ISP blocking ports
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
starnix
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 8:35 am    Post subject: ISP blocking ports Reply with quote

Is there any way to get around the fact that my ISP is blocking my ports to prevent serving web, ftp, mail, etc? I am kinda new to this serving thing and I have no alternative ISP for broadband in my town. Any help would be appreciated.
lutzh
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think there isn't. At least not if you don't count hacking your ISPs router/firewall or moving to another town as solutions.

That is a weird little ISP, though, I never heard of something like that. I would think, if you have a dial-up or DSL style connection, your upstream is very small anyway (I think the best you get is like 256kBit/s for ADSL), so your ISP should not be bothered, and if you have a dedicated line or SDSL, it's usually so high-priced that nobody would take it if their ports where blocked.

Plus, it seems odd that you don't have ISPs that operate nationwide in your country. For dial-up, I mean.

You see, I can't help you at all, but your post got me really curious.
klarnox
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Web and ftp can be run on pretty much any ports you wish with only a little work on your part. There are guides all over the Internet on how to do this.

As far as mail being blocked, you're out of luck. As far as I know there is nothing you can do to get around the blocked port (without hacking your ISP).
williamv
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

klarnox wrote:
As far as mail being blocked, you're out of luck. As far as I know there is nothing you can do to get around the blocked port (without hacking your ISP).