Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Problem with wired network
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
publiosulpicio
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Aug 2008
Posts: 150

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2012 1:06 pm    Post subject: Problem with wired network Reply with quote

I have a problem with wired network. I use gnome with ~amd64. If I plug in the cable, everything seems to work well, networkmanager connect with dhcp but I cannot ping any ip. Wireless works normally. If I stop networkmanager manually here is what happens
Code:

ifconfig wlan0 down
ifconfig eth0 down
ifconfig eth0 up
ifconfig

gives
Code:

eth0: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        ether 00:1d:09:39:8d:58  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 398  bytes 58731 (57.3 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 297  bytes 26950 (26.3 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
        device interrupt 11 

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 16436
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 0  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 1047  bytes 90210 (88.0 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 1047  bytes 90210 (88.0 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

then
Code:

dhcpcd eth0

gives
Code:

dhcpcd[3381]: version 5.5.6 starting
dhcpcd[3381]: eth0: sending IPv6 Router Solicitation
dhcpcd[3381]: eth0: rebinding lease of 192.168.150.69
dhcpcd[3381]: eth0: acknowledged 192.168.150.69 from 192.168.150.1
dhcpcd[3381]: eth0: checking for 192.168.150.69
dhcpcd[3381]: eth0: sending IPv6 Router Solicitation
dhcpcd[3381]: eth0: leased 192.168.150.69 for 86400 seconds
dhcpcd[3381]: forked to background, child pid 3421

is this ok? I think so.
Code:

ifconfig

now gives
Code:

eth0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.150.69  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.150.255
        inet6 fe80::21d:9ff:fe39:8d58  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether 00:1d:09:39:8d:58  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 263  bytes 39267 (38.3 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 153  bytes 14013 (13.6 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0
        device interrupt 11 

lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING>  mtu 16436
        inet 127.0.0.1  netmask 255.0.0.0
        inet6 ::1  prefixlen 128  scopeid 0x10<host>
        loop  txqueuelen 0  (Local Loopback)
        RX packets 995  bytes 85680 (83.6 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 995  bytes 85680 (83.6 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

but internet does not work
Code:

ping 74.125.232.127

gives
Code:

PING 74.125.232.127 (74.125.232.127) 56(84) bytes of data.
^C
--- 74.125.232.127 ping statistics ---
28 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 26999ms


Here is /etc/conf.d/net
Code:

#Generated by NetworkManager
###### Global Configuration ######

###### Connection Configuration ######
#----------------------------------
mac_eduroam="00:1C:BF:D3:53:28"
config_eduroam="
dhcp
dhcp6
"
auto_eduroam="true"
enable_ipv6_eduroam="true"
#----------------------------------
mac_eth0="00:1D:09:39:8D:58"
enable_ipv6_eth0="true"
auto_eth0="true"
config_eth0="dhcp dhcp6"

The wireless network works perfectly. Any idea?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 9882
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2012 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

waitwaitwait...

With networkmanager set up, do you get an IP address? The other posting did not get an ip address which is weird, seeming some possible configuration problem with the dhcp server or configuration into the dhcp client... it seems to be a very unique problem...

Then, if you do this finagling with it after disabling networkmanager, what is your routing table like? Did you get a default route?

Are you using ipv4 or ipv6?

Are you using gnome3 (I'm not, so I don't know about gnome3)

On my gnome2 Networkmanager machines it will automatically notice that eth0 is plugged in and DHCP an ip address. I do not use ipv6 so that's another thing I don't know.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
publiosulpicio
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Aug 2008
Posts: 150

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2012 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get an IP with networkmanager, but with the same results. I use ipv4, but I suspect that the problem can be related to ipv6, but I do not know anything about this stuff. I use GNOME 3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 9882
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2012 8:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What do you get if you traceroute out?

Is the default route correct?

Can you ping hardware on your LAN?
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum