Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
mkswap and swapon issues
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ryuzaki
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Aug 2010
Posts: 96
Location: N/A

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 12:21 am    Post subject: mkswap and swapon issues Reply with quote

I'm trying to activate my swap partition, and last time I built a Gentoo system (which was on the same hard-drive) it worked just fine. But now, I'm being told when I type in
# mkswap /dev/sda2
/dev/sda2: Device or resource busy

Same kind of situation with this:
# swapon /dev/sda2
swapon: /dev/sda2: swapon failed: Device or resource busy

What does this mean and how can I fix it??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psycho
Guru
Guru


Joined: 22 Jun 2007
Posts: 534
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

are you sure haven't mounted /dev/sda2 somewhere? type
Code:
mount | grep /dev/sda2
and if it shows up, unmount it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ryuzaki
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 29 Aug 2010
Posts: 96
Location: N/A

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 1:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

psycho wrote:
are you sure haven't mounted /dev/sda2 somewhere? type
Code:
mount | grep /dev/sda2
and if it shows up, unmount it.


Yeah... it was mounted. I went into GParted, and redid it all real quick, and found out that things have to be unmounted for those kind of things. lol
Thanks for the help. We n00bs love you. <3 =D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jerichoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2008
Posts: 63
Location: Turkey

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have the same issue also and i am sure that /dev/sda2 unmounted here is my output

Quote:

root@ubuntu:~# mount | grep /dev/sda2
root@ubuntu:~# mkswap /dev/sda2
/dev/sda2: Device or resource busy
root@ubuntu:~#





by the way i am installing the gentoo via xubuntu i hope its not about that
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ultraincognito
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jun 2011
Posts: 346
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 11:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jerichoo, your sda2 is mounted with the other device name.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
disperato
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Apr 2004
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jerichoo wrote:
i have the same issue also and i am sure that /dev/sda2 unmounted here is my output

root@ubuntu:~# mount | grep /dev/sda2
root@ubuntu:~# mkswap /dev/sda2
/dev/sda2: Device or resource busy
root@ubuntu:~#


please, post the output of

Code:
fdisk -l /dev/sda


I suspect that your sda2 is the extended partition on to there are logical sda5, sda6... which is a legal configuration alternative to:

sda1, sda2 (up to sda4) primary partitions

OR

sda1, sda2 (up to sda3) primary and sda4 extended

AFAIK you can have 4 primary partitions max, or up to three primary partitions and one extended.
Tipical, but not mandatory configs are:

Code:
for system only based on linux:
sda1:boot, sda2:root, sda3:extended;
sda4:name_reserved;
from sda5 on, logical partitions onto the extended one.


Code:
for system in dual boot with windows:
sda1:windows, sda2:extended;
sda3:name_reserved, sda4:name_reserved;
from sda5 on, logical partitions onto the extended one.

as an example, here is my fdisk -l /dev/sda:
Code:
Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1   *          63      530144      265041   83  Linux
/dev/sda2          530145    56950424    28210140   83  Linux
/dev/sda3        56950425   625137344   284093460    5  Extended
/dev/sda5        56950488    61175519     2112516   83  Linux
/dev/sda6        61175583   254132234    96478326   83  Linux
/dev/sda7       254132298   275129189    10498446   83  Linux
/dev/sda8       275129253   275643269      257008+  82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda9       275643333   288061514     6209091   83  Linux
/dev/sda10      288061578   290101769     1020096   83  Linux
/dev/sda11      290101833   625137344   167517756   83  Linux

_________________
The free men's path is always obstructed by mediocrity.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jerichoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2008
Posts: 63
Location: Turkey

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

root@ubuntu:~# fdisk -l /dev/sda

Disk /dev/sda: 320.1 GB, 320072933376 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 38913 cylinders, total 625142448 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x10a7481e

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 2048 67583 32768 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 67584 1116159 524288 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda3 1116160 85002239 41943040 83 Linux
/dev/sda4 * 85002240 625139711 270068736 7 HPFS/NTFS/exFAT
root@ubuntu:~#



here is the output you want but i must say that i was using this configuration recently.actually i dont know the difference between extented and primary or which one to use on where
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
disperato
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 27 Apr 2004
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok Jerichoo, your partitioning is a bit unusual but looks correct for a dual boot. On my system I've the same "error" if I try to mkswap or swapon, because obviously linux is using swap and it is already initialised (or formatted, if you prefer, but linux, as I guess uses raw data for swap), and activated (swapon). Like your case, though, If I type mount, it isn't listed there:

mount |grep sda8 --> nothing
mount |grep swap --> nothing

but...

Code:
# free
                           total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
Mem:                       7924400    1130996    6793404          0       1220     569520
-/+ buffers/cache:          560256    7364144
Swap:                       257004          0     257004


As expected, given that swap should mount at boot:

Code:
# grep swap /etc/fstab
/dev/sda8      none      swap      sw      0 0



Maybe you are trying to activate swap from a boot cd that automatically recognises swap partitions on hd if previously activated by you for a running or installed (or partially installed) system (autodiscovery).
Either if you booted from hd or boot-cd, exploring the /etc/fstab might help:

Code:
grep swap /etc/fstab


and to have a more general picture
Code:

cat /etc/fstab


I may look too supposing, but think you are trying to "format" and initialise a swap partition already formatted and initialised, maybe already in use (look at the size of swap from free command).

Hope this helps.
_________________
The free men's path is always obstructed by mediocrity.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 11:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ryuzaki,

For future reference, swap does not show with the mount command. To check if swap is active and where
Code:
swapon -s

If you need to to disable it
Code:
swapoff -a

Good luck :wink:
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jerichoo
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Apr 2008
Posts: 63
Location: Turkey

PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i should have used the knoppix as i always do.i hate ubuntu :twisted:
i am gonna try with knoppix

+

i dont think my drive map is strange i have done as gentoohanbook says

Quote:


Creating the Boot Partition

We first create a small boot partition. Type n to create a new partition, then p to select a primary partition, followed by 1 to select the first primary partition. When prompted for the first cylinder, hit enter. When prompted for the last cylinder, type +32M to create a partition 32 Mbyte in size and set its bootable flag:

Code Listing 3.6: Creating the boot partition

Command (m for help): n
Command action
e extended
p primary partition (1-4)
p
Partition number (1-4): 1
First cylinder (1-3876, default 1): (Hit Enter)
Using default value 1
Last cylinder or +size or +sizeM or +sizeK (1-3876, default 3876): +32M

Now, when you type p, you should see the following partition printout:

Code Listing 3.7: Created boot partition

Command (m for help): p

Disk /dev/sda: 30.0 GB, 30005821440 bytes
240 heads, 63 sectors/track, 3876 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 15120 * 512 = 7741440 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 1 14 105808+ 83 Linux

We need to make this partition bootable. Type a to toggle the bootable flag on a partition and select 1. If you press p again, you will notice that an * is placed in the "Boot" column.

Creating the Swap Partition

Let's now create the swap partition. To do this, type n to create a new partition, then p to tell fdisk that you want a primary partition. Then type 2 to create the second primary partition, /dev/sda2 in our case. When prompted for the first cylinder, hit enter. When prompted for the last cylinder, type +512M to create a partition 512MB in size. After you've done this, type t to set the partition type, 2 to select the partition you just created and then type in 82 to set the partition type to "Linux Swap". After completing these steps, typing p should display a partition table that looks similar to this:

Code Listing 3.8: Partition listing after creating a swap partition

Command (m for help): p

Disk /dev/sda: 30.0 GB, 30005821440 bytes
240 heads, 63 sectors/track, 3876 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 15120 * 512 = 7741440 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 14 105808+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 15 81 506520 82 Linux swap

Creating the Root Partition

Finally, let's create the root partition. To do this, type n to create a new partition, then p to tell fdisk that you want a primary partition. Then type 3 to create the third primary partition, /dev/sda3 in our case. When prompted for the first cylinder, hit enter. When prompted for the last cylinder, hit enter to create a partition that takes up the rest of the remaining space on your disk. After completing these steps, typing p should display a partition table that looks similar to this:

Code Listing 3.9: Partition listing after creating the root partition

Command (m for help): p

Disk /dev/sda: 30.0 GB, 30005821440 bytes
240 heads, 63 sectors/track, 3876 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 15120 * 512 = 7741440 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 14 105808+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda2 15 81 506520 82 Linux swap
/dev/sda3 82 3876 28690200 83 Linux



i just add that a partition (primary) for windows 7 which has to be primary i believe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum