[SOLVED] Make.conf help on a first time Gentoo install
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
BinaryNation
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 10:55 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Make.conf help on a first time Gentoo install Reply with quote

Just a little background info, this is my first time using Gentoo, I've been using Linux for many years and have worked with Red Hat, Fedora Core, Mandriva, Ubuntu, Debian, and Slackware and have worked with FreeBSD. Lately I have been unsatisfied with all the distributions I have tried as I only wish to have Fluxbox installed and all the other distros have Gnome and KDE installed by default and many are dependent on Gnome and the Gnome libraries. Generally I don't use a Login Manager but if I like the way Gentoo is I will be adapting it to install on a Dell Studio One desktop and will choose between Enter, XDM, SLiM, and LightDM, but that's in the future. Also I will be using Zsh and am hoping I do not have to install any other shells. Here's the specs on the computer I am working with:

Toshiba Sattelite a215
AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-60
2.0Ghz 1MB L2 cache
AMD M690V chipset
4GB RAM
ATI Radeon X1200 128MB-319MB shared memory
500GB Seagate SATA HDD

Here is how I have the Hard Drive partitioned:
sda1 Boot ext2 32.91 MB
sda2 swap 8192.38 MB
sda3 / ext4 491882.59 MB

So for the make.conf for the CFLAGS I used the recommended flags by AMD in this document http://developer.amd.com/wordpress/media/2012/10/32035.pdf and from some research I've done but it's mainly the rest of it that I'm not sure if is good. Here is what I have:

Quote:
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"

CFLAGS="-O3 -march=k8 -m32 -ffast-math -fomit-frame-pointer -malign-double -mfpmath-sse -

funroll-all-loops -ftree-vectorize -fpeel-loops -ftracer -pipe"
CXXFLAGS="${CLFAGS}"
FFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
FCFLAGS="${FFLAGS}"

PORTAGE_TMPDIR=/var/tmp
PORTDIR=/usr/portage