View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
dogshu Apprentice
Joined: 22 Jun 2003 Posts: 173 Location: New Haven, CT, USA
|
Posted: Fri Mar 23, 2012 2:52 pm Post subject: [SOLVED] VM won't start w/ app-emulation/qemu-kvm-1.0-r3 |
|
|
I have a Windows VM that no longer starts after updating to app-emulation/qemu-kvm-1.0-r3. When I click "Run" in virt-manager it just doesn't start. There's no error messages in virt-manager.
I was seeing "virbr0: mixed no checksumming and other settings" in my syslog when trying to start it, so I thought that might be the issue. But the VM won't start even after removing the network device.
There's no other errors in the logs or in the console other than this when I start virt-manager:
Code: | /usr/share/virt-manager/virt-manager.py:306: DeprecationWarning: Importing dbus.glib to use the GLib main loop with dbus-python is deprecated.
Instead, use this sequence:
from dbus.mainloop.glib import DBusGMainLoop
DBusGMainLoop(set_as_default=True)
import dbus.glib |
When I try to start the VM, this message briefly flashes on the console before it goes back to "guest not running":
Code: | graphical console is not yet active for guest |
I tried removing my VNC Display device and re-adding it, but the VM still won't start. I checked and the VNC ports are not in use on my system.
I don't have much else to go in with no error messages. Anyone know how I might fix this?
Last edited by dogshu on Mon Mar 26, 2012 8:47 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hu Administrator
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 23066
|
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 4:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
Bypass virt-manager and run the VM by hand. Then you will get any error messages printed by KVM. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
salahx Guru
Joined: 12 Mar 2005 Posts: 559
|
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 6:46 am Post subject: |
|
|
I had the same problem. Running via command prompt didn't give much helpful data, and the error log only had this cryptic error:
Code: | /var/tmp/portage/app-emulation/qemu-kvm-1.0-r3/work/qemu-kvm-1.0/memory.c:1239: memory_region_add_subregion_common: Assertion `!subregion->parent' failed. |
Ultimately worked around it by using the "cirrus" driver instead of the "vga" for vide
Found a better solution: Use "virsh edit domain" and look for the line containing <type arch> and change "machine" to pc-0.14 or higher (use "kvm-qemu -machine ?" to see what's available) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hu Administrator
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 23066
|
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2012 4:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
By definition, assertion failures are a bug in the program. Please file it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
salahx Guru
Joined: 12 Mar 2005 Posts: 559
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
dogshu Apprentice
Joined: 22 Jun 2003 Posts: 173 Location: New Haven, CT, USA
|
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2012 8:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
thanks, for my VM named "Windows", running this:
$ virsh -c qemu:///system edit Windows
then changing machine='pc-0.13' to machine='pc-0.14' fixed it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
VinzC Watchman
Joined: 17 Apr 2004 Posts: 5098 Location: Dark side of the mood
|
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 9:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
The question is why the heck does the GUI add parameters which we would not even suppose they exist and (mostly) we never use on the command line!
When open source tools start doing the same kind of black magic as proprietary software! This really contributes to software components being disliked and distrusted as a whole. This is IMHO very questionable when it happens to open source software.
/end of rant
EDIT: I ran into the same issue. _________________ Gentoo addict: tomorrow I quit, I promise!... Just one more emerge...
1739! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|