sample format non available
Available formats:
- S16_LE
- S32_LE |
Code: | $ aplay -D hw:0,3 iw.wav
# aplay -D hw:0,3 iw.wav
$ aplay -D hw:0,7 iw.wav
# aplay -D hw:0,7 iw.wav
Playing WAVE 'iw.wav' : Unsigned 8 bit, Rate 8000 Hz, Stereo
aplay: set_params:1053: Sample format non available
Available formats:
- S16_LE
- S32_LE
- IEC958_SUBFRAME_LE |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
pgu l33t
Joined: 30 Jul 2009 Posts: 721 Location: Oslo, Norway
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 3:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Do you have a 16-bit wav file to match what's supported by your card? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pgu l33t
Joined: 30 Jul 2009 Posts: 721 Location: Oslo, Norway
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 3:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
aplay --help will list supported format in the "Recognized sample formats are" section.
Does Code: | aplay -D default iw.wav | give you any sound? It should be able to do the format conversion. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Eurt Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 18 Nov 2007 Posts: 86 Location: Cádiz, Spain
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 3:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
OMG, I've tried the upper commands with a 16 bit file.
Using hw:0,0 makes my headphones port to sing (hw:0,3 and hw:0,7 don't), but not the song I converted... It plays a very weird and annoying cartoon song.
If I change hw:0,0 with default, the song plays correctly through headphones, but there is no sound through laptop speakers |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pgu l33t
Joined: 30 Jul 2009 Posts: 721 Location: Oslo, Norway
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | hw:0,3 and hw:0,7 don't |
They are your HDMI outputs. I didn't know if you were listening at the analog output or at the HDMI output when I posted the message. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pgu l33t
Joined: 30 Jul 2009 Posts: 721 Location: Oslo, Norway
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: | #
Simple mixer control 'Headphone',0
#
Capabilities: pvolume pswitch penum
#
Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
#
Limits: Playback 0 - 64
#
Mono:
#
Front Left: Playback 18 [28%] [-46.00dB] [on]
#
Front Right: Playback 18 [28%] [-46.00dB] [on]
#
Simple mixer control 'Speaker',0
#
Capabilities: pvolume pswitch penum
#
Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
#
Limits: Playback 0 - 64
#
Mono:
#
Front Left: Playback 0 [0%] [-64.00dB] [on]
#
Front Right: Playback 0 [0%] [-64.00dB] [on] |
It seems like your speakers is setto 0%, but your headphones to 28% |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Eurt Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 18 Nov 2007 Posts: 86 Location: Cádiz, Spain
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Analog. At least I want them, I have HDMI port unplugged |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pgu l33t
Joined: 30 Jul 2009 Posts: 721 Location: Oslo, Norway
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The reason for the cartoon song is probably wrong format. When you set default it will convert the format for you. You can also specify the format using the -f option to aplay. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Eurt Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 18 Nov 2007 Posts: 86 Location: Cádiz, Spain
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I've rebuilt kernel with PCI devices (sound) as module, as well as ALSA. Still no luck |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Eurt Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 18 Nov 2007 Posts: 86 Location: Cádiz, Spain
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 5:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I got sound emerging gstreamer and phonon-gstreamer, the problem is it can only plays oggs and certain wavs. No mp3 support... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pgu l33t
Joined: 30 Jul 2009 Posts: 721 Location: Oslo, Norway
|
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
alsa does not play mp3 directly. You should debug alsa issues with wav files first. However to me it seems like alsa is working since you can play a wav file using default. It also appears from the pastebin entry you included that the volume of your speakers are set to 0.
The next step is to make sure your applications are correctly configured using the right codec and alsa output . |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Eurt Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 18 Nov 2007 Posts: 86 Location: Cádiz, Spain
|
Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
Even using gstreamer, a few annoying errors occur. For example, a box saying a lot "hw:0,0 failed, reverting to hw:0,0" or something like that.
I'm going to compile the same kubuntu kernel and see if there is a module matter... If this fails I should go to the neares mental asylum as soon as possible.
BTW: Thanks for the help received |
|
Back to top |
|
|
VoidMage Watchman
Joined: 14 Oct 2006 Posts: 6196
|
Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 2:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
Well, for one, trying to use hw0,0 is asking for trouble, at least do those test with plughw0,0.
But it's better to stick to default device and for tests simply use /dev/urandom.
Does alsa-info provide any hints ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pgu l33t
Joined: 30 Jul 2009 Posts: 721 Location: Oslo, Norway
|
Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2011 9:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
Eurt wrote: | Even using gstreamer, a few annoying errors occur. For example, a box saying a lot "hw:0,0 failed, reverting to hw:0,0" or something like that.
I'm going to compile the same kubuntu kernel and see if there is a module matter... If this fails I should go to the neares mental asylum as soon as possible.
BTW: Thanks for the help received |
As I said. I think your alsa is working since you can play a wav file using the default device. Next step is to make sure it supports the correct formats and make sure your applications are using the correct conversion and alsa output. The reason I asked you to use hw:0,0 and 0,3 etc. was since I did not where you were listening for audio.
Does it work to play an mp3 like this:
Code: | mpg123 -o alsa:default 09\ -\ Rammstein\ -\ Ohne\ Dich\ \[Album\ Edit\].mp3 |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|