Noob - Getting errors during bootstrap
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Shapeless Planet
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2003 6:55 pm    Post subject: Noob - Getting errors during bootstrap Reply with quote

Hey everyone. This is my first time posting and like, 5th time trying to install Gentoo. I actually had it working yesturday from a stage 3 on my Athlon-XP but I was getting errors while emerge -uD world
I decided to give it a rest and watch some tv. My computer was in kde minding its own business and i hear this hidious sound from the other room. I come in and it was my hard drive! The thing crashed, right as I had gotten Gentoo installed and in a GUI for that matter! for the first time.

Oh how i was p*ssed. Anyways. Enough about my bad fortuine. I found an ol' 10 gig ATA66 hd and threw it in there and decided I would dive into a stage 1. I got all the way to the make.conf and decided to read up. I did -march=athlon-xp or whatever and added the -03 -pipe and a coouple others that people had recommended as good and stable for the athlon-xp. I also read up and got my USE flags all set up. Everthing was going good.

I start the bootstrap and go to bed.
Wake up today excided about finishing my Gentoo install and I have the following:
"!!! ERROR: sys-devel/gcc-3.2.3-r2 failed.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 371, Exitcode 2
!!! (no error message)"

further up on the screen I see that right before the bootstrap ended this was printed:

"hda: dma_intr:status=0x51 { DriveReady SeekComplete Error }
hda: dma_intr: error =0x40 {UncorrectableError }, LBAsect=197142, sector 52552
end_request: I/O error, dev 03:02 (hda), sector 52552
make[3]: *** [libgcj.la] Error 1"
It goes on with a few other hda dma errors and things about leaving directorys.