Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Not able to start display manager with systemd
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Bollart
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Oct 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 7:19 pm    Post subject: Not able to start display manager with systemd Reply with quote

Hey,

I tried to move to systemd (because of Gnome 3.8 ) and the computer boots successfully and comes up with a shell.
I've followed the guide in the wiki that says
Quote:
With systemd you will need to enable corresponding unit file for each DM (gdm.service, kdm.service...).
However, there is no gdm.service in /usr/lib/systemd/system.
Does anyone know how to start the Gnome Display Manager??

Thanks in advance,
Bollart
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
comprookie2000
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 925
Location: Sun City Center, Florida

PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi can you post the output of:
Code:

# systemctl status gdm.service

It may be under /usr/lib64/systemd/system/gdm.service
Then try and start it:
Code:

systemctl start gdm.service

to load at boot
Code:

systemctl enable gdm.service

_________________
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dabbott/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bollart
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Oct 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So this is what happens when I execute these commands:
Code:
# systemctl status gdm.service
gdm.service
   Loaded: not-found (Reason: No such file or directory)
   Active: inactive (dead)
# systemctl enable gdm.service
Failed to issue method call: No such file or directory
# systemctl start gdm.service
Failed to issue method call: Unit gdm.service failed to load: No such file or directory.

/usr/lib64/systemd/system/gdm.service does not exist.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
comprookie2000
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Jul 2004
Posts: 925
Location: Sun City Center, Florida

PostPosted: Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using the gnome/systemd profile?
Code:

eselect profile list

Did you enable CONFIG_GENTOO_LINUX_INIT_SYSTEMD=y in your kernel?
Code:

grep CONFIG_GENTOO_LINUX_INIT_SYSTEMD=y /usr/src/linux/.config

Do both and then;
Code:

emerge -aND world

_________________
http://dev.gentoo.org/~dabbott/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bollart
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Oct 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# eselect profile list
Available profile symlink targets:
  [1]   default/linux/amd64/13.0
  [2]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/selinux
  [3]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop
  [4]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/gnome
  [5]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/gnome/systemd *
  [6]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/kde
  [7]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/desktop/kde/systemd
  [8]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/developer
  [9]   default/linux/amd64/13.0/no-multilib
  [10]  default/linux/amd64/13.0/x32
  [11]  hardened/linux/amd64
  [12]  hardened/linux/amd64/selinux
  [13]  hardened/linux/amd64/no-multilib
  [14]  hardened/linux/amd64/no-multilib/selinux
  [15]  hardened/linux/amd64/x32
  [16]  hardened/linux/uclibc/amd64
# grep CONFIG_GENTOO_LINUX_INIT_SYSTEMD=y /usr/src/linux/.config
CONFIG_GENTOO_LINUX_INIT_SYSTEMD=y


I did not upgrade the system so far because it will install Gnome 3.8 and if systemd is not working, I won't have a display manager and I won't be able to switch back. Do I need to take that risk?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
depontius
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 May 2004
Posts: 3509

PostPosted: Fri Jan 03, 2014 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bollart wrote:

I did not upgrade the system so far because it will install Gnome 3.8 and if systemd is not working, I won't have a display manager and I won't be able to switch back. Do I need to take that risk?


There are several threads about masking gnome-3 or gnome-3.8 that will help you get around this. At the very least it could prove a temporary crutch until you figure out what to do. I've got my systems at home masked <gnome-3.8, principally because I use gdm and gthumb-3.2.4. I also have some other gnome software, but don't run the desktop. The gthumb-3.2.4 is what made me work on the gnome-3.8 masking.
_________________
.sigs waste space and bandwidth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lauritx
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Mar 2010
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2014 6:05 am    Post subject: Re: Not able to start display manager with systemd Reply with quote

Bollart wrote:
Hey,

I tried to move to systemd (because of Gnome 3.8 ) and the computer boots successfully and comes up with a shell.
I've followed the guide in the wiki that says
Quote:
With systemd you will need to enable corresponding unit file for each DM (gdm.service, kdm.service...).
However, there is no gdm.service in /usr/lib/systemd/system.
Does anyone know how to start the Gnome Display Manager??

Thanks in advance,
Bollart


https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Systemd/upgrade

Just edit exemple file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1248
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2014 6:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Lightdm

i added systemd support to the lightdm wiki page. ill hit the slim page in a moment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bollart
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Oct 2012
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So finally, I reached my goal. Gnome 3.8 with systemd is running 8) .
I upgraded the whole system to Gnome 3.8 and afterwards I was able to start gdm.service.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
666threesixes666
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 31 May 2011
Posts: 1248
Location: 42.68n 85.41w

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 4:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/GNOME/gdm

i filed bugs about gdm2's unit file not inserting.... i'm merging gdm3 right now for that wiki page also. i majorly broke my system for it too :evil: its ok though ive got live env and the systems a mess begging for deletion anyways. :lol:

never know someone might want gnome2 + systemd. id dig it for this laptop. 3 info will be up in a bit. id dig gnome3 on a laptop tablet hybrid. slim also has systemd instructions now too. so you've got plenty of choice now too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum