View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
tbrauch n00b
Joined: 17 Jul 2012 Posts: 49
|
Posted: Sun Jul 29, 2012 11:11 pm Post subject: [SOLVED] WPA_GUI does not find wireless card |
|
|
I have put off setting up my wireless network because I read that it was easier after getting Gnome set up. Gnome is set up so it's time to tackle wireless.
I have both wired and wireless compiled in my kernel, not as modules. When I open WPA_GUI, there are no network adapters listed in the selection box.
I have an Acer Aspire One A150. lspci -n gives me
Code: | 00:00.0 0600: 8086:27ac (rev 03)
00:02.0 0300: 8086:27ae (rev 03)
00:02.1 0380: 8086:27a6 (rev 03)
00:1b.0 0403: 8086:27d8 (rev 02)
00:1c.0 0604: 8086:27d0 (rev 02)
00:1c.1 0604: 8086:27d2 (rev 02)
00:1c.2 0604: 8086:27d4 (rev 02)
00:1c.3 0604: 8086:27d6 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 0c03: 8086:27c8 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 0c03: 8086:27c9 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 0c03: 8086:27ca (rev 02)
00:1d.3 0c03: 8086:27cb (rev 02)
00:1d.7 0c03: 8086:27cc (rev 02)
00:1e.0 0604: 8086:2448 (rev e2)
00:1f.0 0601: 8086:27b9 (rev 02)
00:1f.2 0101: 8086:27c4 (rev 02)
00:1f.3 0c05: 8086:27da (rev 02)
02:00.0 0200: 10ec:8136 (rev 02)
03:00.0 0200: 168c:001c (rev 01) |
Plugging that into http://kmuto.jp/debian/hcl/ gives
Code: | [some non-networking stuff]
10ec8136 Yes Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller r8169 v2.6.25-
168c001c Yes Atheros Communications Inc. AR242x / AR542x Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) ath5k v2.6.25- |
I think this is the relevant part of my .config file when I compiled my kernel:
[Edit to cut out this long list, correct information appears later]
Part of my problem might be that I *think* my wireless is named wlan0, but I'm not positive. I feel like this might be a simple problem, but I haven't been able to figure it out in a few days. Let me know if I can provide any other files.
Last edited by tbrauch on Mon Jul 30, 2012 4:31 am; edited 4 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tbrauch n00b
Joined: 17 Jul 2012 Posts: 49
|
Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 3:46 am Post subject: Re: WPA_GUI does not find wireless card |
|
|
It looks like I missed something in my kernel.
Code: | [*] Networking support --->
[*] Wireless --->
[*] Wireless extensions
< > Generic IEEE 802.11 Networking Stack (mac80211) [<==== this should be marked but isn't] |
That last thing wasn't check in my kernel, but it is now. Recompiling and fingers crossed. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tbrauch n00b
Joined: 17 Jul 2012 Posts: 49
|
Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 4:23 am Post subject: Re: WPA_GUI does not find wireless card |
|
|
Adding that made the computer recognize the network card. So, if you have the Ath5k, you need to make sure you have all of the following checked in your kernel:
Code: | [*] Enable loadable module support --->
[*] Module unloading
[ ] Module versioning support
[*] Networking support --->
[*] Wireless --->
[*] Wireless extensions
-*- Improved wireless configuration API
<*> Generic IEEE 802.11 Networking Stack (mac80211)
Networking options --->
<*> 802.1d Ethernet Bridging (Optional)
Device Drivers --->
[*] Network device support --->
Wireless LAN --->
[*] Wireless LAN (IEEE 802.11)
<*> Atheros Wireless Cards --->
<*> Atheros 5xxx wireless cards support
-*- Cryptographic API --->
<*> HMAC support
<*> AES cipher algorithms |
Now, when I type ifconfg, I see wlan0. However, WPA_GUI still does not see my card.
It says "Status: Could not get status from wpa_supplicant" |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tbrauch n00b
Joined: 17 Jul 2012 Posts: 49
|
Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 4:31 am Post subject: Re: WPA_GUI does not find wireless card |
|
|
And now I feel silly. Turns out that non-root cannot use WPA_GUI. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
khayyam Watchman
Joined: 07 Jun 2012 Posts: 6227 Location: Room 101
|
Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 6:32 am Post subject: |
|
|
tbrauch ...
I don't use wpa_gui but it probably uses the wpa control interface so the following should allow users in group 'wheel' to access the interface (and so control wpa_supplicant) and update the config file.
Code: | ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel
update_config=1 |
best ... khay |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tbrauch n00b
Joined: 17 Jul 2012 Posts: 49
|
Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 6:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
khayyam wrote: | tbrauch ...
I don't use wpa_gui but it probably uses the wpa control interface so the following should allow users in group 'wheel' to access the interface (and so control wpa_supplicant) and update the config file.
Code: | ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant GROUP=wheel
update_config=1 |
best ... khay |
That worked. Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
BillWho Veteran
Joined: 03 Mar 2012 Posts: 1600 Location: US
|
Posted: Mon Jul 30, 2012 6:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
tbrauch,
Did you try network manager It might be part of the gnome package and one of the easiest to setup. _________________ Good luck
Since installing gentoo, my life has become one long emerge |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|