View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
jlpoole Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/548966135041718b69249.png)
Joined: 01 Nov 2005 Posts: 490 Location: Salem, OR
|
Posted: Tue Oct 16, 2012 11:09 pm Post subject: [SOLVED] Boots into Read-Only mode, Used fsck and ... |
|
|
My laptop runs 3.3.8-gentoo (x86_64) and when I shut it down earlier today, it did not go through the customary sequence, it just turned off. When I try to start up again, I'm booted into a read-only mode shell.
Suspecting a corrupted disk, I then launched from a Live Install CD and ran:
Code: | fsck -fpv -t ext3 /dev/sda2
...
fsck -fpv -t ext3 /dev/sda1
... |
When I ran fsck for the first time, I did not force and it came back with a result that suggests everything was okay. So subsequently, I used the "f" parameter to force a check.
The results of the runs seemed normal, no bad sectors or nothing to suggest it found any errors or did any fixes. Yet, when I then try to reboot, I'm still in read-only mode. My /etc/fstab looks fine, I can cat it.
I checked /var/log/messages and the shutdown earlier this morning seemed to be abruptly ended. Of course, since the file system now mounts as read-only, nothing new is contained in the log that sheds light onto the matter. What also is a problem is that the print out of what's happening during the start up is replaced with the login so I can't see what the last print out was before launching into read-only login is.
What should I do next or what can I provide that would give some insight into the problem?
Last edited by jlpoole on Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:15 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Jaglover Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/179708169458f2999e44e26.gif)
Joined: 29 May 2005 Posts: 8291 Location: Saint Amant, Acadiana
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
DONAHUE Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/2468228754a8b1493ea37b.gif)
Joined: 09 Dec 2006 Posts: 7651 Location: Goose Creek SC
|
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 12:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
as in Code: | mount -o remount,rw / |
_________________ Defund the FCC. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
jlpoole Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/548966135041718b69249.png)
Joined: 01 Nov 2005 Posts: 490 Location: Salem, OR
|
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 12:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Jaglover wrote: | Have you tried remounting it rw and doing a normal shutdown? |
I booted up with LiveCD.
Code: |
mkdir /mnt/boot
mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/boot
mount /dev/sda2 /mnt/gentoo
shutdown -h now
|
On startup, I had the same result I've been having. I did see fleet by something about "determining /root device" and then three lines of output before the screen that were not bold-faced text that could be error messages refreshed with the login prompt that has "(none) login:" suggesting the same read-only condition.
Was your suggestion to mount the drive from within the read-only session? Or should I chroot from the LiveCD session and the perform a shutdown from there? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
jlpoole Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/548966135041718b69249.png)
Joined: 01 Nov 2005 Posts: 490 Location: Salem, OR
|
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 12:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
DONAHUE wrote: | as in Code: | mount -o remount,rw / |
|
In a session that was read-only, I logged in as root and I tried the above and then executed:
and then restarted and still ended up with the same read-only shell. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
DONAHUE Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/2468228754a8b1493ea37b.gif)
Joined: 09 Dec 2006 Posts: 7651 Location: Goose Creek SC
|
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 12:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
boot install, remount,
Code: | grep -i tmpfs /usr/src/linux | if you don't get Quote: | CONFIG_DEVTMPFS=y
CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT=y | edit menuconfig to include Quote: | Device Drivers --->
Generic Driver Options --->
(/sbin/hotplug) path to uevent helper
[*] Maintain a devtmpfs filesystem to mount at /dev
[*] Automount devtmpfs at /dev, after the kernel mounted the rootfs | recompile and recopy kernel _________________ Defund the FCC. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
jlpoole Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/548966135041718b69249.png)
Joined: 01 Nov 2005 Posts: 490 Location: Salem, OR
|
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 12:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
My /var/log/messages has the last two lines of:
Quote: | ... init: Switching to runlevel: 0
... init: cannot execute "/sbin/rc"
|
I checked the /sbin for rc:
Quote: | (none) ~# ls /sbin/rc*
ls: cannot access /sbin/rc*: No such file or directory
(none) ~# |
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
jlpoole Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/548966135041718b69249.png)
Joined: 01 Nov 2005 Posts: 490 Location: Salem, OR
|
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
I took a video of the sequence to capture the just-before login prompt. Here's what I captured:
Quote: | INIT: version 2.00 booting
INIT: cannot execute "/sbin/rc"
INIT: cannot execute "/sbin/rc"
INIT: entering runlevel: 3
INIT: cannot execute "/sbin/rc"
|
Also, I followed the recompile suggestion above and I was missing the tmpfs so I did as instructed and booted up in the new kernel... still have the same problem.
So I'm guessing "rc" on my system has been corrupted. I tried "eix rc" and several hundred returns were found. Is this a matter of emerging something to rebuild the rc system? I've looked at http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/openrc-migration.xml but am not finding something that bears upon the problem I find myself in. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
DONAHUE Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/2468228754a8b1493ea37b.gif)
Joined: 09 Dec 2006 Posts: 7651 Location: Goose Creek SC
|
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
you appear to be unique
suggest
if that is not the source of /sbin/rc download a tarball and copy the /sbin/rc from tarball to location
BTW backup of personal files?
my ls /sbin/* is posted at http://bpaste.net/show/51692/ for reference _________________ Defund the FCC. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
jlpoole Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/548966135041718b69249.png)
Joined: 01 Nov 2005 Posts: 490 Location: Salem, OR
|
Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
DONAHUE wrote: | you appear to be unique
suggest
if that is not the source of /sbin/rc download a tarball and copy the /sbin/rc from tarball to location
BTW backup of personal files?
my ls /sbin/* is posted at http://bpaste.net/show/51692/ for reference |
I (connected back to the network with "dhcpcd") and
and then
and then started laptop up again and the normal boot sequence commenced. I did another shutdown just to bring everything into conformity and have started again.
Thank you. Marking this "SOLVED" |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|