Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
New install issues
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ravelink69
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Location: Dallas

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 12:29 am    Post subject: New install issues Reply with quote

Hello,

This is my first time installing gentoo, and it sure has proved to be a learning experience. I finally got it to boot into the grub after 3 attempts before. I searched around on google for a little bit and eventually was able to manually load the kernel and get to the log on screen of my gentoo installation. I was all excited until I tried to follow some guides on how to fix my original boot problem.
Here is my first issue, hopefully its fixable without starting over. I was told to edit my grub.conf file for the grub to know what to boot....only problem is /boot/grub/grub.conf is not there.

/boot/grub is not there.... /boot is actually empty...as far as i can tell (typing ls /boot shows nothing). Anyone know where I can begin with this?

(i have searched around on these forums for about 30 minutes, im sorry if this has already been worked on, I was unable to find it in that amount of time)

Thank you in advanced for anyone who takes the time to help. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 12:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ravelink69,

The boot partition is not automatically mounted - it's set in fstab noauto,noatime if you followed the installation instructions.

To gain access:
Code:
mount /boot


That will mount it and then you'll
Code:
ls -l /boot

to check the contents :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ravelink69
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Location: Dallas

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 12:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for the info. Unfortunately i get the following when i type mount /boot

Code:
mount: /dev/sda1 already mounted or /boot busy
mount: according to mtab, /dev/sda1 is mounted on /newroot


My linux knowledge is obviously not very indepth, but that is why i am hoping to learn a lot from this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2678

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

for some reson, /boot looks like it was mounted on /newroot

try ls /newroot and if that looks like /boot then nano -w /newroot/grub/grub.conf should give your grub file for editing. One wonders what it is doing under /newroot though....
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ravelink69,

It's stating that it's already mounted, but not on /boot

Paste back the contents of fstab.

Also did you try to mount anything :?:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ravelink69
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Location: Dallas

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

for ls /newroot

Code:
ls: cannot access /newroot: No such file or directory



for fstab:
Code:
-bash: fstab: command not found


:(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kurly
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Apr 2012
Posts: 260

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ravelink69 wrote:
for fstab:
Code:
-bash: fstab: command not found

I believe BillWho meant the output of cat /etc/fstab (he would only need the uncommented lines; that is, lines not starting with a # symbol).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 2:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ravelink69,

What you should do is chroot from a live cd of your choice like mint, ubuntu etc. or systemrescue. This way you can gain access to the forum and be able to copy and paste. Working from the console will be tedious and limit your capabilities.

Since ls /newroot did not work, there's something else going on here and knowing the contents of your /etc/fstab would help.

To view fstab you would enter
Code:
cat /etc/fstab

as kurly alluded to. Working from the live cd you could then copy and paste it back here :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ravelink69
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Location: Dallas

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 2:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry about that. I have the computer next to me but i have now logged in via ssh.

Code:
Ryan-Gentoo ~ # cat /etc/fstab
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# noatime turns off atimes for increased performance (atimes normally aren't
# needed); notail increases performance of ReiserFS (at the expense of storage
# efficiency).  It's safe to drop the noatime options if you want and to
# switch between notail / tail freely.
#
# The root filesystem should have a pass number of either 0 or 1.
# All other filesystems should have a pass number of 0 or greater than 1.
#
# See the manpage fstab(5) for more information.
#

# <fs>                  <mountpoint>    <type>          <opts>          <dump/pass>

# NOTE: If your BOOT partition is ReiserFS, add the notail option to opts.
/dev/sda1               /boot           ext2            defaults,noatime        1 2
/dev/sda3               /               ext3            noatime         0 1
/dev/sda2               none            swap            sw              0 0
/dev/cdrom              /mnt/cdrom      auto            noauto,ro       0 0
/dev/fd0                /mnt/floppy     auto            noauto          0 0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 2:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ravelink69,

OK, ssh is another good option. As far as fstab is concerned - it looks OK. So where is this newroot coming from :?

Try
Code:
mount | column -t

and look for this mysterious /newroot. The column -t just formats the output - it makes it look a little nicer.
If /dev/sda1 does not show in the output then try
Code:
mount /boot
again and see what happens :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ravelink69
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Location: Dallas

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 2:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
Ryan-Gentoo ~ # mount | column -t
rootfs       on  /                         type  rootfs      (rw)
proc         on  /proc                     type  proc        (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime)
sysfs        on  /sys                      type  sysfs       (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime)
udev         on  /dev                      type  tmpfs       (rw,nosuid,relatime,size=10240k,mode=755)
devpts       on  /dev/pts                  type  devpts      (rw,relatime,gid=5,mode=620)
/dev/sda1    on  /newroot                  type  ext2        (ro,relatime,errors=continue)
/dev/sda3    on  /                         type  ext3        (rw,noatime,errors=continue,barrier=1,data=ordered)
rc-svcdir    on  /lib/rc/init.d            type  tmpfs       (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,size=1024k,mode=755)
securityfs   on  /sys/kernel/security      type  securityfs  (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime)
debugfs      on  /sys/kernel/debug         type  debugfs     (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime)
configfs     on  /sys/kernel/config        type  configfs    (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime)
cgroup_root  on  /sys/fs/cgroup            type  tmpfs       (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,size=10240k,mode=755)
cpuset       on  /sys/fs/cgroup/cpuset     type  cgroup      (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,cpuset)
cpuacct      on  /sys/fs/cgroup/cpuacct    type  cgroup      (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,cpuacct)
fusectl      on  /sys/fs/fuse/connections  type  fusectl     (rw,relatime)
shm          on  /dev/shm                  type  tmpfs       (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime)
usbfs        on  /proc/bus/usb             type  usbfs       (rw,noexec,nosuid,devmode=0664,devgid=85)
Ryan-Gentoo ~ # mount /boot
mount: /dev/sda1 already mounted or /boot busy
mount: according to mtab, /dev/sda1 is mounted on /newroot


