View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
urcindalo l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
Joined: 08 Feb 2005 Posts: 623 Location: Almeria, Spain
|
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 4:25 pm Post subject: How to load firmware from /lib/firmware/radeon? |
|
|
Hi!
I got 3D acceleration working with my ATI Radeon Mobility 4570 card and radeon/radeonhd drivers. But I see this message: Code: | IRQ's not enabled, falling back to busy waits: 2 0 |
Today I saw the new package x11-drivers/radeon-ucode-20091209 in portage, which I installed. Its description says: Quote: | IRQ microcode for r6xx/r7xx Radeon GPUs | After its installation a new system directory appeared, /lib/firmware/radeon, filled with *_pfp.bin and *_me.bin files.
However, after rebooting I still see the "IRQ's not enabled" message. What should I do to load the firmware for my card? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
DaggyStyle Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/182793287489b53393316c.gif)
Joined: 22 Mar 2006 Posts: 5941
|
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 6:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
afaik, that feature is part of kernel .33 _________________ Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Sadako Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
![](images/avatars/2074682074aea79062b33b.jpg)
Joined: 05 Aug 2004 Posts: 3792 Location: sleeping in the bathtub
|
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 7:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I had the same issue, and found it much easier to build those firmware files into the kernel (which I think you'll need if using KMS anyways).
Just create the folder "/usr/src/firmware/radeon", drop the firmware files in there, then in menuconfig (or whatever you use) add /usr/src/firmware as the directory to search for external firmware to include, and add each firmware file to wish included, with each file in the list prepended with "radeon/", then the usual kernel recompile, copy to /boot and reboot.
IIRC you only actually need two specific files, and dmesg should tell you which ones (ie which ones it failed to find and load) before the "IRQ's not enabled" message.
I did this before the necessary files were added to portage btw. _________________ "You have to invite me in" |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
urcindalo l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
Joined: 08 Feb 2005 Posts: 623 Location: Almeria, Spain
|
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 8:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for your help I did as you say, but choosing the files placed in /lib/firmware/radeon by the radeon_ucode package.
After rebooting I see this in dmesg: Code: | [ 43.289832] [drm] Loading RV710 CP Microcode
[ 43.289836] platform r600_cp.0: firmware: using built-in firmware radeon/RV710_pfp.bin
[ 43.289840] platform r600_cp.0: firmware: using built-in firmware radeon/RV710_me.bin
[ 43.319983] [drm] Resetting GPU
[ 43.320046] [drm] writeback test succeeded in 1 usecs |
With the previous kernel I could see "requesting file radeon/RV710_pfp.bin", or "requesting firmware radeon/RV710_pfp.bin", or something like that for both files in dmesg, so I guess something has changed. The "Loading RV710 CP Microcode" was already there, though, before recompiling the kernel.
However, I still see get the "IRQ's not enabled" warning. So, am I getting any benefit from these firmware files? I mean, would I be missing something if I hadn't compiled my kernel with them? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
urcindalo l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
Joined: 08 Feb 2005 Posts: 623 Location: Almeria, Spain
|
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 8:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hopeless wrote: | I had the same issue, and found it much easier to build those firmware files into the kernel (which I think you'll need if using KMS anyways) |
By the way, what is this KMS thing? I have this in my kernel .config: Code: | $ cat .config | grep KMS
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_HELPER=m | and the module is loaded by the radeon module: Code: | $ sudo lsmod
.....
radeon 474811 2
ttm 36719 1 radeon
drm_kms_helper 22655 1 radeon
drm 162263 5 radeon,ttm,drm_kms_helper
..... |
Does it mean I'm using KMS? Or is it something else?
But even if I'm using it, what is it? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Sadako Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
![](images/avatars/2074682074aea79062b33b.jpg)
Joined: 05 Aug 2004 Posts: 3792 Location: sleeping in the bathtub
|
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 8:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hmm, does the radeon-ucode ebuild include R600_rlc.bin and R700_rlc.bin, available from here?
I believe they are the ones needed for the IRQ work...
Are you using a stable kernel or one of the 2.6.33 release candidates?
rc8 should be the last rc before the .33 release, so should be relatively stable, I'd recommend trying it out as a there are loads of radeon drm updates in it (I think you may still need to add the "rlc" firmware files yourself, though). _________________ "You have to invite me in" |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Sadako Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
![](images/avatars/2074682074aea79062b33b.jpg)
Joined: 05 Aug 2004 Posts: 3792 Location: sleeping in the bathtub
|
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 8:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
urcindalo wrote: | Hopeless wrote: | I had the same issue, and found it much easier to build those firmware files into the kernel (which I think you'll need if using KMS anyways) |
By the way, what is this KMS thing? I have this in my kernel .config: Code: | $ cat .config | grep KMS
CONFIG_DRM_KMS_HELPER=m | and the module is loaded by the radeon module: Code: | $ sudo lsmod
.....
radeon 474811 2
ttm 36719 1 radeon
drm_kms_helper 22655 1 radeon
drm 162263 5 radeon,ttm,drm_kms_helper
..... |
Does it mean I'm using KMS? Or is it something else?
