Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] RT2860 wireless does not work
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fzhouzh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Feb 2011
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 3:48 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] RT2860 wireless does not work Reply with quote

Hello, all

I have a desktop with an asus rt2860 wireless card. I tried it with 2.6.32 and 2.6.36-r5 kernel, selected the staging driver. I also downloaded the firmware rt2860.bin and put it in lib/firmware. But neither of them works. The problem is that right now, I can use
Code:
iwlist scan
to see the list of wireless networks. However, when I use
Code:
iwconfig wlan0 essid xyz key s:uvw
and then use
Code:
dhcpcd wlan0
, I can not get an ip address. The same network and password works fine with windows/ubunut 10.04. Also, I tried to use
Code:
iwconfig wlan0
to see the network configuration, regardless of what essid I used, the essid in the output is alway an empty string. I am now stuck. Thanks.

FYI: I am using gentoo amd64 not gentoo ia32, in case it matters.


Last edited by fzhouzh on Tue Mar 01, 2011 5:34 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jcTux
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Dec 2009
Posts: 276
Location: Tours, France

PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your are using a desktop environment, take a look at Wicd to manage wifi connections.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sent via an rt2860:
have you done
Code:
emerge wpa_supplicant emerge dhcpcd

post the output of
Code:
iwlist scan

Mine:
Quote:
wlan0 Scan completed :
Cell 01 - Address: xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
Protocol:802.11b/g/n
ESSID:"NETGEAR"
Mode:Managed
Channel:1
Quality:39/100 Signal level:-74 dBm Noise level:-71 dBm
Encryption key:on
Bit Rates:18 Mb/s
IE: WPA Version 1
Group Cipher : TKIP
Pairwise Ciphers (2) : CCMP TKIP
Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
Group Cipher : TKIP
Pairwise Ciphers (2) : CCMP TKIP
Authentication Suites (1) : PSK

My /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf:
Quote:
ctrl_interface=DIR=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel
update_config=1

network={
ssid="NETGEAR"
psk="xxxxxxxx"
proto=RSN
key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
pairwise=CCMP TKIP
auth_alg=OPEN
}


my /etc/conf.d/net:
Quote:
modules_wlan0=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext"
wpa_timeout_wlan0=15
modules_wlan0=( "dhcpcd" )
config_wlan0=( "dhcp" )
dhcpcd_wlan0="-t 10"

modules_eth0="ifconfig"
config_eth0="192.168.1.204 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.1.255"
routes_eth0="default via 192.168.1.1"
dns_servers="8.8.8.8"


if you emerge wpa_supplicant with the qt4 use flag set and have a GUI you get a handy graphical tool, wpa_gui for configuring wireless.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fzhouzh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Feb 2011
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wpa_supplicant caused the problem. I emerged it and now it works. I still have a little problems with bring it up on system start. But the major problem has been solved. Thanks a lot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 10:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
cd /etc/init.d
ln -s net.lo net.wlan0
rc-update add net.wlan0 default

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fzhouzh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Feb 2011
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did that. The problem is that on system start, the net.wlan0 complains to me that wlan0 is down, and
Code:
/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
seems not be read but wpa_supplicant, which complains that it can not find WEP key for xyz network. However, if I use command line
Code:
wpa_supplicant -Dwext -iwlan0 -c/etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
and then use
Code:
dhcpcd wlan0
, everything works just fine.

PS: I compiled the staging rt2860 driver as a module and loaded the module on system startup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sat Feb 26, 2011 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also have rt2860sta as a module and let udev load it at boot (/etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6 is empty).

RC_VERBOSE="yes" in /etc/conf.d/rc will give you more feedback.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 3:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No answer but-
ordinarily I use fixed IP.
I switched to dhcp as a check and appear to have duplicated your problem. Using dhcp, fails:
Quote:
~ # /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 restart
* Starting wlan0
* Loading networking modules for wlan0
* modules: apipa arping ccwgroup macchanger macnet rename ifplugd iwconfig essidnet iptunnel ifconfig system dhcpcd ip6to4
* ifplugd provides plug
* iwconfig provides wireless
* ifconfig provides interface
* dhcpcd provides dhcp
* Configuring wlan0 for MAC address 00:08:54:8D:6F:5B ... [ ok ]
* ifplugd does not work on wireless interfaces
* Configuring wireless network for wlan0
* Scanning for access points
* Found "NETGEAR" at E0:91:F5:B7:18:5B (managed, encrypted)
Error for wireless request "Set Mode" (8B06) :
SET failed on device wlan0 ; Network is down.
* wlan0 does not support setting the mode to "managed"
* WEP key is not set for "NETGEAR" - not connecting
* Couldn't associate with any access points on wlan0
* Failed to configure wireless for wlan0 [ !! ]
Using fixed IP, works:
Quote:
oddman ~ # /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 restart
* Caching service dependencies ...
* Service 'named' already provides 'dns'!;
* Not adding service 'named1'... [ ok ]
* Starting wlan0
* Loading networking modules for wlan0
* modules: apipa arping ccwgroup macchanger macnet rename ifplugd wpa_supplicant essidnet iptunnel ifconfig system dhcpcd ip6to4
* ifplugd provides plug
* wpa_supplicant provides wireless
* ifconfig provides interface
* dhcpcd provides dhcp
* Configuring wlan0 for MAC address 00:08:54:8D:6F:5B ... [ ok ]
* ifplugd does not work on wireless interfaces
* Starting wpa_supplicant on wlan0 ... [ ok ]
* Starting wpa_cli on wlan0 ... [ ok ]
* Waiting for association [ ok ]
* Backgrounding ...
If memory serves dhcp was working for me 2-3 months ago. Something happens in wpa_supplicant to shutdown wlan0, no idea what. this rig is using wpa_supplicant-0.7.3-r2. Another with an rt2870 and wpa_supplicant-0.7.3-r2 has no problem with dhcp.
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2678

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 3:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe that there is a bug in wpa_supplicant/dhcpcd
This thread https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-865327-highlight-.html has a similar problem and there is a bug report.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6920

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 2:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why aren't you using rt2800pci?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has not worked to and through kernel 2.6.37 by my experience.
Help says:[quote]│ CONFIG_RT2800PCI:
This adds support for rt2800/rt3000/rt3500 wireless chipset family.
Supported chips: RT2760, RT2790, RT2860, RT2880, RT2890 & RT3052
This driver is non-functional at the moment and is intended for
developers.

When compiled as a module, this driver will be called "rt2800pci.ko".
<snip>
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ant P.
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 18 Apr 2009
Posts: 6920

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been using it for my netbook's RT2860 since the middle of last year, haven't had any problems with it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2011 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mileage varies, I try it each major kernel and then curse
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fzhouzh
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Feb 2011
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Mar 01, 2011 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just tried rt2800pci. It works fine for me and I don't have problems with dhcp starting on system boot anymore. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum