Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE problems..help please?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
athena810
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 10:13 pm    Post subject: KDE problems..help please? Reply with quote

when I emerge -uDNav world
i get,
Code:

*Error: circular dependencies:




*Note that circular dependencies can often be avoided by temporarily
*disabling USE flags that trigger optional dependencies.




when I emerge -av kde-meta,
I get a bunch of colorful righting and a

Code:


!!! Multiple  package instances within a single package slot have been pulled
!!! into the dependency graph, resulting in a slot conflict:

sys-libs/zlib:0



sys-fs/udev:0



dev-libs/libxm12:2



!!! Enabling --newuse and --update might solve this conflict.
!!! If not, it might help emerge to give a more specific suggestion.


The following USE changes are necessary to proceed:
#required by dev-db/virtuoso-server-6.1.4-r1, required by dev-libs/soprano-2.7.6
=sys-libs/zlib-1.2.5.1-r2 minizip

Use --autounmask-write to write changes to config files



Code:


# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically
# built this stage.
# Please consult /usr/share/portage/config/make.conf.example for a more
# detailed example.
CFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
MAKEOPTS="-j2"
# WARNING: Changing your CHOST is not something that should be done lightly.
# Please consult http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/change-chost.xml before changing.
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
# These are the USE flags that were used in addition to what is provided by the
# profile used for building.
USE="mmx sse sse2"
INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse evdev"

USE="sys-libs/zlib-1.2.5.1-r2 minizip"
USE="app-text/poppler-0.18.4-r1 qt4"
USE="app-misc/strigi-0.7.7 qt4"


XUSE="truetype X new-login xorg xscreensaver xv xcomposite xinerama opengl aiglx"
IMAGEUSE="jpeg gif tiff png svg pdf"
MEDIAUSE="also mad vidix asf win32codecs dvd mp4 aac x264 xvid nsplugin mp3 real"
GENERAL="samba java bzip2 symlink sqlite spell xml"
SYSTEM="hal fam dbus aoss threads"

KDEUSE="kde kdeenablefinal qt3 rdesktop"

USE="${SYSTEM} ${GENERAL} ${IMAGEUSE} ${XUSE} ${KDEUSE} ${MEDIAUSE}"

[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tuber
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 12 Nov 2004
Posts: 267

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The last error
Code:
The following USE changes are necessary to proceed:
#required by dev-db/virtuoso-server-6.1.4-r1, required by dev-libs/soprano-2.7.6
=sys-libs/zlib-1.2.5.1-r2 minizip
can be solved by re-emerging zlib with the minizip use flag enabled
Code:
sudo USE=minizip emerge -1 zlib
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
athena810
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 10:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sudo command not found.

Should I just put it in the /etc/make.conf?

nevermind, I just ran i without sudo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10650
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, no, actually. It isn't solved because it'll come right back on the next emerge because command-line-specified USE flags aren't permanent.

@athena810, where did you get the make.conf file? There are several issues with it.

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
athena810
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 10:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

John,

uhh, from the internet...'

So, how should I fix it?

Also there's a problem with circular dependencies, slot conflicts...

And yeah, it didn't fix the other stuff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10650
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you want each USE setting that's in there? Because you aren't getting them. First of all, you have
Code:
USE="mmx sse sse2"
So far, so good. Except, they're erased by
Code:
USE="sys-libs/zlib-1.2.5.1-r2 minizip"
USE="app-text/poppler-0.18.4-r1 qt4"
USE="app-misc/strigi-0.7.7 qt4"
Each one of those erases the previous one, all contents lost. They're also invalid syntax, not valid anywhere. Portage would complain except that you erase 'em again:
Code:
XUSE="truetype X new-login xorg xscreensaver xv xcomposite xinerama opengl aiglx"
IMAGEUSE="jpeg gif tiff png svg pdf"
MEDIAUSE="also mad vidix asf win32codecs dvd mp4 aac x264 xvid nsplugin mp3 real"
GENERAL="samba java bzip2 symlink sqlite spell xml"
SYSTEM="hal fam dbus aoss threads"

KDEUSE="kde kdeenablefinal qt3 rdesktop"

USE="${SYSTEM} ${GENERAL} ${IMAGEUSE} ${XUSE} ${KDEUSE} ${MEDIAUSE}"
Now this is slightly clever, but note that this also erased all other values of USE that occurred previously. So, my question is, do you understand these USE flags? Is there a single one that you actually want for a reason? If not, I'd say erase 'em all.

Let me look at the circular dependency issues. While I'm looking, can you tell me which profile you set?

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
athena810
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm in profile set 5.

So, what do I do about my make.conf?

And nope, don't understand anything as usual :)

Well actually, I thought the use flags were just a way of saying that you wanted to use a certain feature.


Last edited by athena810 on Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:06 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10650
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you running in a graphical install environment so that you could easily paste some of the actual circular dependencies for me? If not, I can help you get around that.

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
athena810
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nope, all i see is black background with white letters.

I had previously used wgetpaste though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10650
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, then get me the URL for
Code:
emerge -uDNvp world | wgetpaste
please.