But even if I'm using it, what is it? | KMS = Kernel Mode Setting, the config option for it is hidden under the "staging area" drivers, so odds are you're not using it.
It's still a work in process, what it esentially does is move the code for setting the resolution and refresh rate from the Xorg ddx drivers in userspace (ie xf86-video-ati) to the kernel drm driver.
The advantages at this stage are a replacement for whatever framebuffer driver you may be using for a high-res console, and switching between the console and Xorg is near instant, whereas without it there is some delay.
If that doesn't really interest you, then you're better off avoiding it for the moment, as it comes with a performance penalty, but sooner or later it's going to be the default, the intel and noveau drivers are KMS only now I believe. _________________ "You have to invite me in" |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
urcindalo l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
Joined: 08 Feb 2005 Posts: 623 Location: Almeria, Spain
|
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 8:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hopeless wrote: | Hmm, does the radeon-ucode ebuild include R600_rlc.bin and R700_rlc.bin, available from here?
I believe they are the ones needed for the IRQ work... |
Yes, they are included. I'm going to add them too. In a few minutes I'll post the results.
Hopeless wrote: | Are you using a stable kernel or one of the 2.6.33 release candidates?
rc8 should be the last rc before the .33 release, so should be relatively stable, I'd recommend trying it out as a there are loads of radeon drm updates in it (I think you may still need to add the "rlc" firmware files yourself, though). |
I'm using gentoo-sources-2.6.32-r5. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
urcindalo l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
Joined: 08 Feb 2005 Posts: 623 Location: Almeria, Spain
|
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 8:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I can't compile the kernel when I include them. I get these errors: Code: | # make && make modules_install && make install
CHK include/linux/version.h
CHK include/linux/utsrelease.h
SYMLINK include/asm -> include/asm-x86
CALL scripts/checksyscalls.sh
CHK include/linux/compile.h
make[1]: *** No rule to make target `firmware/radeon/R600_rlc.bin', needed by `firmware/radeon/R600_rlc.bin.gen.o'. Stop.
make: *** [firmware] Error 2 | And the same for R700_rlc.bin.
Does the .bin extension mean they are precompiled binaries? If that's so, how could I load them during booting? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
DaggyStyle Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/182793287489b53393316c.gif)
Joined: 22 Mar 2006 Posts: 5941
|
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 8:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hopeless wrote: | KMS = Kernel Mode Setting, the config option for it is hidden under the "staging area" drivers, so odds are you're not using it.
|
I'm neither it hard freezes on my chip and the devs has no idea why...
will try again when .33 will go stable. _________________ Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
urcindalo l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
Joined: 08 Feb 2005 Posts: 623 Location: Almeria, Spain
|
Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 6:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hopeless wrote: | KMS = Kernel Mode Setting, the config option for it is hidden under the "staging area" drivers, so odds are you're not using it.. |
Thnaks for the info and the clarifying explanation.
1) I enabled KMS, just to try it.
2) I got a system hang-up at boot and the laptop was not even accessible by ssh.
3) I removed the option
I'll try it again with the .33 kernel, too. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
kernelOfTruth Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Star Wars/movie_star_wars_obi-wan_kenobi.gif)
Joined: 20 Dec 2005 Posts: 6111 Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
|
Posted: Wed Jan 26, 2011 1:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
urcindalo wrote: | Hopeless wrote: | KMS = Kernel Mode Setting, the config option for it is hidden under the "staging area" drivers, so odds are you're not using it.. |
Thnaks for the info and the clarifying explanation.
1) I enabled KMS, just to try it.
2) I got a system hang-up at boot and the laptop was not even accessible by ssh.
3) I removed the option
I'll try it again with the .33 kernel, too. |
the trick is to NOT enable modeset by default
e.g. nomodeset
at your boot-line
then after the box has booted up successfully - manually load the module (modprobe radeon modeset=1) or you can also add it to /etc/modprobe.d
after that you might want to set the power-profile to energy-saving / low:
echo "low" > /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_profile
that way it worked for me
everytime I had modeset / KMS enabled by default it would show screen corruption when launching the kernel and hardlocking my box ![Idea :idea:](images/smiles/icon_idea.gif) _________________ https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa
Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 ![Very Happy :D](images/smiles/icon_biggrin.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|