View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
chenko n00b
Joined: 17 Dec 2003 Posts: 31
|
Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 9:34 pm Post subject: [solved] mdadm "not an md array" using 3tb disks. |
|
|
When I try and create a raid array, I get: "mdadm: device /dev/sdf1 exists but is not an md array."
This is on a machine that I previously had a bunch of 750gb drives working, so all is okay on that side.
Difference now is im trying to replace them with 3tb drives. The machine supports it, I can partition, format and mount the disks induvidually.
Normally I would go into fdisk and setup a partition with type fd for raid auto detect. But this time since they are over 3tb I am using parted, mklabel to gpt, and setting the "raid" flag. The partition is aligned (as in, I don't get a warning if I use parted -a optimal).
But I get the above error when using --create, I also get this error if I try and create an array using the devices themselves without any partitions so im not sure if this is a partion/parted problem.
I've tried metadata=1.2, although I think its default anyway for mdadm version I have (v3.1.4 - 31st August 2010), also tried setting --chunk=4096 etc (and some other variants).
Here is parted -l for one of the drives, the others are similar.
Code: |
Model: ATA ST3000DM001-9YN1 (scsi)
Disk /dev/sdf: 3001GB
Sector size (logical/physical): 512B/4096B
Partition Table: gpt
Disk Flags:
Number Start End Size File system Name Flags
1 20.5kB 3001GB 3001GB primary raid
|
What I first thought was the problem, is that im running a 32bit system - but most places I have looked at suggest 32bit isn't an issue (and they work on their own anyway).
Code: |
3.5.7-gentoo #1 SMP Sat Dec 8 22:57:53 GMT 2012 i686 AMD Athlon(tm) II Neo N36L Dual-Core Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux
|
Code: |
# cat /proc/mdstat
Personalities : [raid0] [raid1] [raid10] [raid6] [raid5] [raid4]
unused devices: <none>
|
Last edited by chenko on Fri Jan 18, 2013 3:57 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
py-ro Veteran
Joined: 24 Sep 2002 Posts: 1734 Location: Velbert
|
Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 9:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
raid Flag ist not used, set type FD00 (or 00FD?) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
chenko n00b
Joined: 17 Dec 2003 Posts: 31
|
Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2013 11:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm not really sure which command is which in parted - any that refers to flags doesn't like FD00 (or 00FD).
Just merged gdisk to use instead, set the fd00 flag, if I look at the disk in parted it shows "raid" under flags just like I did myself using "set 1 raid on".
Used gdisk, set fd00 on the drives and I still get the same error.
Code: |
# mdadm --create --verbose --level=raid1 --chunk=4096 /dev/sd[fg]1 --metadata=1.2
mdadm: device /dev/sdf1 exists but is not an md array.
# mdadm --create --verbose --level=raid5 --chunk=4096 --raid-devices=4 /dev/sd[fghi]1 --metadata=1.2
mdadm: device /dev/sdf1 exists but is not an md array.
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
py-ro Veteran
Joined: 24 Sep 2002 Posts: 1734 Location: Velbert
|
Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 8:07 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thats simpe you forgot to mention the Device you want to create, write /dev/md0 before the component devices.
Bye
Py |
|
Back to top |
|
|
chenko n00b
Joined: 17 Dec 2003 Posts: 31
|
Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2013 9:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
Okay, that was a bit silly. Although when I first started doing this (before I realised to change to gpt) I was putting that info in and getting another issue which I have since sorted.
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|