View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
mrbassie l33t
Joined: 31 May 2013 Posts: 833 Location: Go past the sign for cope, right at the sign for seethe. If you see the target you've missed it.
|
Posted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 5:38 pm Post subject: (SOLVED) Alsa in kernel |
|
|
been experimenting with whittling down the kernel,
I find that if I compile all things alsa into the kernel I get no audio playback from vlc or anything playing in the browser but oddly the test sound in phonon does play.
compiling as modules everything works fine.
obviously it's no real problem but I do like everything to be in kernel and I would like to understand what the issue (if any) is.
lspci | grep -i audio:
Code: | 00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03) |
Last edited by mrbassie on Mon Aug 12, 2013 1:17 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54821 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 6:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
mrbassie,
Are you passing module parameters to snd-hda-intel when it loads?
If so, you need to do this via the kernel line in grub.conf when snd-hda-intel is built in. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mrbassie l33t
Joined: 31 May 2013 Posts: 833 Location: Go past the sign for cope, right at the sign for seethe. If you see the target you've missed it.
|
Posted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 6:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
could you give me an example to try? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54821 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 6:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
mrbassie,
Look in your /etc/conf.d/modules to see if there are any options for snd-hda-intel listed there.
Also look in /etc/modprobe.d/alsa.conf since module parameters for sound drives can be listed there too. You would have set them in the past.
Once you have found the module parameters, you need to read the top of /usr/src/linux/Documentation/kernel-parameters.txt to see how to pass module parameters to kernel build in modules. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mrbassie l33t
Joined: 31 May 2013 Posts: 833 Location: Go past the sign for cope, right at the sign for seethe. If you see the target you've missed it.
|
Posted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 9:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
both files are stock, this is a recent install. Do you think it could be
Code: | Symbol: MODULE_FORCE_LOAD [=y] │
│ Type : boolean │
│ Prompt: Forced module loading │
│ Defined at init/Kconfig:1593 │
│ Depends on: MODULES [=y] │
│ Location: │
│ -> Enable loadable module support (MODULES [=y]) |
??? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54821 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 9:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
mrbassie,
Unlikely - thats really a debug or despertion option as it allows the loading of modules made for another kernel.
It turns off the kernels sanit checks on modules being loaded. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ant P. Watchman
Joined: 18 Apr 2009 Posts: 6920
|
Posted: Sat Aug 10, 2013 11:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Would help to see the output of `cat /proc/asound/cards` also. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
PaulBredbury Watchman
Joined: 14 Jul 2005 Posts: 7310
|
Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2013 5:35 am Post subject: Re: Alsa in kernel |
|
|
mrbassie wrote: | what the issue (if any) is. |
AIUI, it's because ALSA relies on udev (e.g. /usr/share/alsa/init/00main ), so udev must be running when the modules are initialized. _________________ Improve your font rendering and ALSA sound |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mrbassie l33t
Joined: 31 May 2013 Posts: 833 Location: Go past the sign for cope, right at the sign for seethe. If you see the target you've missed it.
|
Posted: Sun Aug 11, 2013 5:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ant P. wrote: | Would help to see the output of `cat /proc/asound/cards` also. |
Code: | 0 [Intel ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel
HDA Intel at 0xf0700000 irq 42 |
what I find odd is that the phonon test sound plays in kde and I can hear it but there's no sound from the media applications like vlc. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mrbassie l33t
Joined: 31 May 2013 Posts: 833 Location: Go past the sign for cope, right at the sign for seethe. If you see the target you've missed it.
|
Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2013 1:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ok well, I recompiled my kernel with firmware blobs under
Code: | device drivers
---->generic driver options |
and it now works. which is a little surprising as I was under the impression the intel drivers/firmware were all completely free, guess not.
Thanks for the advice anyway guys.
marking as solved. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|