View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
technopenguin n00b
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2012 10:52 pm Post subject: make wpa_supplicant automatically log |
|
|
I wanted to debug wpa_supplicant by including a wpa.log file or the like under /var/log. I know I could do
wpa_supplicant -f /var/log/wpa.log
once I've logged on, but I wanted to see if I could make the logging start automatically, through configuration of /etc/conf.d/net. So far, I had
Code: | wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-f /var/log/wpa.log" |
which didn't work, among similar variations, like no space between the 'f' and the directory.
I appreciate any help on this. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
khayyam Watchman
Joined: 07 Jun 2012 Posts: 6227 Location: Room 101
|
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 12:24 am Post subject: Re: make wpa_supplicant automatically log |
|
|
technopenguin wrote: | I wanted to debug wpa_supplicant by including a wpa.log file or the like under /var/log. I know I could do wpa_supplicant -f /var/log/wpa.log |
technopenguin ... you need to rebuild with 'debug' use set to get -f<debug file>, otherwise you only have syslog facility. Once this is enabled you will then be able to add "-f /var/log/wpa_supplicant.log" to wpa_supplicant_wlan0= in conf.d/net.
best ... khay |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Logicien Veteran
Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 1555 Location: Montréal
|
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 2:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
I am not sure if it is necessary to set the debug USE flag to be able to use the -f switch of Wpa_supplicant. The -f switch refer to a log file. Log is not identical to debug. The -d switch refer to the debug verbosity level. That switch could need the debug USE flag to work.
One think that can be done before setting the debug USE flag is to start wpa_supplicant manually in command line with the -f switch activated and if needed in foreground to see if the logs output are write to the log file or shown to stdout when the -B switch is not used. I use Wpa_supplicant with the -f switch with others distributions, and it work as expected. _________________ Paul |
|
Back to top |
|
|
khayyam Watchman
Joined: 07 Jun 2012 Posts: 6227 Location: Room 101
|
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 10:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
Logicien wrote: | I am not sure if it is necessary to set the debug USE flag to be able to use the -f switch of Wpa_supplicant. The -f switch refer to a log file. Log is not identical to debug. |
Paul ... well, I am sure ... if I wasn't I would have said something more tentative than "you need [...]" ... and note in the --help "[-f<debug file>]" so it's not "logging" but "debug" ... logging is provided by the syslog facility.
best ... khay |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Logicien Veteran
Joined: 16 Sep 2005 Posts: 1555 Location: Montréal
|
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 10:54 am Post subject: |
|
|
This is what I have in the man wpa_supplicant for the -d and -f switch:
Code: |
man wpa_supplicant
,,,
-d Increase debugging verbosity (-dd even more).
...
-f output file
Log output to specified file instead of stdout.
...
The easiest way to debug problems, and to get debug log for bug reports, is to start wpa_supplicant on foreground with debugging enabled:
wpa_supplicant -c/etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -iwlan0 -d
...
|
Anyway, the debug USE flag can be usefull. It just about precision. _________________ Paul |
|
Back to top |
|
|
khayyam Watchman
Joined: 07 Jun 2012 Posts: 6227 Location: Room 101
|
Posted: Mon Jul 16, 2012 11:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
paul ... OK, but the manpage is imprecise in this instance. If you want to test then rebuild with USE="debug" and provide a "-f /var/log/wpa_supplicant.conf" in wpa_supplicant_wlan0= you'll see it works, but with USE="-debug" it won't.
The manpage assumes that 'debugging' is enabled (which is probably the default, and why it 'works' with other distros), with Gentoo this is optional based on USE.
I assure you this is correct ... so yes, precision.
best ... khay |
|
Back to top |
|
|
technopenguin n00b
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2012 3:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
So, I have
config_wlan0=( "dhcp" )
modules=( "wpa_supplicant" )
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext"
wpa_supplicant_wlan0=( "-f /var/log/wpa_supplicant.log" )
wpa_supplicant_wlan0=( "-dd" )
I know that last part works, since without the -dd, my /var/log/messages wouldn't have all the extra information. I was able to make the -f option work when starting wpa from the terminal myself (before, -f would give a usage error). I looked in the log file, and saw that it was basically everything in the messages file, just separate. I don't exactly need that separation, just the information, so I won't pursue this further too much, but if there is something I did wrong, and somebody knows what makes it work, I've recompiled so that the debug flag is included. There must be something to the configuration... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
khayyam Watchman
Joined: 07 Jun 2012 Posts: 6227 Location: Room 101
|
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
technopenguin ...
wpa_supplicant_wlan0 is a variable, if you define it multiple times then the last will have precidence, hence the '-dd' working but the '-f' not. So ... combine the required options into one variable:
Code: | wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext -dd -f /var/log/wpa_supplicant.log" |
Also the use of =( "foo" ) is depreciated, use ="foo" ..
best ... khay |
|
Back to top |
|
|
technopenguin n00b
Joined: 05 Apr 2012 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Tue Jul 17, 2012 12:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
This will help with debugging, now that I see the resultant log file. Thank you, that was extremely helpful! Many thanks to the both of you for your input and response |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|