View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
chrosa n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 27 Jul 2013 Posts: 16 Location: Norway
|
Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 8:04 am Post subject: eth0 and wlan0 don't show |
|
|
hi all, so trying to get my network up and running.
when i look in /etc/init.d/ i only have lo so i try to # ln -s /etc/init.d/net.lo /etc/init.d/net.eth0 and when i # ifconfig wlan0 up it says "eth0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device"
# /etc/init.d/net.eth0 start, give me:
Bringing up interface eth0
ERROR: Interface eth0 does not exist
Ensure that you have loaded the correct kernel module for your hardware
ERROR: net.eth0 faild to start
i can get my network up and running if i:
rmmod alx
modprobe alx
ifconfig enp3s0 up
dmesg |tail -n 50
So guessing it's not a kernel error, rather a script or setup error.
so how can i i link enp3s0 to eth0 and wlp2s0 to wlan0 ?
and realy want it to start up at boot to. _________________ Yeah, Windows is great... I used it to download Linux! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
massimo Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/601340297511bb264633a9.png)
Joined: 22 Jun 2003 Posts: 1226
|
Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 9:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
Instead of what you did:
Code: | # mv /etc/init.d/net.eth0 /etc/init.d/net.enp3s0
# /etc/init.d/net.enp3s0 start |
Rename wlan0 accordingly. _________________ Hello 911? How are you? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Schnulli Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
Joined: 25 Jun 2010 Posts: 320 Location: Bremen DE
|
Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 9:18 am Post subject: |
|
|
because you dont have a eth.x interface? please re-read your ifconfig......
i am sure you get it then, hopefully
maybe a new symlink can be usefull and dont forget to add ur i-face with rc-update
greetz |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
creaker l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
Joined: 14 Jul 2012 Posts: 651
|
Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 9:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
Here my config:
/etc/conf.d/net:
Code: | dns_domain_lo="homenetwork"
config_enp3s0="192.168.1.2 netmask=255.255.255.0 brd 192.168.1.255"
routes_enp3s0="default via 192.168.1.1" |
Code: | cd /etc/init.d
ln -s net.lo net.enp3s0
rc-update add net.enp3s0 default |
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
chrosa n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 27 Jul 2013 Posts: 16 Location: Norway
|
Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2013 11:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
ok, thanks guys, gonna try this before i switch back to sabayon. love gentoo, but it's just too much headache for me right now. _________________ Yeah, Windows is great... I used it to download Linux! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Hu Administrator
![Administrator Administrator](/images/ranks/rank-admin.gif)
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 23091
|
Posted: Wed Sep 04, 2013 1:13 am Post subject: |
|
|
The problem described in this thread is caused by the udev misfeature that renames network devices by default. You can, and often should, disable this feature so that your network names are predictable. Generally, you only want this feature if you have now or will have later, two or more network cards that register in the same namespace (eth0, eth1 or wlan0, wlan1). If you have one of each, the names are predictable without renaming. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|