View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
NForce Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 07 Nov 2009 Posts: 79 Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
|
Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2012 10:55 am Post subject: Systemd fails to mount partitions |
|
|
Hello there. Last time I've tried systemd - was version 29. But I had some problems with it, so I decided to stick with openrc. Now I want to give systemd one more try.
So I enabled systemd overlay, emerged systemd-195, also emerged systemd-units form the overlay. Then did
And reemerged all packages with systemd flag enabled.
Then I tried to reboot with systemd as my init, root partition was mounted fine, but every partition except root failed to mount. If I comment out all these partitions from fstab, system boots and I can get to kdm, but I can't login, as my home partition is not mounted. Any advices? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ulenrich Veteran
Joined: 10 Oct 2010 Posts: 1483
|
Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2012 2:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
1) There is no overlay needed to run systemd as init! Probably your overlay is outdated and pulls in bad unit files.
2) Think of Gentoo having two releases:
arch as stable
~arch as a current/unstable release.
Current systemd-195 should be run with current~arch. And as systemd-195 needs udev-195 you have to special configure some linux kernel .config: devtmpfs |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NForce Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 07 Nov 2009 Posts: 79 Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
|
Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2012 4:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for your answer!
1) I've removed overlay, and unmerged package which was from that overlay. But that didn't help
2) I'm using ~arch, so udev is latest version (195). Also it has openrc use flag enabled, could it be confusing for systemd?
My kernel has those options which you are referring about:
Code: |
nforce@nforce-laptop /usr/src/linux $ grep CONFIG_DEVTMPFS .config
CONFIG_DEVTMPFS=y
CONFIG_DEVTMPFS_MOUNT=y
|
Also I have taken those logs, maybe they will be useful:
systemctl dump: http://pastebin.com/Cs6mZAyg
journalctl -b: http://pastebin.com/fpNhc1qk |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ulenrich Veteran
Joined: 10 Oct 2010 Posts: 1483
|
Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2012 8:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
As you see:
Code: | emerge -p udev
These are the packages that would be merged, in order:
Calculating dependencies ..... done!
[ebuild R ] sys-fs/udev-195 USE="acl gudev hwdb keymap openrc -doc -introspection (-selinux) -static-libs" |
USE flag openrc doesn't matter. Systemd and openrc are quiet good compangions living in different rooms in the same house.
To your problem:
You could show us your /etc/fstab
But before that, try fsck of your partition reseved for /home when not mounted!
And "systemctl disable" your somehow rotten plymouth ... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NForce Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 07 Nov 2009 Posts: 79 Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
|
Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2012 10:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Tried fsck, it said it's clean. Here is my fstab:
Code: |
nforce@nforce-laptop ~ $ cat /etc/fstab
#
# /etc/fstab
# Created by anaconda on Thu Oct 28 22:51:35 2010
#
# Accessible filesystems, by reference, are maintained under '/dev/disk'
# See man pages fstab(5), findfs(8), mount(8) and/or blkid(8) for more info
#
/dev/sda2 / ext4 defaults 1 1
/dev/sda3 /home ext4 defaults 1 1
/dev/sda5 /mnt/Downloads ext4 defaults 1 2
/dev/sda6 /mnt/Storage ext4 defaults 1 2
/dev/sda8 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/sda7 /mnt/WinShare ntfs-3g defaults 0 0
/dev/sda1 /mnt/Windows ntfs-3g defaults 0 0
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
|
About plymouth: I am not sure how could it got rotten, I have no service files for plymouth, and no plymouth installed either. However, there are some files which could be plymouth's, but I am not sure how they got here:
Code: | nforce@nforce-laptop ~ $ locate plymouth
/etc/plymouth
/etc/plymouth/plymouthd.conf
/var/lib/lib/plymouth
/var/lib/lib/plymouth/boot-duration
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
ulenrich Veteran
Joined: 10 Oct 2010 Posts: 1483
|
Posted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 1:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Also, I am not a systemd expert yet, keep in mind:
It is my personal opinion plymouth is a rotten approach, I don't have any plymouth configs. Please look into yours! Might be an automatism of systemd there?
You advise in /etc/fstab your fsck to check two partitions at the same time (1 1)
smoothly diagnose your system:
- make /home in /etc/fstab 1 2 to let check /home after root /
- I would simplify /etc/fstab: comment out what you don't need OR use noauto,defaults as options
- I don't have in fstab: /proc /sys /dev/pts - Isn't this an automatism nowadays?
- Look if the "famous" /usr move is done correctly: /lib/udev symlinks to /usr/lib/udev
- boot with cmdline: nosplash
- boot with cmdline: systemd.unit=multi-user.target OR symlink default.target to multi-user.target - to ignore X at first
- You should use systemd diagnostics: journalctl OR with "systemctl status XYZ" you also get logs shown |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NForce Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 07 Nov 2009 Posts: 79 Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
|
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 3:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hmm... I modified fstab like that:
Code: |
#
# /etc/fstab
# Created by anaconda on Thu Oct 28 22:51:35 2010
#
/dev/sda2 / ext4 defaults 1 1
/dev/sda3 /home ext4 auto,defaults 1 2
/dev/sda5 /mnt/Downloads ext4 auto,defaults 1 3
/dev/sda6 /mnt/Storage ext4 auto,defaults 1 4
/dev/sda8 swap swap auto,defaults 0 0
/dev/sda7 /mnt/WinShare ntfs-3g auto,defaults 0 0
/dev/sda1 /mnt/Windows ntfs-3g auto,defaults 0 0
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs auto,defaults 0 0
|
But it didn't help...
About the infamous /usr/ move: no, /lib/udev was not a symlink to /usr/lib/udev. It was a dir containing only virtualbox files, so I removed that dir, symlinked /lib/udev -> /usr/lib/udev, and reemerged virtualbox. However it didn't help too...
Tried to boot with nosplash option - nothing.
And sorry for asking, but how could booting with systemd.unit=multi-user.target help? As far as I can see, it can't get until that target, because it's deps (local-fs) are failing...
It's odd that I can't find anyone with a problem like that, with a google search. It used to be really helpful with other problems of mine |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ulenrich Veteran
Joined: 10 Oct 2010 Posts: 1483
|
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 4:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
What is
1 3
1 4
This is not defined! man fstab:
The root filesystem should be specified with a fs_passno of 1, and other filesystems should have a fs_passno of 2. ...zero is returned and fsck will assume that the filesystem does not need to be checked
Also you could temporarily disable (noauto) all /mnt and ntfs-3g drives, just to diagnose the /home issue at first!
And yes, with your dependency insight! (local-fs) Actually as I said I am not the expert yet ...
---
Additional diagnosis:
systemctl status local-fs.target
systemctl status systemd-remount-fs.service
systemctl status home.mount
dmesg
journalctl |
|
Back to top |
|
|
cach0rr0 Bodhisattva
Joined: 13 Nov 2008 Posts: 4123 Location: Houston, Republic of Texas
|
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 6:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NForce wrote: | However, there are some files which could be plymouth's, but I am not sure how they got here:
Code: | nforce@nforce-laptop ~ $ locate plymouth
/etc/plymouth
/etc/plymouth/plymouthd.conf
/var/lib/lib/plymouth
/var/lib/lib/plymouth/boot-duration
|
|
if you have portage-utils installed
Code: |
qfile /etc/plymouth/plymouthd.conf
qfile /var/lib/lib/plymouth/boot-duration
|
will tell you what package these were installed by. Same as "equery belongs", but a touch faster. _________________ Lost configuring your system?
dump lspci -n here | see Pappy's guide | Link Stash |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|