I know that /dev/sda1 showed up, but I went ahead and tried to mount again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 3:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ravelink69,

I have no idea where or how newroot is being mounted :? , but try
Code:
umount /dev/sda1

then try
Code:
 mount /boot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ravelink69
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Location: Dallas

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 3:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I dont think my computer knows where it came from either.

Code:
Ryan-Gentoo ~ # umount /dev/sda1
umount: /newroot: not found
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ravelink69
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Location: Dallas

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 3:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe this had to do with the fact that I had to manually start the kernel in gub. Possibly I did something wrong there?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 3:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ravelink69,

Quote:
Maybe this had to do with the fact that I had to manually start the kernel in gub. Possibly I did something wrong there?

Your guess is better than mine because I don't have one :( I'm totally confused here :cry:

paste back
Code:
ls -la /

and
Code:
ls -la /newroot


What did you do to manually start the kernel :?:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
The Doctor
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 27 Jul 2010
Posts: 2678

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 3:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SElinux issue?

In any case, try using a live CD. It will NOT mount anything until you tell it to. then you can remount your partitions and edit grub. If you need to emerge anything or run grub-install, then remember to chroot.
_________________
First things first, but not necessarily in that order.

Apologies if I take a while to respond. I'm currently working on the dematerialization circuit for my blue box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ravelink69
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Location: Dallas

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 3:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
Ryan-Gentoo ~ # ls -la /
total 76
drwxr-xr-x 19 root root  4096 Apr 10 13:34 .
drwxr-xr-x 19 root root  4096 Apr 10 13:34 ..
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root  4096 Apr  9 19:48 bin
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root  4096 Apr  9 08:30 boot
drwxr-xr-x 16 root root  4080 Apr 10 13:22 dev
drwxr-xr-x 37 root root  4096 Apr 10 16:49 etc
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root  4096 Apr  3 11:50 home
drwxr-xr-x 10 root root  4096 Apr  9 19:48 lib
drwx------  2 root root 16384 Apr  9 08:23 lost+found
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root  4096 Apr  3 11:50 media
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root  4096 Apr  3 11:50 mnt
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root  4096 Apr  3 11:50 opt
dr-xr-xr-x 68 root root     0 Apr 10 13:10 proc
drwx------  2 root root  4096 Apr  9 19:57 root
drwxr-xr-x  2 root root  4096 Apr  9 19:48 sbin
drwxr-xr-x 12 root root     0 Apr 10 13:10 sys
drwxrwxrwt  4 root root  4096 Apr 10 15:06 tmp
drwxr-xr-x 12 root root  4096 Apr  9 14:08 usr
drwxr-xr-x 11 root root  4096 Apr  9 18:30 var
Ryan-Gentoo ~ # ls -la /newroot
ls: cannot access /newroot: No such file or directory



and for the kernel i did the following:

Code:
root(hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel(tab completed here, dont know the exact kernel) root=/dev/sda1 ro (wouldnt let me enter sda3)
initrd /boot/initrd(tab completed here aswell)
boot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ravelink69
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Location: Dallas

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 3:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh and it only worked with (hd0,0) and not with any other option (hd0,2)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 3:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ravelink69,

I would chroot as penguin swordmaster suggested. I'm going to guess that you didn't boot the kernel on /sda1 :roll:

I think the following is correct - just double check it

Code:
mkdir /mnt/gentoo
mkdir /mnt/gentoo/boot

mount /dev/sda3 /mnt/gentoo
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/gentoo/boot
mount -t proc none /mnt/gentoo/proc
mount -o bind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev

chroot /mnt/gentoo /bin/bash
env-update
source /etc/profile
export PS1="\[\033[1;33m\]chroot to ->\[\033[1;31m\](gentoo) #\[\e[0m\] "


I'm sure newroot will not reappear :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ravelink69
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Location: Dallas

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 3:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sorry, im a little confused. I need to boot the live cd and then run the commands that you have posted?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ravelink69
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Location: Dallas

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 4:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

alright so I booted the live CD and did all the above and im currently sitting at a prompt that says this

Code:
chroot to ->(gentoo) #
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 4:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ravelink69,


Good - now ls -l /boot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ravelink69
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Location: Dallas

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 4:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

alright, i cant get ssh to start, so what am I looking for?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 4:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ravelink69,

You should have access to the boot directory so you can correct your grub entry.

Chrooting to your installation is almost like booting to it.

Try mount|column -t again and see what you get - hopefully no more newroot :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ravelink69
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Apr 2012
Posts: 23
Location: Dallas

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 4:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

looks like it has been removed. I show rootfs on / and sda3 on /
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum