Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,0) [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lunita
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Feb 2011
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2011 12:06 am    Post subject: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,0) [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hi all,

I'm on a I3 64 bits proc, on a Sony Vaio. When I boot the system, I have the error:

Cannot open root device 'sda4' or unknown-block(0,0)
Please append a correct "root=" boot option: here are the available partitions:
Kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: Unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,0)

So, I know it's a very common error, but I can't find the solution for my case, I can't determine the source of the problem. I think that the kernel can't find the disk, it sounds like this.

I have 4 partitions,
sda1 :: /boot
sda2 :: swap
sda3 :: /home
sda4 :: /

All in ext4 except swap.

My grub.conf
root(hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/$kernel root=/dev/sda4

I've check that the name of the kernel is placed on /usr/src and the link linux is pointing on it.

Most solutions relationed with this error are from config, but I tryed several (hd instead of sd, the boot partition, but not response).

lspci:

Sata controller

I tried genkernel, but same result....

Any tips?

Thanks in advance...


Last edited by lunita on Sun Jun 12, 2011 11:54 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cach0rr0
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 4123
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2011 12:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

your grub.conf and fstab are correct to use sda4

the unknown block 0,0 means the kernel was built without your HDD controller driver
the fact that it even gets that far means grub.conf is fine
so, you will need to rebuild the kernel to include the correct driver, copy it over to /boot, update grub.conf if needed, and reboot

first two links in my signature should get you started
_________________
Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2011 1:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

enter the chroot
Code:
emerge pciutils wgetpaste
lspci -k | wgetpaste
wgetpaste /usr/src/linux/.config
post url's returned
is your sata controller in ahci mode in bios?
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lunita
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Feb 2011
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2011 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DONAHUE wrote:
enter the chroot
Code:
emerge pciutils wgetpaste
lspci -k | wgetpaste
wgetpaste /usr/src/linux/.config
post url's returned
is your sata controller in ahci mode in bios?



Thank for your posts, I think I saw the light :D

I changed some M to * in the config following a Gentoo Wiki for Sata devices and the comment about AHCI. But there's another trouble:

00:1f.2 SATA controller: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset 4 port SATA AHCI Controller (rev 05)

When I enable AHCI support built in, the kernel loads but hangs at 'freeing unusued kernel memory: Xk freed'

I was searching about this error, and some people fixed this setting this param. as module. If I do that, I have the unknown... etc... eror on kernel load, as the beginging. With built in AHCI param, finds the sd particins.

Also I tryed the irqpoll setting at grub.conf.

I didn't see the AHCI param at BIOS....

Any help?

Thanks a lot =)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DONAHUE
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 09 Dec 2006
Posts: 7651
Location: Goose Creek SC

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2011 3:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

do this https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-880149.html
_________________
Defund the FCC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cach0rr0
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 4123
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2011 3:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

modules reside on your root partition under /lib

if the driver for your hard disk is a module, it's like having a scuba mask, but putting it at the bottom of the ocean - you can make it to the bottom of the ocean to get your scuba mask, if only you had a scuba mask that would enable you to get to the bottom of the ocean!

for your disk driver, and for the filesystem driver that you use for your root partition, these need to be built-in, always, unless you use an initramfs and put the modules inside the initramfs (you dont need an initramfs except in special circumstances, and this is not one)

so, make the AHCI SATA driver a built-in, and let us troubleshoot from there.
the first suggestion I would make, boot from your livecd, chroot in as per the handbook, then rc-update add udev sysinit, then rebuild your kernel to make sure AHCI SATA is a built-in, then reboot. If you have any errors, post them with as much detail as you can
_________________
Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lunita
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Feb 2011
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2011 11:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cach0rr0 wrote:
modules reside on your root partition under /lib

if the driver for your hard disk is a module, it's like having a scuba mask, but putting it at the bottom of the ocean - you can make it to the bottom of the ocean to get your scuba mask, if only you had a scuba mask that would enable you to get to the bottom of the ocean!

for your disk driver, and for the filesystem driver that you use for your root partition, these need to be built-in, always, unless you use an initramfs and put the modules inside the initramfs (you dont need an initramfs except in special circumstances, and this is not one)

so, make the AHCI SATA driver a built-in, and let us troubleshoot from there.
the first suggestion I would make, boot from your livecd, chroot in as per the handbook, then rc-update add udev sysinit, then rebuild your kernel to make sure AHCI SATA is a built-in, then reboot. If you have any errors, post them with as much detail as you can



Good news!

I followed this howto

http://forums-web1.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-6709377.html?sid=86ec6f490268087bd9feb84fc7071dad

And recreated the /dev/null file.

I have the system up! :DD

THanks a lot guys!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum