Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
All network is dead after Baselayout2/OpenRC update
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MOROZ_FX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Sep 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2011 6:40 pm    Post subject: All network is dead after Baselayout2/OpenRC update Reply with quote

Any interface restart except net.lo causes the following:

Code:

# rc-service net.eth0 d start
/lib64/rc/sh/runscript.sh: line 13: .: /etc/init.d/../conf.d/.: is a directory
* .: error loading /etc/init.d/../conf.d/.
* WARNING: . is already starting


I've deleted and created symlinks to net.lo several times.
(system has the folowing intrefaces)
eth0
eth1
eth2
br0
wlan0
openvpn.office
ppp0


NONE OF THEM STARTS ..... BUT net.lo starts correctly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Mon May 09, 2011 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if your /etc/conf.d/net contains items in a format like
Quote:
modules_wlan1=( "wpa_supplicant" )
you need to eliminate ( space and space ) as in
Quote:
modules_wlan1="wpa_supplicant"
in all such items
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MOROZ_FX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Sep 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2011 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i've taken /etc/conf.d/net from /usr/share/doc/openrc/net.example the format is up to date
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2011 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it might be worthwhile to post the outputs of
Code:
ls -l /etc/init.d/net*
cat /etc/conf.d/net
/etc/init.d/net.eth0 restart
for a "fresh eye" check
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bor81
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Aug 2003
Posts: 68
Location: Kyiv, UA

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2011 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same issue with my own init.d script

IMHO
The problem in $RC_SVCNAME detect
In these situations VAR resolved as directory where located script

I trying make more investigation...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bor81
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Aug 2003
Posts: 68
Location: Kyiv, UA

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2011 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my problem here
https://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=350910
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MOROZ_FX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Sep 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2011 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bor81 wrote:
I have the same issue with my own init.d script

IMHO
The problem in $RC_SVCNAME detect
In these situations VAR resolved as directory where located script

I trying make more investigation...


looks like that the problem is in $RC_SVCNAME detect, but in my case the symlink is in the same directory as the target

May be it is because i use ru_RU.UTF-8 locale?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MOROZ_FX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Sep 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2011 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

crap ... i've found the bug. (openrc devevelopers should kill themselves)

if you make symlink this way

Code:
ln -s ./net.lo ./net.f**k_openrc


your system goes crasy and stops launching init scrips correctly because of ./ in the name. Previous init system did everything correct in this case

and if you make like this

Code:
ln -s net.lo net.f**k_openrc


your system does everything correct.

This is so stupid bug that i even won't spend my time posting it to bugzilla.

It seems that openrc was not even tested before making it stable.


Last edited by MOROZ_FX on Wed May 11, 2011 4:13 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Carnildo
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Jun 2004
Posts: 595

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2011 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MOROZ_FX wrote:
This is so stupid bug that i even won't spend my time posting it to bugzilla.

If you don't send it to bugzilla, how do you expect it to be fixed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2011 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perhaps the quote from the migration guide matches the performance determined to work:
Quote:
Network

Due to baselayout and OpenRC being broken into two different packages, your net.eth0 initscript may disappear during the upgrade process. To replace this initscript please perform the following:

Code Listing 2.9: Adding back missing net.eth0 script
# cd /etc/init.d
# ln -s net.lo net.eth0

If you are missing any other network initscripts, follow the instructions above to re-add them. Simply replace eth0 with the name of your network device.

Also, /etc/conf.d/net (oldnet) no longer uses bash-style arrays for configuration. Please review /usr/share/doc/openrc-<version>/net.example for configuration instructions. Conversion should be relatively straight-forward, converting to newlines for seperate entries, for example a static IP assignment would change as follows:

Code Listing 2.10: Old /etc/conf.d/net style
config_eth0=( "192.168.1.37 netmask 255.255.255.0 brd 192.168.1.255" )
routes_eth0=( "default via 192.168.1.100" "10.0.0.0/8 via 192.168.1.2" )
Code Listing 2.11: New /etc/conf.d/net style
config_eth0="192.168.1.37 netmask 255.255.255.0 brd 192.168.1.255"
routes_eth0="default via 192.168.1.100
10.0.0.0/8 via 192.168.1.2"

_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MOROZ_FX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 Sep 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Wed May 11, 2011 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is defenetly a bug because:

1. ./net.eth0 and net.eth0 are identical symliks (they point the same file)
2. previous init system worked well with ./net.eth0
3. new system MUST NOT break previous one. In my case it breaks

The openrc does not handle path correctly ... and Bor81 posts proves this also

And i've posted a Bug 366819
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum