View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
smite Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Southpark/avatar5.gif)
Joined: 22 Feb 2003 Posts: 266 Location: /dev/hda4
|
Posted: Thu Sep 18, 2003 11:49 pm Post subject: mount problems?? |
|
|
Hi, I recently bought a 120gig for a second computer and rather than copy all my data around, I thought it would be easy to keep it on as a slave and copy all the data locally, right?? It should be, but
Code: | mount -t ext3 /dev/hdd /mnt/oldstuff/ |
returns
Code: | mount: block device /dev/hdd is write-protected, mounting read-only
mount: No medium found |
I've tried all the tricks I know to no avail. I also tried to boot Knoppix and use it to retrieve my data, but it won't read my home dir. ![Crying or Very sad :cry:](images/smiles/icon_cry.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
chrisis Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 22 May 2003 Posts: 112 Location: Auckland
|
Posted: Fri Sep 19, 2003 12:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
You have to mount a PARTITION, not a drive:
Code: |
mount -t ext3 /dev/hdd1 /mnt/oldstuff
|
... assuming the data you're trying to get to is the first primary partition (hdd1) on the slave drive. _________________ But the situation seemed to call for witty repartee. "Huh?" I said. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
smite Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Southpark/avatar5.gif)
Joined: 22 Feb 2003 Posts: 266 Location: /dev/hda4
|
Posted: Fri Sep 19, 2003 12:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Before:
/dev/hda1
/dev/hda2
/dev/hda3
/dev/hda4
AFTER plugging in old drive:
/dev/hda1
/dev/hda2
/dev/hda3
/dev/hda4
/dev/hdb
/dev/hdc
/dev/hdd
There's only two drives. Why were the partitions of the old drive mistaken for physical drives? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
chrisis Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
Joined: 22 May 2003 Posts: 112 Location: Auckland
|
Posted: Fri Sep 19, 2003 10:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
YOu have to partition the new drive before you can use it... I assume you have done this?
Next, determine exactly what the drive names should be:
Primary Master = /dev/hda
Primary Slave = /dev/hdb
Secondary Master = /dev/hdc
Secondary Slave = /dev/hdd
Post here which of your drives is what, including your cdrom drive.
(ie, if the new 120gb is /dev/hda, then post: Primary Master = 120gb, etc)
Then we can look at what you can do to examine those disks properly. _________________ But the situation seemed to call for witty repartee. "Huh?" I said. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
travisau n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 06 Apr 2003 Posts: 63
|
Posted: Fri Sep 19, 2003 11:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
another quick thing you can try if you are not sure is this
fdisk /dev/hda
fdisk /dev/hdb
fdisk/dev/hdc
fdisk /dev/hdd
after you run each of these type p to print the partition talbe and try to determine which drive is which according to the size |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|