Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo is getting almost impossible to keep working...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
cayenne
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2011 11:25 pm    Post subject: Gentoo is getting almost impossible to keep working... Reply with quote

Just venting here...but WOW.

I've been using Gentoo since about 2002. And used to have relatively little problems with keeping a working system.

I'd been away from it for a few years...and something has just drastically changed...dunno if it is so much more complex or what. But anytime I have a Gentoo box, that seems to go for greater than 4mos without an update of world or system...it is almost impossible to bring the darned thing back up to date.

Every time I seem to do an update world....I have tons of cr@p that is blocked, have to weed through all of those....if there is a kde update in the mix, that is another headache...
I just discovered this new autounmask thing, and found out on a forum that you really don't want to use the USE flags in make.conf anymore.....etc, etc etc.

I dunno...like I said, just seemed to be easier to maintain a Gentoo system, emerge packages you wanted, dependencies taken care of by the system 99% of the time. But these days, if I emerge world....something blows up...which after researching and asking on forums, leads to finding something else blowing up (run a rev-dep rebuild, and something there won't work and have to troubleshoot those dependencies)..

Is it just me?

Thanks for letting me vent...

cayenne :evil: :evil:
BradN
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2011 12:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote