View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
umka69 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 31 Mar 2013 Posts: 124
|
Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 3:25 pm Post subject: awesome [SOLVED] |
|
|
Hello. I am trying awesome. I got 384-th error after starting. Google says nothing, or I am blind a little.
Code: | ~ $ DISPLAY=:1.0 awesome
E: awesome: main:384: cannot open display
|
My configs here:
Code: | ~ $ cat .xinitrc
exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch --sh-syntax --exit-with-session awesome
|
Code: | ~ $ cat .config/awesome/rc.lua
# Ok.. a lot of code... :) I have this file.
|
Code: | ~ # rc-update show
bootmisc | boot
consolefont | default
consolekit | default
dbus | default
devfs | sysinit
dhcpcd | default
dmesg | sysinit
fsck | boot
hostname | boot
hwclock | boot
keymaps | boot
killprocs | shutdown
local | default
localmount | boot
modules | boot
mount-ro | shutdown
mtab | boot
net.lo | boot
netmount | default
procfs | boot
root | boot
savecache | shutdown
swap | boot
swapfiles | boot
sysctl | boot
sysfs | sysinit
syslog-ng | default
termencoding | boot
tmpfiles.setup | boot
udev | sysinit
udev-mount | sysinit
urandom | boot
vixie-cron | default
wpa_supplicant | default
xdm | default
|
Last edited by umka69 on Thu Aug 29, 2013 2:17 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
franzf Advocate
Joined: 29 Mar 2005 Posts: 4565
|
Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 4:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
simply run
that will read your .xinitrc and launch the commands you specified in there.
Mine looks like this:
Code: | $ cat .xinitrc
#ck-launch-session /usr/bin/enlightenment_start
mv ~/.xsession-errors ~/.xsession-errors.old
compton --config ~/.config/compton.conf 2>> ~/.xsession-errors &
exec awesome 2>> ~/.xsession-errors |
As you see I do not use consolekit - I simply run awesome. Furthermore I use the compton compositor to get tear-free scrolling/videos/...
The commented line shows how I started enlightenment WITH consolekit - you might want to adopt it or awesome. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
umka69 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 31 Mar 2013 Posts: 124
|
Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 5:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ok. it helps. thanks for the advice.)
I have got a question about awesome. I start x-server. then I go to the another terminal (alt+ctrl+fX). When I return back there is no GUI just x-server log. How to fix it? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
franzf Advocate
Joined: 29 Mar 2005 Posts: 4565
|
Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 5:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
That depends. Usually the first graphical terminal is under "ctrl+alt+f7". IMHO with systemd I think I got it on the first free treminal (login at 1, X at 2).
Easiest solution would be to just hit ctrl+alt+Fx - x=1...12 - until you find the terminal where your X is running |
|
Back to top |
|
|
umka69 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 31 Mar 2013 Posts: 124
|
Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 6:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I've got it. yeap it was on f8. because of kde on f7
But it seems that matlab gui doesn't work with awesome... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
franzf Advocate
Joined: 29 Mar 2005 Posts: 4565
|
Posted: Tue Aug 20, 2013 6:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
umka69 wrote: | But it seems that matlab gui doesn't work with awesome... |
That should not be possible.
Could you be more specific about what's not working? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
umka69 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 31 Mar 2013 Posts: 124
|
Posted: Wed Aug 21, 2013 9:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
when I am running matlab I can see only one button, all window space is blank, but in kde it is ok.
maybe some libraries is missed? maybe java? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
umka69 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 31 Mar 2013 Posts: 124
|
Posted: Thu Aug 29, 2013 2:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It is solved)
Code: | $ export MATLAB_JAVA="/usr/lib/jvm/icedtea-bin-6/jre/"
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
|