Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Menu entries in KDE 3 for non-KDE apps are gone...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
MrSnyder
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2002 12:59 am    Post subject: Menu entries in KDE 3 for non-KDE apps are gone... Reply with quote

Hi there,

I am still new to Gentoo Linux, but I have to say that it rocks!

However, there are some things I am trying to figure out at the moment:

- I emerged a bit around with the latest KDE-versions (3.01 -> 3.02) and at some point, the automatically generated menu entries for non-KDE apps (Galeon, Evolution, Ethereal, Mozilla, etc.) where gone! I don't understand at which point they were created neither when they vanished. I rebuilt KDE but it didn't change a thing... removing my .kde3 folder / rebuilding mozilla didn't work either! Any ideas?

- After the latest KDE update (3.02), Konqueror often hangs - after that, newly spawned instances of Konqueror just don't do anything (no windows appear). When I kill KDE and all processes that seem to belong to it, I am unable to login again -- the splash screen stops when initializing system services. Only thing that works is init 1; init 3... Someone got that one, too?

Any help / comments appreciated!

Regards,
Markus
mksoft
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2002 7:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To get menu entries again, run kappfinder. It'll look for known non-kde apps, and place them in the menu.

As for konqueror, try starting it from a terminal and check the output. It might give a hint about the problem.
MrSnyder
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2002 10:35 am    Post subject: Thanks -- that was the clue I was looking for! Reply with quote

I didn't realize that I had run kappfinder, though.