Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Boot startup wireless
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
yermandu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2009
Posts: 12
Location: Shamballa

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 1:58 pm    Post subject: Boot startup wireless Reply with quote

How i can start up my wireless card wlan0 at init system?

The idea is when the PC reaches the login screen, my connection has already been wifi ready.

Im using NetworkManager to control wlan0.

:?:
_________________
[yermandu]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mahdi1234
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Feb 2005
Posts: 559
Location: Being There

PostPosted: Sat Dec 17, 2011 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can add any service to whatever init runlevel with
Code:
rc-update add <service> <runlevel>
e.g. in you case could be
Code:
rc-update add net.wlan0 default
if you wanted to add it to the default level.

You can get more info here - http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/handbook/handbook-x86.xml?part=2&chap=4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WvR
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Mar 2011
Posts: 200
Location: Tsuruga, Japan

PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You may need to set the net.wlan0 link in /etc:

Code:
name@host> cd /etc
name@host> ln net.eth0 net.wlan0
name@host> rc-update add net.wlan0 default
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wizulis
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Nov 2010
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 7:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The latest versions of NetworkManager starts connecting to known wireless right after the service starts. So, at least for me, as i finished login, i have a fully working network. Don't know if the network is already available at gdm screen, but i think it would be connected to how fast you boot and how fast is the the network card initiated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yermandu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2009
Posts: 12
Location: Shamballa

PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright i can understand now how to set up wlan0.

But, i was thinking in to power on the interface, because the init work only if i turn on manual the device.

Maybe is something to set in kernel configuration? Or power management. You have some tips?
_________________
[yermandu]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WvR
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Mar 2011
Posts: 200
Location: Tsuruga, Japan

PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yermandu:

If you use Network Manager, can you connect with your wireless card to your network? If yes, then the hardware and the kernel are configured correctly, if not, you need to do some more work.

In my case, I have

Code:
name@host> rc-update add net.wlan0 default


Then, when I start up my laptop, the network card is started. But that is not all! Because you also need to set the configuration of your wireless card in /etc/conf.d/net. In my case:

Code:

# This blank configuration will automatically use DHCP for any net.*
# scripts in /etc/init.d.  To create a more complete configuration,
# please review /etc/conf.d/net.example and save your configuration
# in /etc/conf.d/net (this file :]!).

# modules_eth0=( "ifconfig" )
# config_eth0=( "128.61.140.185 netmask 255.255.255.0" )
# routes_eth0=( "default gw 128.61.140.1" )
# dns_servers_eth0=( "130.207.244.251 130.207.244.244" )

config_eth0="dhcp"

modules_wlan0="wpa_supplicant"
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext"
config_wlan0="dhcp"


This tells the PC to use "wpa_supplicant" to manage the hardware, to use the "wext" driver, and to use dhcp to set the IP of the card. To use wpa_supplicant, you need to set some information in /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf:

Code:
# This is a network block that connects to any unsecured access point.
# We give it a low priority so any defined blocks are preferred.
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=wheel
ap_scan=1

network={
        ssid="my_ssid"
        psk="my_psk"
}


Depending on the hardware of your laptop, you may need different drivers, and depending on your wireless router, you may need different settings in /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

If you set something like this, the card is automatically started. If you use Network Manager, then NM will take care of these settings for you, but only after you log in and you manually set NM to the correct values.

Let us know if this works; if your card does not work at all, then you need to set the kernel parameters to the correct values.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yermandu
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Oct 2009
Posts: 12
Location: Shamballa

PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2011 9:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow WvR

Nice, but i think is my hard problem, the card is start only manually , the led confirm ...

Answering the questions:

Quote:
If you use Network Manager, can you connect with your wireless card to your network? If yes, then the hardware and the kernel are configured correctly, if not, you need to do some more work.

Yes i can connect with wlan0 to my network. But i can do it only if i turn on my card in the painel button, i have a laptop.

Im thinking in a way to turn on card at boot process. Some idea?
_________________
[yermandu]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum