View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
schrdlu n00b
Joined: 01 Nov 2009 Posts: 61 Location: Adelaide Sth Australia
|
Posted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 7:51 am Post subject: grub2 |
|
|
Hi ,have (last night ) updated the system ,in which grub2-beta was compiled.
I did a grub2-install,last night before shutting down. forgot to remake the grub-config,so consequently all I got today was a grub prompt. after about 2 hrs I managed to get the command line accurate enough to get a system running.
Ran grub2-mkconfig,which updated the grub.cfg, supposedly successful, not true.
Any one got an idea as to what is needed to be done,as I suspect I'm going to have the same hassle with my x86,as this was updated at the same time.
The man files for grub2 are also missing,so this complicates things also. So unless there is no other way I gues I'll have to go back to legacy grub.
Geoff |
|
Back to top |
|
|
keenblade Veteran
Joined: 03 Oct 2004 Posts: 1087
|
Posted: Fri Mar 02, 2012 4:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Probably, if you provide some info like partition table, fstab and the error messages from grub2, people can help. there is not much complicated thing for grub2 since it has helpers to automate things nicely. Dont forget to install "sys-boot/os-prober" for automatic OS detection. Generally the procedure is:
Code: |
to install in mbr (recommended):
# grub2-install /dev/sda
or to install on a partition:
$ grub2-install --force /dev/sda3
then create the config:
# grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
|
Also if you need initramfs, install "sys-kernel/dracut". It will create initramfs in your /boot:
Code: |
# dracut /boot/initramfs-x86_64-3.2.5-gentoo.img 3.2.5-gentoo
|
_________________ Anyway it's all the same at the end...
Need help to get it working: "x-fi surround 5.1" |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Khumarahn Apprentice
Joined: 17 Apr 2009 Posts: 199
|
Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 2:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
I upgraded to grub-2.00_beta0
Can't make it work This is going to be a long and detailed post. Any help is appreciated.
Now I chroot from ubuntu live usb in UEFI mode, and do:
Code: |
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo -i
root@ubuntu:~# mkdir /mnt/gentoo
root@ubuntu:~# mount /dev/sda2 /mnt/gentoo/
root@ubuntu:~# cp -L /etc/resolv.conf /mnt/gentoo/etc/
root@ubuntu:~# mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc
root@ubuntu:~# mount --rbind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev
root@ubuntu:~# mount --rbind /sys /mnt/gentoo/sys
root@ubuntu:~# chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
ubuntu / # env-update
>>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...
ubuntu / # source /etc/profile
ubuntu / # export PS1="(chroot) $PS1"
(chroot) ubuntu / # emerge -pv grub
These are the packages that would be merged, in order:
Calculating dependencies... done!
[ebuild R *] sys-boot/grub-2.00_beta0 USE="nls sdl truetype -custom-cflags -debug -device-mapper -efiemu -libzfs -mount -static" GRUB_PLATFORMS="efi-64 -coreboot -efi-32 -emu -ieee1275 -multiboot -pc -qemu -qemu-mips -yeeloong" 0 kB
Total: 1 package (1 reinstall), Size of downloads: 0 kB
|
I try following guides
http://dev.gentoo.org/~scarabeus/grub-2-guide.xml
http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/GRUB2
Code: |
(chroot) ubuntu / # mount /boot
(chroot) ubuntu boot # parted -l
Model: ATA Corsair Force 3 (scsi)
Disk /dev/sda: 60.0GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: gpt
Number Start End Size File system Name Flags
1 1049kB 467MB 466MB fat32 boot
2 467MB 60.0GB 59.6GB ext4
Model: ATA ST3500418AS (scsi)
Disk /dev/sdb: 500GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: msdos
Number Start End Size Type File system Flags
1 1049kB 106MB 105MB primary ntfs boot
2 106MB 52.4GB 52.3GB primary ntfs
3 52.4GB 62.1GB 9664MB primary linux-swap(v1)
4 62.1GB 500GB 438GB primary ext4
Model: Kingston DT 101 II (scsi)
Disk /dev/sdc: 8015MB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/512B
Partition Table: msdos
Number Start End Size Type File system Flags
1 31.7kB 8013MB 8013MB primary fat32 boot, lba
|
I am trying to install grub2 on /dev/sda, /dev/sda1 is a /boot partition in fat32, and /dev/sda2 is my system in ext4. On a /deb/sdb lives /home and windows.
This is what I got:
Code: |
(chroot) ubuntu boot # cd /boot/
(chroot) ubuntu boot # ls
kernel-3.2.5-gentoo splash.png
(chroot) ubuntu boot # mkdir grub2
(chroot) ubuntu boot # mkdir -p EFI/BOOT
(chroot) ubuntu boot # grub2-efi-64-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg
Generating grub.cfg ...
Found linux image: /boot/kernel-3.2.5-gentoo
done
(chroot) ubuntu boot # grub2-efi-64-install --root-directory=/boot --bootloader-id=GRUB2 --recheck --debug
source_dir doesn'\''t exist. Please specify --target or --directory
|
Here I don't exactly understand what the problem is. I tried running it with --directory=/usr/lib/grub/x86_64-efi , but then strangely enough on boot my 'GRUB2' loader would start windows from /dev/sdb2. What is --target? Reading man doesn't answer this...
This is what I do:
Code: |
(chroot) ubuntu boot # cp /usr/lib/grub/x86_64-efi/* /boot/grub2/
(chroot) ubuntu boot # grub2-efi-64-mkimage -p /grub2 -o /boot/grub2/grub.efi -O x86_64-efi part_msdos part_gpt fat normal ext2
(chroot) ubuntu boot # cp /boot/grub2/grub.efi /boot/EFI/BOOT/BOOTX64.EFI
(chroot) ubuntu boot # efibootmgr --create --gpt --disk /dev/sda --part 1 --write-signature --label "GRUB2" --loader "\\grub2\\grub.efi"
BootCurrent: 0007
Timeout: 1 seconds
BootOrder: 0000,0005,0007,0004
Boot0004 CD/DVD Drive
Boot0005* UEFI: Patriot Memory PMAP
Boot0007* UEFI: KingstonDT 101 II 1.00
Boot0000* GRUB2
(chroot) ubuntu boot # grub2-efi-64-editenv - create
|
Now I am restarting... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Khumarahn Apprentice
Joined: 17 Apr 2009 Posts: 199
|
Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 2:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
After restart I see a grub welcome window, 2 options - 3.2.5-gentoo and 3.2.5-gentoo in recovery mode, but nothing would load with
Code: |
error: can't find command `['.
error: file `/x86_64-efi/all_video.mod' not found.
error: file `/x86_64-efi/gzio.mod' not found.
error: can't find command `['.
error: can't find command `search'.
error: can't find command `echo'.
error: can't find command `linux'.
Press any key to continue...
|
and then grub returns to boot choice of 3.2.5-gentoo and 3.2.5-gentoo in recovery mode
I tried creating folder /boot/x86_64-efi with all the modules, but it didn't change anything. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
keet Guru
Joined: 09 Sep 2008 Posts: 571
|
Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 2:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
I just had a confusing time installing GRUB 2. I actually just backed up my hard disk, remade my partitions as GPT instead of MBR, and installed GRUB 2 as an UEFI image. I tried following the instructions at http://dev.gentoo.org/~scarabeus/grub-2-guide.xml, but finding https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-895270-highlight-normal+mod.html made it much easier. I basically booted from an Ubuntu LiveCD in UEFI mode, pressed C at the initial GRUB menu, and booted Gentoo using the GRUB command line. Once I was in, I made /etc/fstab include this line:
Code: | /dev/sda1 /boot/efi vfat defaults 0 2 |
Next, I ran these commands:
Code: | cd /boot
mkdir efi
mount /dev/sda1
cd /boot/efi
grub2-install |
If this looks sloppy, it's because I'm copying them directly from my history. I figured I would do that verbatim to avoid mistyping something and causing more confusion.
For some reason, grub2-install complained and failed because it couldn't find /lib64/grub/i386-pc/modinfo.sh, among other files, so I copied /lib64/grub/x86_64-efi/{modinfo.sh,*.mod,*module,*.lst,*.img} to /lib64/grub/i386-pc. This is probably a bit messy, and I am not sure why I needed to do it -- maybe grub wants me to set GRUB_PLATFORMS="efi-64 efi-32" in make.conf, but this shouldn't be necessary.
After I did this, grub2-install worked fine.
Next I ran:
Code: | grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub2/grub.cfg |
However, after the reboot, GRUB didn't find the menu. It was actually seeking it in /boot/grub/grub.cfg, so I moved the configuration file there and deleted /boot/grub2, since it contained nothing else. With the menu in /boot/grub/grub.cfg, it worked correctly.
I hope that this helps. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Khumarahn Apprentice
Joined: 17 Apr 2009 Posts: 199
|
Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 3:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
keet, thanks.
What version of grub are you using?
I run 1.99-r2 just fine... now had to downgrade back from 2.00_beta0, and it works fine again. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
keet Guru
Joined: 09 Sep 2008 Posts: 571
|
Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 7:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I was using version 9999, which at the time of installation was 2.00 beta 2, I think. I am not sure which is the best to use. I could set my keyword to <sys-boot/grub-9999, or mark a certain version. I'll probably try reinstalling it tonight. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Khumarahn Apprentice
Joined: 17 Apr 2009 Posts: 199
|
Posted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 3:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I tried grub-9999 some time ago, but it wouldn't compile.
Would be interesting to know if you can make 2.00 beta 0 work |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Mike Lee n00b
Joined: 06 Nov 2010 Posts: 6 Location: Russia
|
Posted: Fri Mar 09, 2012 9:28 am Post subject: |
|
|
Looks like something was changed in grub2 beta1 release, because grub2 beta0 worked fine for me, but the new release is unable to boot Gentoo (it just reboots after starting boot linux), but the Windows boots successfully. Seems like os-prober, or linux-prober is broken now
Could anybody has similar issue? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
gami Apprentice
Joined: 02 Jun 2006 Posts: 297
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
apurkrt Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 26 Feb 2011 Posts: 116 Location: Czechia, Europe
|
Posted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 9:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Successfully set up UEFI booting today on amd64. It was/is sort of chicken and egg problem - to be able to succesfully use grub2-install, one has to have the system already booted in UEFI mode; this can be achieved with the help of EFI boot capable usb flashdrive. Summed up my experince here in a separate post
Last edited by apurkrt on Sun Mar 18, 2012 8:20 am; edited 6 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Khumarahn Apprentice
Joined: 17 Apr 2009 Posts: 199
|
Posted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 10:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I did installation with beta2 with no problems a couple of days ago.
I guess beta0 just had some bug... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jtshs256 n00b
Joined: 25 Mar 2011 Posts: 17
|
Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 4:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
It's strange that beta0 is the best among beta0~beta2 on my laptop with bios.
The linux command is broken in beta1 and I find shell-completion broken in beta2. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
schrdlu n00b
Joined: 01 Nov 2009 Posts: 61 Location: Adelaide Sth Australia
|
Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2012 5:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
keenblade wrote: | Probably, if you provide some info like partition table, fstab and the error messages from grub2, people can help. there is not much complicated thing for grub2 since it has helpers to automate things nicely. Dont forget to install "sys-boot/os-prober" for automatic OS detection. Generally the procedure is:
Code: |
to install in mbr (recommended):
# grub2-install /dev/sda
or to install on a partition:
$ grub2-install --force /dev/sda3
then create the config:
# grub2-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg
|
Also if you need initramfs, install "sys-kernel/dracut". It will create initramfs in your /boot:
Code: |
# dracut /boot/initramfs-x86_64-3.2.5-gentoo.img 3.2.5-gentoo
|
|
One thing I have noticed,is that when doing an install from chroot environment,the grub2-mkconfig is not successful..... My work around for this is to install legacy grub from the chroot environment,then when booted into the working environment,ie: using the hdd for system files/booting. Then doing a reinstall of grub2 and making the grub2 menu is successful.
Also I'm not using any fancy partition setup's just the standard as created by fdisk,I find this way most stable.
Geoff |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|