View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
FrostyX n00b

Joined: 13 Mar 2012 Posts: 59 Location: Czech Republic
|
Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 1:55 am Post subject: [SOLVED] How to PAE kernel? |
|
|
Hi,
I am little confused about PAE kernel. Apparently it is no big deal, but I cannot find any informations how to make it work. In menuconfig I have found something related with it and did this:
Code: | CONFIG_X86_PAE=y
CONFIG_X86_32=y
CONFIG_HIGHMEM4G=n
CONFIG_HIGHMEM64G=y
CONFIG_M386=n
CONFIG_M486=n
|
Then I have recompilled my kernel (3.7.1) and rebooted to it. Boot was ok, in htop I saw 4G ram - awesome.
Problem was that flash in browser throws kernel panic, mpd didnt want play, ...
Did I make something wrong or didnt make something at all?
Thanks
Last edited by FrostyX on Mon Oct 07, 2013 4:55 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Hu Administrator

Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 23193
|
Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2013 2:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
Please post the error text associated with the Flash player. If possible, please find a way to reproduce the failure using only Free software. Non-free software should not cause the problem you describe, but it may be easier to debug your problem if full source for all components is available. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
FrostyX n00b

Joined: 13 Mar 2012 Posts: 59 Location: Czech Republic
|
Posted: Fri Sep 13, 2013 11:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I am sorry for long time to my response.
I think we should go from beginning. That is what I get while booting
Code: |
* Loading module snd-mixer-oss ...
* Failed to load snd-mixer-oss
[ !! ]
* Loading module snd-pcm-oss ...
* Failed to load snd-pcm-oss
[ !! ]
* Loading module oss/snd-seq-oss ...
* Failed to load oss/snd-seq-oss
[ !! ]
* Loading module snd-seq-device ...
* Failed to load snd-seq-device
[ !! ]
* Loading module snd-seq-dummy ...
* Failed to load snd-seq-dummy
[ !! ]
* Loading module snd-seq-midi-event ...
* Failed to load snd-seq-midi-event
[ !! ]
* Loading module snd-seq ...
* Failed to load snd-seq
[ !! ]
* Loading module snd-hrtimer ...
* Failed to load snd-hrtimer
[ !! ]
* Loading module snd-hwdep ...
* Failed to load snd-hwdep
[ !! ]
* Loading module snd-page-alloc ...
* Failed to load snd-page-alloc
[ !! ]
* Loading module snd-pcm ...
* Failed to load snd-pcm
[ !! ]
* Loading module snd-timer ...
* Failed to load snd-timer
[ !! ]
* Loading module snd ...
* Failed to load snd
[ !! ]
* Loading module snd-hda-codec-analog ...
* Failed to load snd-hda-codec-analog
[ !! ]
* Loading module snd-hda-codec-ca0110 ...
* Failed to load snd-hda-codec-ca0110
[ !! ]
* Loading module snd-hda-codec-ca0132 ...
* Failed to load snd-hda-codec-ca0132
[ !! ]
* Loading module snd-hda-codec-cirrus ...
* Failed to load snd-hda-codec-cirrus
[ !! ]
* Loading module snd-hda-codec-cmedia ...
* Failed to load snd-hda-codec-cmedia
[ !! ]
* Loading module snd-hda-codec-conexant ...
* Failed to load snd-hda-codec-conexant
[ !! ]
* Loading module snd-hda-codec-hdmi ...
* Failed to load snd-hda-codec-hdmi
[ !! ]
* Loading module snd-hda-codec-idt ...
* Failed to load snd-hda-codec-idt
[ !! ]
* Loading module snd-hda-codec-realtek ...
* Failed to load snd-hda-codec-realtek
[ !! ]
* Loading module snd-hda-codec-si3054 ...
* Failed to load snd-hda-codec-si3054
[ !! ]
* Loading module snd-hda-codec-via ...
* Failed to load snd-hda-codec-via
[ !! ]
* Loading module snd-hda-codec ...
* Failed to load snd-hda-codec
[ !! ]
* Loading module snd-hda-intel ...
* Failed to load snd-hda-intel
[ !! ]
* Autoloaded 0 module(s)
|
Why these modules failed to start? I think they failed cause same problem as my other problems. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Hu Administrator

Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 23193
|
Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2013 12:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
With the information you have provided, we cannot tell why those modules failed to start. Check that the modules exist and that they were built with the same .config as the running kernel. Check dmesg for further details. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
FrostyX n00b

Joined: 13 Mar 2012 Posts: 59 Location: Czech Republic
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NeddySeagoon Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 55015 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2013 11:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
FrostyX,
When you change a major kernel option like PAE, everything in the kernel needs to be rebuilt.
The make system isn't that clever, so start the build sequence with which removes all of the intermediate binaries that make might otherwise reuse. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
FrostyX n00b

Joined: 13 Mar 2012 Posts: 59 Location: Czech Republic
|
Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2013 12:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you NeddySeagoon,
I next time I will think on this. But it probably not helped.
I just did
and booted new kernel image. Still same error wihle booting |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NeddySeagoon Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 55015 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2013 12:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
FrostyX,
Are you sure you are running your new kernel?
What does show?
The date/time are the date and time that the kernel was made. Does that look right?
If not, you are not running the kernel you think you are.
When you do Code: | modprobe snd-mixer-oss | to load the module by hand, what error do you get?
If it fails more information will be at the end of dmesg. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
FrostyX n00b

