Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
apache2 won't start on boot
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Retriever II
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 93
Location: Northampton, MA, USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2003 2:20 am    Post subject: apache2 won't start on boot Reply with quote

Just a small problem, not really critical since I'm only running the webserver for personal use, but it's annoying none the less.

I added apache2 to run default

Code:
rc-update add apache2 default


That went fine, but every time I restart and it tries to run apache, it complains about the usage and fails to start. Once I login however, I can run the command and get it to start without a peep. What would prevent it from starting during boot?[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M104
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 132
Location: Riverside, CA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2003 5:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What exactly does it say when it complains? You can try a
Code:
rc-update del apache2 default
rc-update add apache2 default

and see if that clears up dependency issues. The only thing I can think of is that apache is requiring some service that hasn't loaded yet when the apache2 script is run during startup.
_________________
"Pulling together is the aim of despotism and tyranny. Free men pull in all kinds of directions."
Terry Pratchett, The Truth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chrismage
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Oct 2003
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2003 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i seem to be having the same problem. i'm fairly certain that the problem lies within the init script. (/etc/init.d/apache2)
here is the output.
Code:

jabba root # /etc/init.d/apache2 start
 * Starting apache2...
Usage: /usr/sbin/apache2 [-D name] [-d directory] [-f file]
                         [-C "directive"] [-c "directive"]
                         [-k start|restart|graceful|stop]
                         [-v] [-V] [-h] [-l] [-L] [-t] [-S]
Options:
  -D name           : define a name for use in <IfDefine name> directives
  -d directory      : specify an alternate initial ServerRoot
  -f file           : specify an alternate ServerConfigFile
  -C "directive"    : process directive before reading config files
  -c "directive"    : process directive after reading config files
  -e level          : show startup errors of level (see LogLevel)
  -E file           : log startup errors to file
  -v                : show version number
  -V                : show compile settings
  -h                : list available command line options (this page)
  -l                : list compiled in modules
  -L                : list available configuration directives
  -t -D DUMP_VHOSTS : show parsed settings (currently only vhost settings)
  -S                : a synonym for -t -D DUMP_VHOSTS
  -t                : run syntax check for config files                  [ !! ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Retriever II
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Sep 2003
Posts: 93
Location: Northampton, MA, USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2003 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, that's the message.

However, after doing that for the past three days, I started the computer up this morning, and it randomly decided to work, and I have no idea why. I'll just hope it stays that way. Seems to be the story of all my errors. Just clear themselves up after a few days.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M104
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Jan 2003
Posts: 132
Location: Riverside, CA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 01, 2003 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there a new version of the init script waiting to be updated by etc-update? Did you delete the update to the latest version? I'm glad you got yours to work Retriever II!
_________________
"Pulling together is the aim of despotism and tyranny. Free men pull in all kinds of directions."
Terry Pratchett, The Truth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GreyArea
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Aug 2003
Posts: 17
Location: Munich, Germany

PostPosted: Mon Oct 06, 2003 11:09 am    Post subject: Solved ?? Reply with quote

I had the same problem - however this was solved by fixing a mistake in /etc/conf.d/apache2 from

Code:
APACHE2_OPTS="-D SSL PHP4"


to

Code:
APACHE2_OPTS="-D SSL -D PHP4"


Hope this Helps
GreyArea
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blight01
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Posts: 24
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2003 11:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

M104 wrote:
What exactly does it say when it complains? You can try a
Code:
rc-update del apache2 default
rc-update add apache2 default

and see if that clears up dependency issues. The only thing I can think of is that apache is requiring some service that hasn't loaded yet when the apache2 script is run during startup.


Hi!

I had the same problem at boot Retriever II...Apache2 did not start at boot but when I was logged in, all seemed much better because I could start the apache2 script (in /etc/init.d/apache2)...

A tip for newbie (like me :oops: )...

In order to resolve this "small" problem, I deleted the apache2 script from the DEFAULT runlevel

#rc-update add apache2 default

and added it in another runlevel, which must be executed AFTER the services executed during the DEFAULT runlevel (I have always followed the Gentoo guides, so...In my case, no service has been added in the NONETWORK runlevel (i.e., /etc/runlevels/nonetwork) and I simply typed:)

#rc-update add apache2 nonetwork

in order to start apache2 at boot without any problem.


Hope it will help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blight01
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Posts: 24
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2003 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blight01 wrote:


In order to resolve this "small" problem, I deleted the apache2 script from the DEFAULT runlevel

#rc-update add apache2 default


The command above is false of course but it must be rather...

#rc-update del apache2 default

Arrrgh! :?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blight01
n00b
n00b


Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Posts: 24
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2003 2:07 pm    Post subject: To start properly apache2 at boot... Reply with quote

Hello again...

First step:

If you already have an apache2 script added in some runlevel <runlevel>, you have to delete it from that runlevel <runlevel>:

#rc-update del apache2 <runlevel>


apache2 seems to depend of some services like we can see it in the
/etc/init.d/apache2 script:

#!/sbin/runscript
# Copyright 1999-2003 Gentoo Technologies, Inc.
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-x86/net-www/apache/files/2.0.40/apache2.initd,v$

opts="${opts} reload"

depend() {
need net
use mysql dns logger netmount
after sshd
}

(For an explanation of these dependency types such as "need" or "use", go to http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/rc-scripts.xml)


In fact, apache2 seems to depend (NEED) of the "net" service and particularly of the internet interface...The problem is that "need net" in the apache2 script is not "sufficient" to ensure that all net services will be brought up before the execution of the apache2 script (go to http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/rc-scripts.xml: "When multiple initscripts provide a certain virtual (for instance if you have multiple net.eth* scripts which all provide "net"), only a single one will be seen as a possible dependency. So if you need net, then the rc script will use one of the available net.eth* scripts, not all!)")...Thus, if you have more than 1 interface, the "need net" in apache2 script will not be "sufficient" and apache2 script can be launched once 1 of your interfaces has only been brought up...

To resolve this, you must add the "need" (or "use" ??) dependency type with the script(s) that initializes the other interfaces...In my case, I must add the speedtouch script as a need dependency of the apache2 script:

#!/sbin/runscript
# Copyright 1999-2003 Gentoo Technologies, Inc.
# Distributed under the terms of the GNU General Public License v2
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-x86/net-www/apache/files/2.0.40/apache2.initd,v$

opts="${opts} reload"

depend() {
need net speedtouch
use mysql dns logger netmount
after sshd
}

...If you have an Alcatel speedtouch usb like me, take care of add the speedtouch script and not the net.ppp0 script in the apache2 script! Because the net.ppp0 script contains a setup_cfg_files() function that erases your ppp configuration files (in /etc/ppp/ directory) and if ever net.ppp0 is called, your connection to the internet with your Speedtouch will not probably work any more.
(To prevent that net.ppp0 automatically generates configuration files in /etc/ppp, I think you can add the line AUTOCFGFILES="no" in the /etc/conf.d/net.ppp0 file.)

Second step:

You can add now your apache2 script in the same runlevel (in the example below, it is the default runlevel) that your speedtouch or another net scripts by typing:

#rc-update add apache2 default

Hope this will help...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum