View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
GENKILL n00b
Joined: 09 Dec 2012 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 11:25 am Post subject: arm (raspberry_pi) huwaei dongle problem |
|
|
Hello all (i'm fresh here)
I'm trying to install my RPi gentoo-client with gsm connection but with lot of troubles i can't get by I have emerged almost all soft i need but i can't get my ppp0 (huawei 1750 modem) up.
My steps:
1. Fresh install using rasbian kernel (https://github.com/raspberrypi/firmware/tree/master/boot)
2. Setup Crossdev with distcc with my CoreI5 (toolchain for armv6j hf etc. works great)
3. Emerged every package i need (using flash card and pendrive)
4. Plug in dongle to usb port, with usb_switchmodes and usbserial on /dev/ttyUSB0 which is ok
And now i have problem with wvdial, sakis3g or ppp (in /etc/conf.d/net)
1. I accepted Wvdial in portage but can't get to work because of really no support for arm in gentoo resources (probably problem with wvstreams which i tried to install from debian with no luck)
2. Secondly I downloaded sakis3g and fired it on but when i try ping or lynx to website, connection suddenly disappears (despite if i use my config or interactive)
3. I tried to setup normal script for ppp0 device but net.example or some howtos on google gives mi error with "net.ppp0 has started, but is inactive"
Please help me someone |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bbgermany Veteran
Joined: 21 Feb 2005 Posts: 1844 Location: Oranienburg/Germany
|
Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2012 5:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
i havent tried my umts stick with my raspberry, but i was able to get it working on x86 with the following config in /etc/conf.d/net. Maybe this helps you a bit get your stick running.
Code: |
config_ppp0=( "ppp" )
link_ppp0="/dev/ttyUSB0" # change to your 3g device
username_ppp0='eplus' # your username for your 3g connection
password_ppp0='gprs' # and the password
pppd_ppp0=(
"debug"
"defaultroute"
"ipcp-accept-remote"
"ipcp-accept-local"
"lock"
"460800"
"modem crtscts"
"usepeerdns"
)
chat_ppp0=(
'ABORT' 'BUSY'
'ABORT' 'ERROR'
'ABORT' 'NO ANSWER'
'ABORT' 'NO CARRIER'
'ABORT' 'NO DIALTONE'
'ABORT' 'Invalid Login'
'ABORT' 'Login incorrect'
'TIMEOUT' '1'
'' 'ATZ'
'OK' 'AT&F'
'OK' 'ATE1'
'OK' 'AT+CPIN?'
'CPIN: READY-AT+CPIN=1234-OK' 'AT+COPS?' # maybe add your SIM-PIN here
'OK' 'AT_OPSYS=3,2'
'OK' 'AT+CSQ'
'OK' 'AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","internet.eplus.de","0.0.0.0"' # change for your provider
'TIMEOUT' '60'
'OK' 'ATD*99#'
'CONNECT' ''
'TIMEOUT' '5'
'~--' ''
)
|
you just have to adjust the config for your provider.
greets bb
EDIT: I found a working config for my UMTS stick. It was not quite easy, especially for baselayout-2 some things changed for the config. This is my working config:
Code: |
config_ppp0=( "ppp" )
link_ppp0="/dev/ttyUSB0" # change to your 3g device
username_ppp0='eplus' # your username for your 3g connection
password_ppp0='gprs' # and the password
pppd_ppp0=" maxfail 25 debug defaultroute usepeerdns noipdefault ipcp-accept-remote ipcp-accept-local lcp-echo-interval 5 lcp-echo-failure 3 mtu 1500 mru 1500 novj nobsdcomp nodeflate novjccomp nopredictor1 nomagic persist lock 115200 modem crtscts"
chat_ppp0="
'ABORT' 'BUSY'
'ABORT' 'ERROR'
'ABORT' 'NO ANSWER'
'ABORT' 'NO CARRIER'
'ABORT' 'NO DIALTONE'
'REPORT' 'CONNECT'
'' 'ATZ'
'OK' 'AT&F'
'OK' 'ATE1'
'OK' 'AT+COPS?'
'OK' 'AT+CSQ'
'OK' 'AT+CGDCONT=1,\\\"IP\\\",\\\"internet.eplus.de\\\"'
'OK' 'ATDT*99#'
'CONNECT' 'c'
"
|
you need to adjust the device, username, password and the last three lines in chat_ppp0 for your provider. Since i disabled the PIN code, i removed the line for the pincode as well. But you can adjust the line on the first code block for the new config. _________________ Desktop: Ryzen 5 5600G, 32GB, 2TB, RX7600
Notebook: Dell XPS 13 9370, 16GB, 1TB
Server #1: Ryzen 5 Pro 4650G, 64GB, 16.5TB
Server #2: Ryzen 4800H, 32GB, 22TB |
|
Back to top |
|
|
GENKILL n00b
Joined: 09 Dec 2012 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Thu Dec 13, 2012 9:40 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hurray! It is working!
My problem was not enough power to gsm usb stick. When I was trying to ping remote host for example, RPi was lacking of usb power and disabling usb port somehow? but I bought D-link DUB-H4 usb hub which suits my needs and everything works perfectly now
Thank You bbgermany for help anyway and be aware of power limits on Your Raspberry. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bbgermany Veteran
Joined: 21 Feb 2005 Posts: 1844 Location: Oranienburg/Germany
|
Posted: Thu Dec 13, 2012 10:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
Glad it works now. About the power problem: I have a nice 1.2A/5V USB psu for it. since it runs headless and now kbd/mouse as well, just an usb wlan dongle, its working as expected
bb _________________ Desktop: Ryzen 5 5600G, 32GB, 2TB, RX7600
Notebook: Dell XPS 13 9370, 16GB, 1TB
Server #1: Ryzen 5 Pro 4650G, 64GB, 16.5TB
Server #2: Ryzen 4800H, 32GB, 22TB |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|