Joined: 13 Mar 2012 Posts: 59 Location: Czech Republic
|
Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2013 1:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
prints
Code: | Linux thinkpad 3.10.7-gentoo #2 SMP Sat Sep 14 14:27:15 CEST 2013 i686 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T6570 @ 2.10GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux |
It right, cause I made this kernel few minutes ago.
I am bit confused, cause using modprobe, these modules didnt fail to start. You can see - no errors
Code: | $[FrostyX ~]-> sudo modprobe snd-mixer-oss
$[FrostyX ~]-> sudo modprobe snd-pcm-oss
$[FrostyX ~]-> sudo modprobe oss/snd-seq-oss
$[FrostyX ~]-> sudo modprobe snd-seq-device
$[FrostyX ~]-> sudo modprobe snd-seq-dummy
$[FrostyX ~]-> sudo modprobe snd-seq-midi-event
$[FrostyX ~]-> sudo modprobe snd-seq
$[FrostyX ~]-> sudo modprobe snd-hrtimer
$[FrostyX ~]-> sudo modprobe snd-hwdep
$[FrostyX ~]-> sudo modprobe snd-page-alloc
$[FrostyX ~]-> sudo modprobe snd-pcm
$[FrostyX ~]-> sudo modprobe snd-timer
$[FrostyX ~]-> sudo modprobe snd
$[FrostyX ~]-> sudo modprobe snd-hda-codec-analog
$[FrostyX ~]-> sudo modprobe snd-hda-codec-ca0110
$[FrostyX ~]-> sudo modprobe snd-hda-codec-ca0132
$[FrostyX ~]-> sudo modprobe snd-hda-codec-cirrus
$[FrostyX ~]-> sudo modprobe snd-hda-codec-cmedia
$[FrostyX ~]-> sudo modprobe snd-hda-codec-conexant
$[FrostyX ~]-> sudo modprobe snd-hda-codec-hdmi
$[FrostyX ~]-> sudo modprobe snd-hda-codec-idt
$[FrostyX ~]-> sudo modprobe snd-hda-codec-realtek
$[FrostyX ~]-> sudo modprobe snd-hda-codec-si3054
$[FrostyX ~]-> sudo modprobe snd-hda-codec-via
$[FrostyX ~]-> sudo modprobe snd-hda-codec
$[FrostyX ~]-> sudo modprobe snd-hda-intel |
but still I cant control my sound, cause
Code: | $[FrostyX ~]-> alsamixer
cannot open mixer: No such file or directory |
Code: | $[FrostyX ~]-> amixer
amixer: Mixer attach default error: No such file or directory |
mpd refuses to play:
Code: | $[FrostyX ~]-> mpc play
...
ERROR: problems opening audio device |
Thank you for being interested about my issue. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NeddySeagoon Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 55015 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2013 1:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
FrostyX,
Did you follow the alsa guide to set up the user space parts of alsa?
Is your user in the audio group?
Thats required to be able to use audio hardware.
This will be easier to investigate now flash is not involved. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
FrostyX n00b

Joined: 13 Mar 2012 Posts: 59 Location: Czech Republic
|
Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Stupid, stupid, stupid FrostyX.
I always forget to make modules_install. Now I am on new kernel and everything looks right. I only have 2G RAM so far. On monday, I am buying next 2G so I will see if PAE is successfuly configured or not.
If I will se 4G RAM on
Code: | Linux thinkpad 3.10.7-gentoo #2 SMP Sat Sep 14 14:27:15 CEST 2013 i686 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T6570 @ 2.10GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux | I will set topic name as Solved cause make modules_install
So far, thank you very much for your time. I appreciate it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NeddySeagoon Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 55015 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2013 2:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
FrostyX,
Some early hardware hides RAM behind the PCI memory mapped IO space at the top of the 32 bit address space and does not remap it above 4G.
If you have this sort of hardware, you can try a BIOS update which is risky and may not fix it anyway.
Worst care, you will only see just over 3G of your 4G of RAM. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
FrostyX n00b

Joined: 13 Mar 2012 Posts: 59 Location: Czech Republic
|
Posted: Mon Oct 07, 2013 4:55 am Post subject: |
|
|
Sorry it took so much time, but its finally solved. I have new memory and kernel sees it.
Code: | $[FrostyX ~]-> uname -a
Linux thinkpad 3.10.7-gentoo #2 SMP Sat Sep 14 14:27:15 CEST 2013 i686 Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T6570 @ 2.10GHz GenuineIntel GNU/Linux |
Code: | $[FrostyX ~]-> free
total used free shared buffers cached
Mem: 3975888 2455280 1520608 0 176128 824592
-/+ buffers/cache: 1454560 2521328
|
Thank you very much for your help. I want ask one more question. What of these
Code: | CONFIG_X86_PAE=y
CONFIG_X86_32=y
CONFIG_HIGHMEM4G=n
CONFIG_HIGHMEM64G=y
CONFIG_M386=n
CONFIG_M486=n |
are necessary to do this job?
Anyway I am marking topic as [SOLVED]. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|