View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
audiodef Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/121230830564ba822c25c21.jpg)
Joined: 06 Jul 2005 Posts: 6656 Location: The soundosphere
|
Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:58 pm Post subject: Apache httpd.conf not listening |
|
|
Or maybe I missed something.
I just set up an account with vr.org. I'm using a Gentoo image. I emerged apache, php and mysql. Started apache and mysql. I added to httpd.conf
Code: |
Listen 209.177.157.239:80
|
and restarted apache. I got
Code: |
* Starting apache2 ...
apache2: apr_sockaddr_info_get() failed for serverdef
apache2: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.0.1 for ServerName
(98)Address already in use: make_sock: could not bind to address 209.177.157.239:80
no listening sockets available, shutting down
Unable to open logs
|
Without the Listen line, I get
Code: | * Starting apache2 ...
apache2: apr_sockaddr_info_get() failed for serverdef
apache2: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.0.1 for ServerName
|
Of course, unable to reach http://209.177.157.239. Not sure what I missed. I'm used to running LAMP at home on my home network (all I need is localhost or my home server's router-assigned IP address), so this is a little new for me. _________________ decibel Linux: https://decibellinux.org
Github: https://github.com/Gentoo-Music-and-Audio-Technology
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/decibellinux
Discord: https://discord.gg/73XV24dNPN |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
cach0rr0 Bodhisattva
![Bodhisattva Bodhisattva](/images/ranks/rank-bodhisattva.gif)
![](images/avatars/14936637654ee19d6630f96.gif)
Joined: 13 Nov 2008 Posts: 4123 Location: Houston, Republic of Texas
|
Posted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 11:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Code: |
(98)Address already in use: make_sock: could not bind to address 209.177.157.239:80
|
this one's going to kill things off nicely
do you have a specific need for Apache to only listen on that one IP? Or is it fine if it listens on all IP's on 80?
Also, you have Listen on publicip:80, but ServerName is defaulting to localhost
If you don't have a specific need to bind Apache only to that IP address:
in /etc/apache2/vhosts.d/00_default_vhost.conf
At any rate, try something like this:
Code: |
ServerName bauer.whitehathouston.com
|
in /etc/apache2/modules.d/00_default_settings.conf
Then shut down Apache, and check netstat -anp, make sure nothing *else* is listening on 80
If something else has it occupied, there's your problem
If not, go ahead and try to start up Apache. _________________ Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
audiodef Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/121230830564ba822c25c21.jpg)
Joined: 06 Jul 2005 Posts: 6656 Location: The soundosphere
|
Posted: Sat Apr 02, 2011 2:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
I opened the error log and found
Code: |
[Fri Apr 01 12:09:19 2011] [notice] Apache/2.2.17 (Unix) mod_ssl/2.2.17 OpenSSL/1.0.0d configured -- resuming normal operations
|
I did some searching and found some suggestions to disabling modules that are not needed. I noticed that apache started and I'm now able to access my server's IP address in a browser by commenting out the following line in httpd.conf:
Code: |
#LoadModule unique_id_module modules/mod_unique_id.so
|
What is this? _________________ decibel Linux: https://decibellinux.org
Github: https://github.com/Gentoo-Music-and-Audio-Technology
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/decibellinux
Discord: https://discord.gg/73XV24dNPN |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
cach0rr0 Bodhisattva
![Bodhisattva Bodhisattva](/images/ranks/rank-bodhisattva.gif)
![](images/avatars/14936637654ee19d6630f96.gif)
Joined: 13 Nov 2008 Posts: 4123 Location: Houston, Republic of Texas
|
Posted: Sat Apr 02, 2011 4:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
audiodef wrote: |
Code: |
#LoadModule unique_id_module modules/mod_unique_id.so
|
What is this? |
the fix, actually, in lieu of setting a ServerName directive
I can't believe I forgot about that, that mod_unique_id shit has been around for ages.
don't need it, but again setting your ServerName directive should also get past the issue _________________ Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
audiodef Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/121230830564ba822c25c21.jpg)
Joined: 06 Jul 2005 Posts: 6656 Location: The soundosphere
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|