Initscript dependencies for mdadm raid, luks
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Havin_it
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 10:59 am    Post subject: Initscript dependencies for mdadm raid, luks Reply with quote

Hi all,

I've configured a new home server with some mdadm RAID5 arrays, one of which also has luks encrypted partitions (with keyfiles) on top. On it I'll be running a bunch of services that must not start until these volumes are available. I have some experience with init dependencies, so I know about using rc_servicename_need="otherservice" in /etc/rc.conf, but I've not used mdadm or dmcrypt before, so I'm not certain I'm doing things right at that level.

I already have mdadm and dmcrypt in the boot runlevel, but the mdadm seems to already have a default dependency on dmcrypt, when I'd have thought they should be the other way round. Also, what does the mdraid initscript do? Should I use that too? Nothing seems to indicate this script's role. The arrays have so far come up reliably through autodetection anyway...

Essentially, what do I need to ensure 100% that the RAIDs are correctly started, and the luks volumes on top of them correctly mounted, before $otherservices will start?

Thanks in advance :D

Update: what I have learned so far is that the luks mappings can't be auto-mounted just by putting them in fstab. Nor does putting post_mount='mount /dev/mapper/my_mapping' for each one in /etc/conf.d/dmcrypt. Perhaps I need to actually add my own initscript to take care of this and have other stuff depend on that?