View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Albatro1974 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 03 Jul 2013 Posts: 16
|
Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 11:06 am Post subject: AMD A8 quadcore is always running at full speed |
|
|
It seems like I cannot take advantage of any sort of power consumption policy for my AMD A8 processor: it always runs at full speed, leaving me with a laptop that consumes too much... any ideas?
Code: | cat /proc/cuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 21
model : 16
model name : AMD A8-4555M APU with Radeon(tm) HD Graphics
stepping : 1
microcode : 0x6001116
cpu MHz : 1597.031
cache size : 2048 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 4
core id : 0
cpu cores : 2
apicid : 16
initial apicid : 0
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 13
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm constant_tsc rep_good nopl nonstop_tsc extd_apicid aperfmperf pni pclmulqdq monitor ssse3 fma cx16 sse4_1 sse4_2 popcnt aes xsave avx f16c lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs xop skinit wdt lwp fma4 tce nodeid_msr tbm topoext perfctr_core perfctr_nb arat cpb hw_pstate npt lbrv svm_lock nrip_save tsc_scale vmcb_clean flushbyasid decodeassists pausefilter pfthreshold bmi1
bogomips : 3194.06
TLB size : 1536 4K pages
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 48 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts ttp tm 100mhzsteps hwpstate cpb eff_freq_ro
|
and
Code: |
#
# CPU Frequency scaling
#
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_TABLE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_COMMON=y
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_PERFORMANCE is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_USERSPACE is not set
# CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_ONDEMAND is not set
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_DEFAULT_GOV_CONSERVATIVE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_USERSPACE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_ONDEMAND=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_CONSERVATIVE=y
|
any other info needed? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
audiodef Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/121230830564ba822c25c21.jpg)
Joined: 06 Jul 2005 Posts: 6656 Location: The soundosphere
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
tomtom69 Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 09 Nov 2010 Posts: 255 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 6:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
What happens if you set the default frequency governor to "ondemand" or "powersave" instead of "conservative"?
I use "ondemand" without cpufrequtils or so on my desktop PC. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Albatro1974 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 03 Jul 2013 Posts: 16
|
Posted: Fri Sep 06, 2013 5:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
audiodef wrote: | Have you tried using cpufreqd and cpufrequtils? |
Yes, using the xfce4 plugin I get "No scaling driver available".
Maybe I should use "Generic-x86-64" instead of "Opteron/Athlon64/Hammer/k8"? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
schorsch_76 Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/12660649465602e3543dfd9.png)
Joined: 19 Jun 2012 Posts: 452
|
Posted: Fri Sep 06, 2013 5:52 am Post subject: |
|
|
No, this option is correct. Please make sure, that the following options are set in the kernel
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_TABLE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_STAT=m
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_PERFORMANCE=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_POWERSAVE=m
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_USERSPACE=m
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_ONDEMAND=y
CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_CONSERVATIVE=m
Now your xfce plugin can access the files in the /sys filesystem and change the governour.
The current cpu frequency can be checked in the folder
/sys/devices/system/cpu/cpu0/cpufreq/
EDIT:
i forgot the following options
#
# x86 CPU frequency scaling drivers
#
CONFIG_X86_ACPI_CPUFREQ=m
CONFIG_X86_ACPI_CPUFREQ_CPB=y
CONFIG_X86_POWERNOW_K8=m
CONFIG_X86_SPEEDSTEP_CENTRINO=m
CONFIG_X86_P4_CLOCKMOD=m |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
audiodef Watchman
![Watchman Watchman](/images/ranks/rank-G-2-watchman.gif)
![](images/avatars/121230830564ba822c25c21.jpg)
Joined: 06 Jul 2005 Posts: 6656 Location: The soundosphere
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|