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 6196

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

athena810 wrote:
Code:
XUSE="truetype X new-login xorg xscreensaver xv xcomposite xinerama opengl aiglx"
IMAGEUSE="jpeg gif tiff png svg pdf"
MEDIAUSE="also mad vidix asf win32codecs dvd mp4 aac x264 xvid nsplugin mp3 real"
GENERAL="samba java bzip2 symlink sqlite spell xml"
SYSTEM="hal fam dbus aoss threads"

KDEUSE="kde kdeenablefinal qt3 rdesktop"

USE="${SYSTEM} ${GENERAL} ${IMAGEUSE} ${XUSE} ${KDEUSE} ${MEDIAUSE}"


Actually, that's not so smart.
make.conf is sourced - this means you're polluting your environment with those vars during emerge - most of the times you don't get to see the problem, but every now and then you'll come across a package that loudly complains about one var or the other.

(I suspect the original file was actually doing something like USE="${USE} ...")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10650
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, good point.
Code:
USE="$USE ..."
is what I do.

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
athena810
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, I erase
Code:
USE="sys-libs/zlib-1.2.5.1-r2 minizip"
USE="app-text/poppler-0.18.4-r1 qt4"
USE="app-misc/strigi-0.7.7 qt4"


XUSE="truetype X new-login xorg xscreensaver xv xcomposite xinerama opengl aiglx"
IMAGEUSE="jpeg gif tiff png svg pdf"
MEDIAUSE="also mad vidix asf win32codecs dvd mp4 aac x264 xvid nsplugin mp3 real"
GENERAL="samba java bzip2 symlink sqlite spell xml"
SYSTEM="hal fam dbus aoss threads"

KDEUSE="kde kdeenablefinal qt3 rdesktop"

USE="${SYSTEM} ${GENERAL} ${IMAGEUSE} ${XUSE} ${KDEUSE} ${MEDIAUSE}"


and replace it with

USE="$USE ..."?

And wgetpaste will not paste the error codes.

Also, one time, I "emerge world" and it took forever, is that bad?


Last edited by athena810 on Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:28 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10650
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, first, corrected command:
Code:
emerge -uDNvp world 2>&1 | wgetpaste
Second, I'd recommend you comment them all out for now. Add a # character to the beginning of each USE= line and each of those funky variable lines, too. Post the result here for double checking.

Edit: That's because
Code:
emerge world
says, "Rebuild everything in the world set," which is a lot. You need to include the --update (short form is -u) which now says, "Update everything that has a newer version."

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.


Last edited by John R. Graham on Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:32 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
athena810
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Uh, you're a little late, I kinda already emerge -av kde-meta.

At least it works this time.

I delted all that stuff out and replaced it with

USE="$USE ..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

athena810,

Not to confuse things more here, but you already have most of those flags enabled by virtue of your profile

Code:
cat /usr/portage/profiles/targets/desktop/kde/make.defaults

cat /usr/portage/profiles/targets/desktop/make.defaults

So get rid of all that stuff you have highlighted and just enter USE="$USE" for now and see what happens :wink:
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
athena810
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did and ran emerge -av kde-meta and it's emerging 16 of 645...so this might take a while...i should probably just leave it and let it run...right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

athena810 wrote:
i should probably just leave it and let it run...right?

ya think :D
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10650
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

athena810 wrote:
I delted [sic] all that stuff out and replaced it with

USE="$USE ..."
Literally?

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
athena810
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah, literally...were you being sarcastic when you said that? 8O

Cause then, I don't think that's gonna work well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
John R. Graham
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 08 Mar 2005
Posts: 10650
Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, but it was just an example. If I want my USE flag variable to contain imaginary USE flags bert, ernie, and gonzo and I want to do it on separate lines for organizational reasons, I need to add the values from the previous lines. Like so:
Code:
USE="bert"
USE="$USE ernie"
USE="$USE gonzo"
The result will be that, after all three lines are parsed, the USE variable will be "bert ernie gonzo". That's what @VoidMage was talking about, too.

- John
_________________
I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.


Last edited by John R. Graham on Mon Jul 02, 2012 12:49 am; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

athena810 wrote:
yeah, literally...were you being sarcastic when you said that? 8O

Cause then, I don't think that's gonna work well.

If portage didn't croak by now it's probably just ignoring it. Just change it to USE="$USE" when done.

You should be a little more patient after posting for advice on what to do :wink:
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
athena810
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Sun Jul 01, 2012 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, I'll just wait until it's done. It could take a while, I'm up to 60 now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillWho
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 1600
Location: US

PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2012 12:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

athena810 wrote:
So, I'll just wait until it's done. It could take a while, I'm up to 60 now.


My guess is that portage in straightening out your entire configuration as a consequence of straightening out your USE flags.

Also, if you need to make a USE flag change and it's just to accommodate one or two packages, consider using /etc/portage/package.use instead of make.conf.

For example, I had a conflict with transmission and gtk3. The first impulse would be to add -gtk3 to make.conf. However other packages that require gtk3 will now fail.

So the solution is just to disable it for that one package with the entry net-p2p/transmission -gtk3 in package.use. This way it doesn't upset the delicate balance of the world of portage :wink:
_________________
Good luck :wink:

Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
athena810
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2012
Posts: 176

PostPosted: Mon Jul 02, 2012 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, it finally stopped emerging at like 2 in the morning. When I looked at it, it showed me the make.conf file. Also, I searched for an xdm and found nothing and searched for a kde. Do you think it crashed or partially installed it? How can I check to see if it installed?

I'm about to board a 15 hour flight in about an hour so I probably won't be able to post. THanks guys
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum