View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Ignatius881 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2011 Posts: 96 Location: Oviedo
|
Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 12:45 pm Post subject: modprobe and iwconfig at boot (SOLVED) |
|
|
Hello.
Well, I don't want to write these commands everytime I boot my system. And I want to know if there is a way to automatize the process.
This is what I have to write after login:
Code: | modprobe -r rt2800usb rt2x00usb rt2x00lib
modprobe rt2800usb
iwconfig wlan0 essid MY_ESSID key s:MY_KEY
ifconfig wlan0 up
dhcpcd wlan0 |
Thanks in advance.
Last edited by Ignatius881 on Sun Dec 18, 2011 8:42 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54827 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 1:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ignatius881,
Since you are using wireless-tools you can add the configuration to /etc/init.d/net
There is a fully commented example at /usr/share/doc/openrc-0.9.4/net.example.bz2
To automate what you have written (you should not need to) put the commands into a file in /etc/local.d/ with a file name ending in .start.
Read the script /etc/init.d/local to see whats going on. Essentaily, all files in /etc/local.d/ with names ending in .start are run at startup.
Files ending in .stop are run at shutdown _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ignatius881 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2011 Posts: 96 Location: Oviedo
|
Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 3:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks, it seems that it's working well |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ignatius881 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2011 Posts: 96 Location: Oviedo
|
Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
No, sorry, I was wrong.
I created the file /etc/local.d/wifi.start with these commands, including the dhcpcd wlan0, and I still have to activate manually the connection, either writing ifconfig wlan0 up or writing everything. And I also wrote these commands in /etc/init.d/net.
Apart from that, when booting, a message about wpa_supplicant appears.
Code: | * Bringing up interface wlan0
* Starting wpa_supplicant on wlan0 ...
* /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf not found [ !! ]
* ERROR: net.wlan0 failed to start |
But I neither installed wpa_supplicant (I use a WEP key) nor specified the use of wpa_supplicant in any file.
I use wicd and added it to boot with rc-update. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54827 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 7:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ignatius881,
Something has installed wpa-supplicant for you because its trying to start but can't because its configuration file is missing.
If you use wicd, you must not start any network services with the normal gentoo network scripts because wicd and teh scripts will both try to do something simalar at the same time. Neither will work.
You should ensure that only the net.lo script exixts in /etc/init.d/
Do you really mean that wicd has been added to the boot runlevel or the defualt runlevel?
net.lo is the only network interface that should be in the boot runlevel. All the others and wicd should be in defualt. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ignatius881 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2011 Posts: 96 Location: Oviedo
|
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 8:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | Ignatius881,
Something has installed wpa-supplicant for you because its trying to start but can't because its configuration file is missing.
If you use wicd, you must not start any network services with the normal gentoo network scripts because wicd and teh scripts will both try to do something simalar at the same time. Neither will work.
You should ensure that only the net.lo script exixts in /etc/init.d/
Do you really mean that wicd has been added to the boot runlevel or the defualt runlevel?
net.lo is the only network interface that should be in the boot runlevel. All the others and wicd should be in defualt. |
Mmm, I've put wicd in boot level because the wiki says that: http://en.gentoo-wiki.com/wiki/Wicd
OK, I'll delete all lines with modprobe and so on of those files which I created, /etc/local.d/wifi.start and /etc/init.d/net, and I also delete the net.eth0 and net.wlan0 files, if I've understood well. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ignatius881 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 04 Apr 2011 Posts: 96 Location: Oviedo
|
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 8:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks a lot, now I can say that it works perfectly |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|