Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
useflags trouble
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
arjend
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Location: Rotterdam NL

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 9:45 pm    Post subject: useflags trouble Reply with quote

Well this is my first post here since i'm trying to install Gentoo as a desktop. This is my first experience with Gentoo and it took me a whole weekend to get the minimalbase system compiled (had to retry a few times. :oops:
Normally I'm running Debian, so I think Gentoo is a very nice challenge for me.

But now, while installing xorg-server I keep getting errors about 3 useflags, X, acpi and another one i can't remember right now. I added them to my /etc/make.conf file. But running emerge again results in exactly the same error. I must be missing something but I can't find out what exactly. Could someone help me in the right direction? Because im on another machine I'm not able to post my make.conf, but I used the Gentoo-provided-howto to set it up.

Thanks in advance!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10590
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@arjend,

Welcome to Gentoo. Before you have your desktop environment up, you can use wgetpaste to post things for us to help you troubleshoot:
Code:
emerge wgetpaste
wgetpaste /etc/make.conf
Just post the URL that wgetpaste produces. :wink:

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Biert
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Sep 2006
Posts: 45
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It would be useful to know what errors exactly you are getting.

Maybe your use flags are overridden? You should know there are essentially 3 places where use flags can be set: in your profile (type "eselect profile list" to see which are available and which is selected), in /etc/make.conf, and in /etc/portage/package.use

If you're using one of the desktop profiles, X and acpi should be enabled by default I think.

Also keep in mind that prefixing a use flag with - disables it, no prefix enables. At first this seemed counter-intuitive to me, comparing with command line conventions. So make sure your make.conf has USE="X acpi ...", not USE="-X -acpi ...".

Maybe you could try adding "--autounmask-write" to emerge's options. It's supposed to automatically unmask any masked packages needed for the emerge job. Maybe it works for use flags too, I'm not sure.
_________________
http://www.last.fm/user/Biert/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arjend
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Location: Rotterdam NL

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks! well here it is

Code:

# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically
# built this stage.
# Please consult /usr/share/portage/config/make.conf.example for a more
# detailed example.
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=i686 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
# WARNING: Changing your CHOST is not something that should be done lightly.
# Please consult http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/change-chost.xml before changing.
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
INPUT_DEVICES="evdev synaptics"
VIDEO_CARDS="via"

USE="udev hal X acpi crypt -apm -debug -dell -disk-partition
-doc -laptop (-selinux)"
 


Forgot to mention, the -apm -debug, etc are also flags from the error outputs, hal acpi and crypt are the ones I had to add.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Biert
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Sep 2006
Posts: 45
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

arjend wrote:
Thanks! well here it is

Code:

# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically
# built this stage.
# Please consult /usr/share/portage/config/make.conf.example for a more
# detailed example.
CFLAGS="-O2 -march=i686 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
# WARNING: Changing your CHOST is not something that should be done lightly.
# Please consult http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/change-chost.xml before changing.
CHOST="i686-pc-linux-gnu"
INPUT_DEVICES="evdev synaptics"
VIDEO_CARDS="via"

USE="udev hal X acpi crypt -apm -debug -dell -disk-partition
-doc -laptop (-selinux)"
 


Forgot to mention, the -apm -debug, etc are also flags from the error outputs, hal acpi and crypt are the ones I had to add.

I don't think parenthesis are allowed in the USE variable, I think that will throw an error and not set USE at all. Try "-selinux" instead. Also, make sure all your use flags are on one line, if you want it to span multiple lines, add a \ before the newline.

When emerge states a use flag in parenthesis, this means the flag in unavailable (just removed, or disabled in the profile or something). It doesn't mean you have to include the parenthesis in your USE variable.
_________________
http://www.last.fm/user/Biert/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arjend
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Location: Rotterdam NL

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Biert wrote:
It would be useful to know what errors exactly you are getting.

Maybe your use flags are overridden? You should know there are essentially 3 places where use flags can be set: in your profile (type "eselect profile list" to see which are available and which is selected), in /etc/make.conf, and in /etc/portage/package.use

If you're using one of the desktop profiles, X and acpi should be enabled by default I think.

Also keep in mind that prefixing a use flag with - disables it, no prefix enables. At first this seemed counter-intuitive to me, comparing with command line conventions. So make sure your make.conf has USE="X acpi ...", not USE="-X -acpi ...".

Maybe you could try adding "--autounmask-write" to emerge's options. It's supposed to automatically unmask any masked packages needed for the emerge job. Maybe it works for use flags too, I'm not sure.


Thanks Biert,

It is difficult to get the exact error. emerge.log only reports 'exiting unsuccesfully with status 1'.

I selected the desktop profile (not gnome/KDE) during the basesystem installation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arjend
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Location: Rotterdam NL

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Biert wrote:


When emerge states a use flag in parenthesis, this means the flag in unavailable (just removed, or disabled in the profile or something). It doesn't mean you have to include the parenthesis in your USE variable.


No differences i'm afraid, changed it in the make.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Biert
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Sep 2006
Posts: 45
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

arjend wrote:
Biert wrote:


When emerge states a use flag in parenthesis, this means the flag in unavailable (just removed, or disabled in the profile or something). It doesn't mean you have to include the parenthesis in your USE variable.


No differences i'm afraid, changed it in the make.conf

Have you run emerge --sync since installation? On my system, the hal useflag is long gone. What is the version of xorg-server you are trying to emerge?
_________________
http://www.last.fm/user/Biert/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10590
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2011 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@arjend,

Add the following lines to your /etc/make.conf and the emerge build log will be saved and you can wgetpaste it:
Code:
PORT_LOGDIR=/var/log/portage
PORTAGE_ELOG_CLASSES="info warn error log"
PORTAGE_ELOG_SYSTEM="save"
I forget whether or not the log directory is created automatically so run
Code:
mkdir -p /var/log/portage
as well.

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arjend
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Location: Rotterdam NL

PostPosted: Tue Jul 12, 2011 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks John and Biert for the support so far. I used your expertise and now xorg-server is emerging. I used the autounmask function and ran update-etc, emerged again and that seemed to solve the problem for now.

I will keep you posted!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum