View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
petteyg359 n00b
Joined: 30 Apr 2005 Posts: 61
|
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 2:10 pm Post subject: ath9k and hostapd |
|
|
I'm trying to set up some small systems to act as 802.11n APs. I don't need routing or anything, I just need them to handle 802.11n connections, since there's no ad-hoc mode for 802.11n. I've installed hostapd, and configured it, but am having problems. If I configure it for WPA, the WPA IEs aren't in the broadcast, so clients think they're connecting to a WEP station, and fail to associate. If I remove WPA from the config, clients fail to associate altogether:
Code: | Jul 22 14:01:14 wurm NetworkManager[2321]: <info> Activation (wlan0) Stage 2 of 5 (Device Configure) starting...
Jul 22 14:01:14 wurm NetworkManager[2321]: <info> (wlan0): device state change: 4 -> 5 (reason 0)
Jul 22 14:01:14 wurm NetworkManager[2321]: <info> Activation (wlan0/wireless): connection 'testingnet' requires no security. No secrets needed.
Jul 22 14:01:14 wurm NetworkManager[2321]: <info> Config: added 'ssid' value 'testingnet'
Jul 22 14:01:14 wurm NetworkManager[2321]: <info> Config: added 'scan_ssid' value '1'
Jul 22 14:01:14 wurm NetworkManager[2321]: <info> Config: added 'key_mgmt' value 'WPA-PSK'
Jul 22 14:01:14 wurm NetworkManager[2321]: <info> Config: added 'psk' value '<omitted>'
Jul 22 14:01:14 wurm NetworkManager[2321]: <info> Activation (wlan0) Stage 2 of 5 (Device Configure) complete.
Jul 22 14:01:14 wurm NetworkManager[2321]: <info> Config: set interface ap_scan to 1
Jul 22 14:01:14 wurm NetworkManager[2321]: <info> (wlan0): supplicant connection state: inactive -> scanning
Jul 22 14:01:39 wurm NetworkManager[2321]: <warn> Activation (wlan0/wireless): association took too long, failing activation.
Jul 22 14:01:39 wurm NetworkManager[2321]: <info> (wlan0): device state change: 5 -> 9 (reason 11)
Jul 22 14:01:39 wurm NetworkManager[2321]: <warn> Activation (wlan0) failed for access point (swuresearch)
Jul 22 14:01:39 wurm NetworkManager[2321]: <info> Marking connection 'testingnet' invalid.
Jul 22 14:01:39 wurm NetworkManager[2321]: <warn> Activation (wlan0) failed.
Jul 22 14:01:39 wurm NetworkManager[2321]: <info> (wlan0): device state change: 9 -> 3 (reason 0)
Jul 22 14:01:39 wurm NetworkManager[2321]: <info> (wlan0): deactivating device (reason: 0). |
No luck with wpa_supplicant or even iwconfig.
hostapd.conf:
Code: | ctrl_interface=/var/run/hostapd
ctrl_interface_group=0
interface=wlan0
driver=nl80211
hw_mode=g
ssid=testingnet
channel=6
auth_algs=1
wpa=0
#wpa_key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
#wpa_pairwise=TKIP
#rsn_pairwise=CCMP
#wpa_passphrase=testingnet
logger_stdout=-1
logger_stdout_level=2
logger_syslog=-1
logger_syslog_level=2
wmm_enabled=1
ieee80211n=1
ht_capab=[HT20][HT40-][HT40+][SHORT-GI-40][DSSS_CCK-40][TX-STBC][RX-STBC1] |
Is there something obviously wrong with the configuration, or am I running into some obscure ath9k issue, or what? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rufnut Apprentice
Joined: 16 May 2005 Posts: 252
|
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2011 3:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
try some of my settings:
Code: |
interface=wlan0
driver=nl80211
logger_syslog=-1
logger_syslog_level=2
logger_stdout=-1
logger_stdout_level=2
dump_file=/tmp/hostapd.dump
ctrl_interface=/var/run/hostapd
ctrl_interface_group=0
ssid=WLAN
country_code=AU
hw_mode=g
channel=5
beacon_int=100
dtim_period=2
max_num_sta=255
rts_threshold=2347
fragm_threshold=2346
macaddr_acl=0
auth_algs=3
ignore_broadcast_ssid=0
tx_queue_data3_aifs=7
tx_queue_data3_cwmin=15
tx_queue_data3_cwmax=1023
tx_queue_data3_burst=0
tx_queue_data2_aifs=3
tx_queue_data2_cwmin=15
tx_queue_data2_cwmax=63
tx_queue_data2_burst=0
tx_queue_data1_aifs=1
tx_queue_data1_cwmin=7
tx_queue_data1_cwmax=15
tx_queue_data1_burst=3.0
tx_queue_data0_aifs=1
tx_queue_data0_cwmin=3
tx_queue_data0_cwmax=7
tx_queue_data0_burst=1.5
tx_queue_after_beacon_aifs=2
tx_queue_after_beacon_cwmin=15
tx_queue_after_beacon_cwmax=1023
tx_queue_after_beacon_burst=0
tx_queue_beacon_aifs=2
tx_queue_beacon_cwmin=3
tx_queue_beacon_cwmax=7
tx_queue_beacon_burst=1.5
wmm_enabled=1
wmm_ac_bk_cwmin=4
wmm_ac_bk_cwmax=10
wmm_ac_bk_aifs=7
wmm_ac_bk_txop_limit=0
wmm_ac_bk_acm=0
wmm_ac_be_aifs=3
wmm_ac_be_cwmin=4
wmm_ac_be_cwmax=10
wmm_ac_be_txop_limit=0
wmm_ac_be_acm=0
wmm_ac_vi_aifs=2
wmm_ac_vi_cwmin=3
wmm_ac_vi_cwmax=4
wmm_ac_vi_txop_limit=94
wmm_ac_vi_acm=0
wmm_ac_vo_aifs=2
wmm_ac_vo_cwmin=2
wmm_ac_vo_cwmax=3
wmm_ac_vo_txop_limit=47
wmm_ac_vo_acm=0
ieee80211n=1
ht_capab=[HT40-][SHORT-GI-40][DSSS_CCK-40]
eapol_key_index_workaround=0
eap_server=0
own_ip_addr=127.0.0.1
wpa=11
wpa_passphrase=xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
wpa_key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
wpa_pairwise=CCMP
rsn_pairwise=CCMP
|
It has been so long I cannot remember what they all do.
good luck |
|
Back to top |
|
|
petteyg359 n00b
Joined: 30 Apr 2005 Posts: 61
|
Posted: Tue Jul 26, 2011 7:09 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I isolated the problem to the ht_capab line. Using the new line, it works. I removed the - from HT40, despite everything online and Gentoo's installed example config saying to use [HT40-] and/or [HT40+], it only works with [HT40].
ht_capab=[HT20][HT40][SHORT-GI-40][DSSS_CCK-40][TX-STBC][RX-STBC1]
relevant section of iw list:
Code: |
HT20/HT40
SM Power Save disabled
RX HT40 SGI
TX STBC
RX STBC 1-stream
Max AMSDU length: 3839 bytes
DSSS/CCK HT40
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
rufnut Apprentice
Joined: 16 May 2005 Posts: 252
|
Posted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 2:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
glad you found the problem.
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|