Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
kde alsa 2.6 kernel question
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wallace1819
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 Aug 2002
Posts: 195
Location: VT

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2003 6:06 pm    Post subject: kde alsa 2.6 kernel question Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm attempting to emerge kdebase. I'm using the 2.6 kernel with the alsa drivers built in to my kernel. Do I need to still add the alsa flag in USE?

wallace
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
scriptkiddie
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Mar 2003
Posts: 955

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2003 8:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no it will automatically skip over it since 2.6 supports built in alsa
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roguelazer
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Feb 2003
Posts: 1233
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Fri Sep 19, 2003 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, you should.

Have
Code:
USE="alsa blah blah"


then do an
Code:
emerge -i alsa-driver && emerge alsa-util

_________________
Registered Linux User #263260
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rm-rf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jun 2003
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2003 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So wait, the steps are:

1) Make sure USE="alsa"
2) emerge -i alsa-driver && emerge -i alsa-util
3) emerge kde

I ask because I did something similar and alsa still does not work with kde & test5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deathdruid
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Jul 2002
Posts: 343
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2003 2:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rm-rf wrote:
2) emerge -i alsa-driver && emerge -i alsa-util


This should be:
Code:

# emerge -i alsa-driver && emerge alsa-util


like Roguelazer said. You don't want to emerge alsa-driver as it is already in your kernel, but you still need alsa utils so dont inject that.

As for why it does not work, do you get any error messages? Also, ALSA mutes sound by default so watch out. alsa-utils should set up a script that saves and restores your volumes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rm-rf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jun 2003
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun Sep 21, 2003 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, so I did that, or something similar, and now arts recognizes ALSA...but when I play something, nothing comes out!

I tried unmuting and setting levels with alsamixer and all that, but still no result....

I have tried using alsaplayer and mplayer, both say they are output-ing to ALSA 0.9.x and act like they are playing!?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum